De Courte Vallée

Rated 4 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 1 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 2 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Disappointing

Arrived to find that we could have booked a fully serviced pitch, we decided to upgrade only to find that there as know grey waste,on enquiry we were told to use the bush on the border of the pitch, not very satisfactory in hot weather! The pitch itself was in poor condition, we were very disappointed as this was the most expensive site on our itinerary and we paid extra for the SP. The saving grace was the lovely people we met on the site. The reception was closed for long periods and as we were not given any information about the site and its facilities, we had to ask for everything, frustrating when every time one went to reception it was closed! Would not stay there again.

Response from the Caravan Club:

Thank you for leaving this review on our website.  We are sorry you would not stay at this site again but great to hear that you met some lovely people on site.  We do not have any allocation of fully serviced pitches available through the Caravan Club, we are only able to offer standard pitches with electricity.  We have passed your comments to the new owners of the site.

Response from La Courte Vallee:

We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us.  There are grey waste facilities close to every pitch.  All of our SP pitches are in a good condition, as this is such a popular site people do stay for weeks at a time and do leave ground sheets down, we are in the process of making some more hard pitches. Reception is open from 9 – 1 and 3 – 7 so only closed for 2 hours during the day and there is a sign on the front door.  There are also staff in the bar next door after reception is closed, to offer help and assistance.  If we need to close reception for a short time during opening hours a note is put on the door to say where we are and when we will be back.  There is also a mobile contact number on the door for emergencies. We have a booklet about the site and its facilities that is handed out to every new arrival.

SuzieTs

Reviewed on 05/10/2015 10:40

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

5 night stay

Stayed here for 5 nights. More English people staying here than anticipated but some people will like this. New English owners trying hard, very helpful and they like dogs. Decent sized plot but no privacy if that's what you look for. Airvault is a nice village but few shops so you do need to travel quite a way to visit larger towns.  Small Bistro type bar which has got potential with simple food available. Whilst it didn't bother us too much, children biking round site and skidding on paths might annoy some visitors. Would stay here again if we go that far down in the future.

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Voltaire

A nice enough site but so many people from the UK including English owners (many keeping their caravans here in store) that you have to go out to realise that you are indeed in France. Our only real criticism is that the electric points are well spread out - we were unlucky and had to use both our cables (one very long one) and still had to park our caravan just so to reach - of course, some people were in luck and only needed short leads! Site owners very helpful and friendly and doing their best with a new acquisition.

mandm

Caravanner from Dorset

Reviewed on 27/08/2015 15:58

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 1 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

A stopover

A very noisy site at night, we didn't mind the camp entertainment but the static camp users were yelling out to karaoke until after 12pm. Unsupervised children playing in the park until late they were shouting and using offensive behaviour although that's up to the parents not the site to supervise there was no staff checking around the camp when we were there. Polite staff although they gave us incorrect direction to the nearby town, we were walking and realised before walking too far. They offer bread and bakery morning deliveries. I was shocked to see it cost 12 euros for fish and chips. Shared wash facilities and they were kept to a minimal clean standard, dirt and dust around door bases, bins not emptied, no soap to wash hands, ceiling hadn't been cleaned of cobwebs for a long time. The pitch was spacious and tidy. We were not aware of the entertainment that they offer on the website. 

sunseaicecream

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 24/08/2015 20:41

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 2 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 2 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Disappointed.

Recently returned from 7 nights and can say this site really was not for us. Very many UK campers keep their vans there and go year after year which creates a very exclusive atmosphere for them.  Pool is quite small in particular the area around it is very restricted and not at all big enough. Behaviour of some unsupervised children was a concern and made the pool unpleasant on a few occasions. Owners seem a little disorganised and overwhelmed but I guess they are finding their feet. Irene who works in reception was very helpful though. Once you have visited Airvault though you have to travel a fair way for other places of interest. While we were there two or three nights were quite noisy into the early hours with people in the site bar and music after midnight. At best this site would be a stop over for going south. 

 

Response from the Caravan Club:

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on line.  We are glad   that you found the reception staff to be very helpful.  This site did change hands last year and your feedback has been very valuable to the new owners who have assured us that they will take into account all your comments. 

Response from La Courte Vallee:

We do store many vans here and yes our clients return frequently. All our storage customers are extremely   interested in meeting fellow caravanner’s and campers.  Redevelopment of the pool is on our list especially the surround, the pool is 6 meters by 12 and has been installed for a number of years. We tell clients that all children must be supervised in and around the pool, obviously in school holiday time children are excited to be on holiday. Last season was our first season and we did not take over until May 1st there was obviously a lot to get to grips with. Airvault is a mediaeval town within walking distance there are numerous other attractions   very close by and some up to an hour’s drive away. We do not allow music after midnight and the bar closes at 11.00pm. The bar is a good distance away from the closest pitches, in fact our neighbours who live opposite are closer and we are very sympathetic to the noise for their sake.

 

 

 

LuckyDog1

Caravanner from South Yorkshire

Reviewed on 19/08/2015 10:02

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

1st visit

Lovely, quiet site with great pitches. Easy to walk into town although not much to do. Staff friendly. Good for a couple who want to really chill. 

Ajsboss

Reviewed on 12/08/2015 21:41

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer