Domaine de la Paille Basse

Rated 4 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Good Site but Dreadful Access

Stayed here for 3 nights in August 2109. Firstly the good parts, friendly staff, good, clean sanitation blocks, excellent (unheated) large pool, again very clean, plus smaller heated pool and separate slides. However, the access is by a nearly 2 mile, uphill, narrow, winding road with 1 hairpin bend. Do not use sat nav to find as it will take you up a no through road, but even the site's own instructions are testing. This narrow road culminates in a very narrow access to the site itself between tall stone buildings, we only had a small caravan, I would not like to take a large caravan or campervan here. The site roads are extremely dusty so everything was covered in layers of white dust, plus they were quite potholed. Whilst the pools are great, they are also shared by clients from well over 100 permanent chalets so they are very busy. Difficult to ever get a sunlounger until late in the day. Entertainment for children is good, but if you are by the bar/restaurant this is quite loud until 11pm. Lots to see locally but country roads are fairly narrow so can take a while to travel short distances.

EribaTroll60

Reviewed on 30/08/2019 22:13

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great overall - feel like 'real' France

We stayed in Aug 2017. We have a 9 year old and a 5 year old, and wanted somewhere that they would make friends, and with lots for them to do. Like many people we followed the sat nav directions rather than the road signs, and found that we had to reverse our van 100m down a narrow road which was not fun! We should have looked for the road signs! The site itself is at the top of quite a steep hill. The views from the top over the Varley are really lovely. The pitch we were allocated was perfect - a large pitch with lots of shade, a little tricky getting our van in, but a lovely spot. It was about 200m from the main reception and evening entertainment which was perfect, not too far to walk, and not too noisy. Some pitches looked much smaller than ours so it might be worth pre-selecting your pitch in advance if you can. The shower block was close, good but some queues for the showers in peak times. The pool area is not as large as some sites we have been to, and pool chairs could be hard to come by, but it was a really nice area, and the slides were a good bonus for the kids. The restaurant was good - although needed booking in advance. Reception staff were great. Kids entertainment was well done. We only used the kids club one morning, but recieved no complaints, Lots too see in the region: Sarlat market, and a 1/2 day canoeing trip on the Dordoingne were highlights. Overall we would recommend the site.

Jan Harley

Caravanner

Reviewed on 09/09/2017 08:15

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Far from the Maddening Crowd

If your looking for that 'far from the maddening crown' but still want all the trimmings, this site could be for you. Just 30 minutes from the A20 if you follow the written instructions provided by the site and not your club or satnav or perhaps considerably longer and worrying if you don't. The site is terraced on a wooded hillside and was once a medieval village. The access road is narrow with passing places and one easy hairpin corner to negotiate but the sweaty palms worth the effort. The site facilities are excellent, a well stocked information centre in the reception, a well stocked shop where some items can be ordered for the next day, a restaurant with takeaway options and a bar. All the facilities are faultless in there condition and cleanliness. There's three pools one of which caters for small children. Not forgetting the staff, who are wonderful and make you feel at home. The site is well placed for exploring the surrounding area as well as the local town and villages and I'd hope to return to the site.

firefly580

Caravanner from Cheshire

Reviewed on 14/07/2017 23:15

27 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

August 2016

We stayed here for 3 nights en route to the south. It wasn't far from the motorway so a good stopover. The club directions were good though it was a long way off the beaten track. It was a dusty site and the pictch allocated wasn't vacant. So we went on the pics next door. No problem. The pool looked lovely, we had a very nice meal in the restaurant, but didn't manage to get into the shop as it was always closed when we were around. It is only about 30 minutes drive from Sarlat. The site was quite quiet and I did wonder if the bar restaurant would cope if the place was full. I would definitely call in again, but probably not stay for longer than a week.

anne1954

Reviewed on 18/09/2016 12:10

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 1 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

July 2016, problem site

Just departed this Castel and Camping site. No where near the normal quality. Issues, Caravan Club directions are wrong and Sat Nav's including the Caravan Club's own one will take you up a 2mt dead end, be warned and don't turn off the D road. At the point where the Sat Nav want to take you up a one way street there is a camp sign in the opposite direction. Follow this and subsequent signs to arrive on site after a long haul up a French back road not good. The site facilities are ok, good swimming pool and services but ho ho all the roads are crushed stone and dust is a real problem. We used it as a short stop off and for Sarlat. Well its over 40 mins to Sarlat and 30 mins back to the motorway so not a site we would ever put in our choice list again. Of course the club never gave this impression. Disappointing most was the Caravan Clubs useless selling of the real facts about this site. The club needs to be more honest with what such sites really offer and the implications for members. Whatever you do don't use Sat Nav mind the club don't mention this issue and one member had to back down from the dead end given he used his Caravan Club Sat Nav. Not the best site in the Dordogne.

13 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

HOLIDAY AUGUST 2015

We returned again to this site as we enjoyed our stay so much last year, having emailed in June we managed to reserve a pitch with drainage again at the far end of the site. The staff were again very helpful with English being spoken, many thanks again to Dris who helped me with a flooded awning after a thunderstorm. Apart from this the weather was much better this year and we used the pool area more which soon filled up on hot days, fortunately the water slide area is separate which works well. Facilities on the site are excellent and cleaned regularly, the take away does a good range a pizzas and used it regularly for fries also. The evening entertainment offers quizzes, concerts, karaoke and games around the bar area which we all enjoyed and generally ends around 11pm. We continued to explore the area, again visiting the huge Saturday market at Sarlat (get there early!), Rocamadour, La Roche de St Christophe, the caves at Lacave, La Foret des Ecureuils, Chateau de Losse, Jardins du Manoir d’Eyrignac, Beynac, Canoed down the Dordogne from Cenac to Beynac and Lascaux II (need to buy tickets from near the Tourist information office in Montignac, again get there early!). This is a fantastic site in an area that has so much to offer and will return again.

MikeBentley2

Caravanner

Reviewed on 31/08/2015 21:30

25 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Very good but few thing to watch.......

Ok overall a very good site however we arrived a little late in day as very hot and car was struggling a bit with the heat..... Firstly we got lost finding it look for the name signs to the campsite rather tan road directions and you will be ok..... Then instructions from reception to go to end road turn right then take road on left.... Seem straight forwards but I should have got out and walked it went down turned right took road on left and found myself on a narrow dead end track imposable to reverse due to incline..... Had to unhitch manhandle van round a static van with help of other campers and eventually got out but with a dented roof care of overhanging trees..... Then found the right left ( which was actually the middle road!) only to really struggle to tow both onto and off it due to incline and loose gravel track. Not happy by the time we got pitched ( esp as 18mo & 5 yo in car) in reality the pitch I had really needed a 4wd vehicle to tow off and on although once on it water and grey water on the pitch etc was great. Long weak to loos and showers. All would have worked better for us if we had one of the simpler pitches closer reception / facilities. Pools slides shop takeaway good as is location to lots of things to do in the areas.......

hb2310

Caravanner from West Midlands

Reviewed on 14/08/2015 15:13

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer