Den Driesch

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

A truly relaxing holiday

We'd mostly agree with all the reviews above except to say that you would definitely have plenty to do in a week here. We stayed 5 nights in autumn and will definitely return knowing there are still plenty of day trips to Spa and Liege in Belgium as well as Aachen(40 mins direct from Valkenburg station) to do. We didn't even have time to fit in the crazy golf 2 min walk from the site. The town of Valkenburg is very welcoming with lots of inside/outside restaurants to choose from and with a real buzz. If you walk along Oosterweg 10-15 min walk from the site) there are 2-3 forest path walks, with a castle or 2 to pass through as well as an atmospheric pub and cafe serving Vlaai ( type of flan). The campsite is perfectly located, ( up a hill but it kept us fit) and 3 mins by car to a fab spa with lots of indoor and outdoor pools- Thermae 2000. Check the days to go though as some are without swimwear!! Lastly the pitches are ok, not the biggest but well laid out and we have had very peaceful evenings.  The shop is decent at the campsite. A final tip would be to use the toilets behind the shop as they are more modern than the others which we used at first.

AELOMAS

Reviewed on 24/10/2019 15:34

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

What a gem!

Was booked onto the site for 3 nights but loved the location and town of Valkenburg so much that we extended our stay by a couple of nights. The site is quite small but the pitches are fine - be aware that there are different standards of pitch, some of them looked quite tight space wise but as mentioned ours was fine and even included a hammock on each pitch. Toilet and shower block is fine, very clean although a bit of a pain to have to buy a token for the shower which is a bit on the weak side but OK. Nearby is a small park with toboggan, chair lift and crazy golf and a small them park for younger children. As already mentioned in other reviews, a token for free swimming at the local leisure centre can be got from reception, our kids used that pool most days and loved it. Valkenburg seems to be a centre for cycling with lots of routes. Similarly lots of walking routes although not easy to find out about the routes so probably worth doing some research beforehand. Lots of restaurants and bars in town, had some great meals during our stay.

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Lovely small friendly site

We visited in August 2018 and really enjoyed our stay. It's tricky to get onto the site as it's up a very narrow and steep road, but it's worth it. You have to buy tokens for the showers, which were 0.70 Euro for a token which gave you a 5 minute shower. The showers were nice and clean. You can get a free pass for the local swimming pool from the site office. The swimming pool is indoors and worth a visit, it has a pool for swimming and a shallow pool and a very warm pool with a jacuzi, small lazy river and water slide. There is a lot more to do in the area than we expected, so we will be back.

Tupo

Reviewed on 18/08/2018 11:48

4 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Second visit to this lovely site

This was our second visit to this site so we knew what to expect re steep hill which looks worse than it is as long as you approach from the right direction and time your arrival til the leaving units are all safely away. The pitches are unusual but very nice with mono block hard standings for some. The special pitches have a lovely hammock on grass part. Beware that some pitches have a ramp at approach which could damage underside of unit. Views are terrific and the walk in to the town is very easy down a set of steps. Valkenberg is vibrant with loads of bars restaurants and coffe shops. Good supermarket and bakeries etc. We took train for visit to Maastericht which only takes 10 mins. No swimming pool but free access to a local indoor pool. Showers by token costing 70 cents. Great site with friendly staff. Andy

armstrongandy

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 01/08/2018 14:48

20 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great view

The site is situated at the top of a steep hill, overlooking the castle ruins and the town of Valkenberg. Very friendly reception staff, excellent English spoken. Very clean toilet block, pay for showers. Spacious, level, gravel/grass, hedged pitches with great views. We were visiting in May, early in the season and pleasant stay in quiet site. A bit pricier than most- 43.40 euros a night for 2 people in a small motorhome, no awning, no dogs. Valkenberg is a very pretty, neat, attractive town with open squares and lots of restaurants. We visited the Velvet Caves (where the tour was in Dutch only and no 21st century audio guides, but still lots to look at!) and the caste ruins.

Que Sera Sera

Reviewed on 27/11/2017 11:14

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Ok for a short stay ...

Stayed here in September 2017 for a week. The site is right outside Valkenberg, no ,more than 15 mins walk to the centre. Valkenberg itself just seems to be a town of bars and cafes, great for a long weekend but not much longer. The castle really is a ruin and in my view not worth the 13 Euro admission, you can see most of it from the campsite for free! Access to the site is almost impossible when approaching from the town as the left bend is too tight. However, carry on up the hill and after 2 kms you come to a roundabout so you can then approach from the other way which is fairly straightforward. Site facilities are very dated, showers cost extra. Pitches are not big, but you do get your own hammock!! There are daily bread deliveries too.

Shuttleworths

Caravanner from Wiltshire

Reviewed on 22/09/2017 10:57

13 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Holland is not flat

Perfect site for Valkenburg. Site is on a plateau with fantastic views. Site was clean staff very friendly and helpful. A 10 minute walk down the hill to Valkenburg and 20 minute walk back up the hill. Alternatively you can get the chairlift down which is located next to the campsite and the chairlift back. A nice cafe bistro at the top with lots of activities for older kids to do. A toboggan slide and rip wires. Chairlift closes at 6 o'clock so beware if you don't fancy walking back up the hill. Valkenburg is lovely with a plethora of fantastic restaurants.

Custard1966

Campervanner

Reviewed on 06/08/2017 07:58

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer