Natterer See

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 2 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 2 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Victim of its own success

We have to say how disappointed we are with this site very rudely spoken to when we asked the staff about the poor internet connection that had been like that for 2 weeks!! they said, but still charge on top of the €60 a night we are paying, for the poorly managed pitches yes it rained for 2 days and the small amount of gravel that had been put down just turned into a quagmire! The supposed 16 amp electric got damp and kept tripping out,the supposed maintenance man came and couldn't fix it so ripped the cable out dragged it along my new unit and plugged it in the other side so we spent the next 46 hours getting wet  flipping the trip switch up! Toilets were spotless! Nice location, Premium prices below standard pitches very and rude arrogant staff! We won't be returning

Garvin

Reviewed on 06/08/2016 09:02

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Brilliant

Fantastic site. Toilets out of this world. Free bus to Innsbruck.

Bailey99

Reviewed on 11/07/2016 13:27

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Champion loos

Beautiful views over lake or mountains, amazing loo block, brilliantly clean.  Plenty to do in the area, and free use of the local post bus into Innsbruck, we could have stayed longer. Pay wifi is metered, so good value for simply checking  email, though tended to drop out at busy times.  Very friendly helpful team, and site immaculate.  

jandeb

Reviewed on 24/06/2016 22:40

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Great Location with unusual facilities.

Super location with very hi tec shower block. Busy with development work on the fringes but not intrusive. Free bus to Innsbruck is a great bonus. Somewhat odd that this "family" site has vending machines in the men's toilet that sell crotchless knickers and artificial vaginas. Bizarre !

Ruddigore

Reviewed on 29/05/2016 05:51

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Winter walking

We chose this site as part of a walking / skiing tour. This we were walking, we have 2 dogs. We found the site very well suited to our needs, very well stocked shop on site, frequent bus service - we didn't use it as we were walking. Very modern well equipped bathroom facilities and a hunde duche (dog shower!) We will use it again I think. We visited in late Feb,  so certain obvious points about water supplies not being available on the pitch- but hey its winter! As it was quiet there was a certain amount of staff vehicles whizzing past the caravan, which I was surprised to see. Some fab walks direct from site though so perfect for our needs for a few nights 

rushcroft

Caravanner

Reviewed on 04/03/2016 16:47

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 2 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

A car is needed in winter

We decided to stay at Natterer See camping for a week during the winter in order to use the local ski resorts. We chose this site based on the glossy brochure we picked up at a caravan show. The brochure clearly stated that there would be a free ski bus daily to the surrounding ski areas, there was a restaurant and shop on site. We were using our motor home and so this was what we thought it to be an deal set-up. When we arrived on a Saturday we were told that there was no longer a free ski bus running from the site to to the ski areas, just a free bus to Innsbruck. From Innsbruck we would have to pick up the free ski bus. Or we could take three different buses in the surrounding villages to get to the ski resorts, a journey of over an hour. Not ideal with two children. The restaurant was not open at all and the shop was very poorly stocked. We were told a local shop was just 20 minutes walk away. This turned out to be a 40 minute walk. All in all we were forced to hire a car, an expense we had not calculated for. We felt very misled by the brochure and also emails from the site before we left giving us bad information. I would recommend that anyone who wants to stay here for skiing and doesn't want to risk using their motorhome to get to some high ski resorts, should definitely hire a car. A car is necessary for getting to the local shops and restaurants.  

MJS123

Reviewed on 18/02/2016 19:04

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Good and not so good!

This is a first-class site set amidst stunning scenery in a pine forest surrounded by brooding snow-capped mountains aside a (frozen) lake. The excellent facilities accommodated in a recently built block are well-designed, spotless, spacious and warm with plenty of (free) hot water available. The onsite shop, though, perhaps, poorly stocked given the time of year and the number of campers, was adequate, reasonably priced and offered (just) the key essentials. The hourly, or so, free bus into the centre of Innsbruck was an added bonus.

However, we have returned having spent six nights over Christmas at the site with a couple of ‘niggles’. We booked a large serviced pitch at the side of the lake. The pitch was not serviced, as such, and whilst the time of year probably necessitates turning water off to the taps on the pitch given the very low temperatures, it is, perhaps, something of a ‘con’ to continue selling and charging for the facility that does not exist when the climate dictates their withdrawal. The pitch was also advertised as being at the side of the lake. Our experience was probably more a failure to meet expectation but I am not sure what our pitch offered for the premium that the pitch next to us did not for a reduced price.

The nightly tariff includes 5kW hours of electricity: usage over and above is charged at €0.80 per kW hour. This price felt like a ‘penalty’ for using especially when it transpired that the meter had not been read prior to us occupying our pitch (we read it when we came to leave) and there was a convoluted calculation done at reception when we checked out trying to work out what our ‘fine’ for using the electricity should be. Having paid an amount, we were then called back to reception to pay a further amount as the owner had done another calculation as he was of the view that the first calculation produced a value deemed insufficient to what he ‘thought’ we may have used!. Amazing how their excellent English language skills deserted them when seeking to ask for a logical explanation to the sums.

The owner/manager runs, I would imagine, a reasonably successful business: there has been some significant investment in the site and it is immaculately maintained. That does not excuse the verbal attack on a member of his staff, in front of customers, for ‘not answering his phone’ in a manner that had little regard for the humiliation of his employee or the preservation of the owners’ self-respect. Neither does his ownership of the site excuse the persistent ‘racing’ of his Audi around the site at a speed that had little account for the permanently frost-covered road surface or the fact that children were playing on the site.

Sadly, as beautiful and well-appointed as the site is, we will not return.

B1TNY

Motorhomer from South Humberside

Reviewed on 04/01/2016 15:45

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Best in Europe?

Just back from 12 nights on this site. The facilities are the best we have ever seen on any European site. Only Denmark comes close. Showers of a very high standard as are the washing-up facilities and, particularly, the chemical toilet emptying with both hot and cold water to use! The shop is well-stocked and the reception is like checking into a 5-star hotel. I liked the TV screens showing 5-day weather forecasts and radar for the local area, which proved very helpful when planning trips. We had a lakeside super-pitch which was surprisingly spacious and secluded. The staff work very hard to keep it all looking so good, a particular mention must go to the guys on the Segways and electric cars!! Our girls swam in the lake several times and had a great time on the many inflatables and on the flume into the lake. The restaurant food was really good and the tables over the lake are idyllic. Views from the site are stunning. The free bus service into Innsbruck is excellent. In summary, well worth the 2,000 mile round trip!!

NickFlower

Reviewed on 26/08/2015 20:06

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Above average

Firstly, come via junction 3 on A13. As someone else said, GPS will get you into trouble. The lake is small. There is a large forest with excellent walks for dogs, joggers and cyclists. lake has activities for children but looked deserted. Small restaurant by lake with reasonable food and prices. Toilet/shower facilities are 5 star. Pitches are average sized and priced by size, service and view - have a walk round to select, if staying longer. A lot of stop-over users. Avoid pitches at back of the main office building which has it's own restaurant because of loud noise from beer drinkers on open area adjacent to those pitches.

Blue27

Caravanner

Reviewed on 03/08/2015 13:32

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Its OK but never the standard claimed in some reviews

The site is some 3 miles or so from Innsbruck, GPS might take you to a dead end pathway so with care. Junction 3 off the Brenner Pass is the best route in, follow the signs. The site is very busy, lots of overnighters so early am noise. many different nationals. The pitches are tightly packed, opt for a Lake View, superior pitch to get some privacy and space. These pitches also have water and waste services. The facilities are good and clean, nicely thought out. Reception is good and friendly staff. The lake, well it is sold as a swimming lake and locals all use it as a swimming pool BUT it looks very green, might be the trees but off putting, have swam in far cleaner lakes. Overall its a OK site but never the perfect one as claimed in some reviews and in the clubs promotion , lots better including Camping Toni 45 mins east of Innsbruck, far better lake to swim in and better scenery.

13 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer