Au Clos de la Chaume

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

A great find

A delightful site with a real family feel. Pascaline and Mike are welcoming and friendly, and Mike is always around the site making sure all is well. Pitches are large and well shaded and screened. The (unisex) washrooms are clean with plenty of hot water, and the covered and heated swimming pool is a great asset. It is an excellent centre for walking and exploring the area, and we would certainly want to visit it again.

Barneyesme

Reviewed on 10/07/2016 15:58

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Lovely site

A lovely small tree filled site with large pitches some fully serviced. Very attentive English French owners who worked hard to keep the site spotless whilst retaining its rural feel. They have excellent local knowledge and are keen to pass on helpful information to enhance your holiday . On site shop sells very good local beers , wine and locally made preserves. Unisex toilet facilities but no hand drying blower or towels. Wine tasting and local produce sampling evenings were arranged and were very well supported. The site is in a beautiful area with the Vosges mountains a short drive away and well worth the effort as scenery was spectacular and the Alsace towns of Strasbourg, Colmar, and the Route des Vins villages were a must see. The site is a real find and offers tranquillity in a busy holiday. Highly recommended. 

AnH16

Reviewed on 09/07/2016 10:15

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Passing through

I used this site as a stop over on my way to and from Italy. This peaceful site is set on the edge of the forest with mainly flat pitches with 3 pin electric, and not too far from Strasbourg. It has a large swimming pool with a new cover over which the kids will love. Lovely English speaking hosts. Very clean facilities only spoilt by the fact that there is no soap or hand drying facilities. It should be noted that the toilets and showers are shared by male and females. The village is a 400m walk away where most shops seem never to open, however, there is a new pharmacy open. I would stay again.

Andy Croot

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 06/07/2016 09:34

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Lovely base for exploring Alsace

We so enjoyed the tranquil location and the ease with which we could reach fascinating little villages and other sites of interest - like the luge which was great fun!   The mountain roads were pretty full on even without the caravan but we loved it all.  The family who operate the site are very friendly and their wine is very tasty!  Sorry to take so long to get around to reviewing.  We loved the swimming pool too but not when one large family took it over!  They were spoken to by the owners though, so that was fine. As the area is so beautiful  I would go back if it were not so very far away from Scotland!  Maureen

Helensburgh22

Reviewed on 27/12/2015 17:38

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Peace & tranquility

This is our 3rd visit to this site in as many years. The owners are very welcoming and can provide information in relation to points of interest in the local area. The small town of Corcieux is within walking distance and whilst the amenities are limited, there are numerous other towns within a short drive.  The site is ideally situated to explore the surrounding mountain & forest drives, and there is so much of this spectacular scenery that we are still finding places to explore. We will be visiting again!!! Whilst not a large commercial site, it does offer easy access from main roads, and most requirements have been thought of. (Covered pool, nature information, games room, children's play area and information area plus reasonable costs for Wi Fi. For us, peace and tranquility. There are a couple of restaurants in the town, or again, why not explore the area a little further afield.

johnNdeena

Caravanner

Reviewed on 20/09/2015 20:00

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Lovely stay

Spent a wonderful few days at this site. Visited Mulhouse and kayserburg while we were there. The wine tasting was great fun and the swimming pool was very welcome. We will go again it is a great site. We also used the supermarket in Arnould. Pizza night on Thursday night is also not to be missed 

steveyoung

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 02/09/2015 17:11

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Summer Holiday 2015

We stayed for 5 nights during August as part of our summer holiday. We travel as a middle aged couple who, due to work commitments, holiday during school holidays. We found the site easy to find and when we were there the site was very busy. The site as stated is close to the small town of Corcieux which is easy to stroll to. Its not a pretty town but does have shops and places to eat. There are some pleasant walks around the town giving views of the countryside etc. We used Anould (about 5 miles away) for our Supermarket and fuel. Whilst there we visited Strasbourg which, although about an hour and half drive away, is well worth a visit. They have a park and ride scheme which was useful. If you are visiting the area and want to see the sites then you do have to drive a fair bit but that is partly because its such a large area and is spread out. It is a lovely area though. With regard to the site our pitch was ok but found our polarity on our electricity was reversed. There was some traffic noise from the nearby road but nothing too bad. We paid for Wi-Fi but this, apparently, is supplied via the town and we found it to be intermittent. The one real adverse point about the site was the toilet blocks. There were two which were mixed but due to the business of the site were not sufficient for the number of people trying to use them. Staff were friendly and helpful and overall we enjoyed our stay on site and in the area.

Adrian22

Reviewed on 18/08/2015 10:26

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

A week in early July

A good site which is suprisingly quiet because of the amount of people on the site. Owners were very helpful and friendly.  We had a large pitch which we liked and had direct access to water. Our only criticism would be the small amount of sanitary facilities available for the size of the site. Would we stay here again? Yes

johnweld

Caravanner

Reviewed on 22/07/2015 20:12

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

2015 Holiday

We stayed here for 14 nights end of June/beginning of July. Booked through the Caravan Club we had the largest size fully serviced pitch which was ample.Found the owners pleasant and helpful and the toilet / shower facilities always clean and immaculate. A little road noise but certainly not intrusive and it never bothered us. Lovely walk direct from the site through woods to the village and be sure to try the platdejour at the auberge at the end of the walk!! We found the site convenient for the pretty villages of Alsace the Vosges and Lorraine. Being based on this site made it one of our best holidays in France. 

Jake8975

Reviewed on 20/07/2015 19:59

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Reasonable site for a short stay

Difficult to sum up, some positives, some negatives. We tried to contact the site by both email and telephone (several times) to check on lunch time closing and to ask for a shady pitch, but received no response. Close to main road with some heavy traffic which could be a problem for pitches near the entrance, and turning into the site with a caravan needs care. Otherwise, peaceful. We had booked a large pitch, but on arrival it had almost no shade and the temperature was 35! Fortunately, we were able to swap it for a special pitch with shade. Local village and towns have good shops but little character. The interesting towns and villages and the very scenic countryside of the Route des Vins and the Route Des Cretes start about 45 minutes car drive away. Good swimming pool, but why is it closed and locked at 7pm? Washing machine room and handicapped room also kept locked. Wash block clean but not up to 4 star standard. Good play areas for younger children.

RobinCG

Reviewed on 18/07/2015 13:56

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer