Domaine de Massereau

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Wonderful place August 2020

What a wonderful place.We have just finished out 14 nights here.Very peaceful ,clean and plenty to do.We went with my hubby, daughter and her 3 young children 6,3,and 2.They loved the swimming pools to include toddler pool and water slides.The park is great for them and included trampolines,slides,swing and tree house.The supermarket was small but adequate and Order fresh baguettes from them most days.The weather was very hot and some days very humid,fans or air con needed.There was a lot of different nationalities here.The staff were very helpful.There are a couple of intermarche nearby to include lidls .We will definitely return to this site and felt very safe and secure at night with coded barriers and automatic gates that close at 11pm.Caution..Sites very dry and dusty so maybe extra ground sheets needed plus blocks needed on our pitch 205 as serviced pitch on a slope .Great place highly recommend.

KazandCol

Caravanner

Reviewed on 11/08/2020 17:16

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

A high quality site with a excellent facilities, close to charming Sommieres.

We stayed here for a week right at the end of the season, and love the site and area. The site was not busy, but remained animated and it was easy to make friends. The fully serviced pitch was a good size, with 16A EHU, located between two cabins. The one centrally located shower and toilet block was smart, modern and immaculately clean, but must be very busy high season, and can be a bit of a walk from pitches on the edges of the site. The bar and restaurant building, with shop (but little stock as send of season closure loomed) is most attractive, and the food good if with enormous portions. Disappointingly the bar, restaurant shop closed a few days before the end of season, but the End of Season Party a couple of days before closure was great fun with a great buffet and live music. The staff are outstandingly friendly, helpful and efficient. Sommieres, a bit over a mile away along the cycle route, is charming with delightful bars and restaurants in the old centre, and a good Intermarche on the outskirts: the Saturday market is a “must see”. Bike hire at 19€ a day seems steep, but for those without a car, bikes are almost a necessity. There is a cheap but reliable bus service from the town to Nîmes, only 40 minutes away, and makes a great excursion. We very much hope to return.

Peter1952

Motorhomer from Cornwall

Reviewed on 14/10/2019 15:22

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Excellent Site

1.Big,flat pitches.Ample space for car,caravan & awning.Every pitch is big enough to find sun or shade at any time of day. 2.Good restaurant serving big portions. 3.Helpful staff. 4.Adequate sized campsite shop. 5.Good swimming pools & slides. 6.Popular with British caravanners. 7.Clean,well equipped sanitaire. 8.If you approach the site by coming through Sommieres,take care as you leave the bridge over the river.Best not to arrive by this route on Sommieres market days.

ID1

Reviewed on 26/09/2018 07:59

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

This site gets better and better

Spent 4 nights here in early May this year. Last time we were there was May 2016. The site has gone from strength to strength. The restaurant has expanded and the standard of comfort and cuisine is excellent. The facilities are excellent and regularly scrubbed. The staff are lovely, friendly and helpful. The pools are excellent and a walk or a cycle to Sommieres (where Lawrence Durrell spent the last years of his life) is the jewel in the crown.

ColJacq

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 29/06/2017 19:13

40 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Great week spent here

I agree with MelliferaRob, Margarita must have stayed at a totally different site!  We spent a week here in August, the facilities were clean and well maintained, the staff friendly and helpful. Our fellow campers were kind and considerate (Margarita, we are professionals working within education so have no choice but to take our holiday during August). We found all the children we met were nice and courteous. The pool was not over busy even at the height of the holiday season.  It was not noisy during the night  (and I am a very light sleeper!) Access over the bridge is tight if you have a large outfit as we do. Had a French driver annoyed and shouting insults at us, but I just waved, smiled and blew him some kisses (even though we had been driving for over 9 hours).  Yes there are plenty of trees, but we were glad of these for shade as it was very hot.  As we have a large caravan we have a motor mover so this assisted us in getting into our pitch.  Yes, the pitches are dusty, but that is what you get in the South of France. If you want lush grassy pitches Margarita, stay in Brittany or Normandy, or stay in Britain! We walked into Sommieres from the site and enjoyed the atmosphere of this lovely town.  There were also lovely beaches within easy reach.  Will definitely be returning.  

KevinandElaine

Reviewed on 01/09/2016 23:01

4 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Is this the same place?

Not sure where the Hertfordshire Caravanner, Margarita, stayed but certainly not at the Domaine de Massereau that we know !

MelliferaRob

Reviewed on 14/08/2016 10:39

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Our Fourth Year at Massereau

This was our fourth year at Massereau! For us, a couple with a caravan, the site has everything. The site is small and located on the cycle path leading to the beautiful Medieval town of Sommieres and this makes it so easy to get into the town or to cycle the whole route of 21kms. There are other cycle routes nearby as well. We were there during Sommieres Festival week and the atmosphere in the town was amazing. Further afield there are numerous places to visit and sandy beaches are about 18 miles away. We were there in peak season and the site was full but all the staff were very helpful and the facilities were always clean and modern. The pitch we had was fully serviced and under trees. The weather was very hot so trees proved a blessing for shade. The site has a very good restaurant and shop and two pools - one a fun pool & one a heated swimming pool and we never had any problem finding a sun bed by the pool. The site is also very secure with the gates being locked from 20.30 to 08.00. Access then is with a passcode. The restaurant is very good with rather large portions and there are numerous other restaurants in Sommieres itself. An excellent site.

MelliferaRob

Reviewed on 13/08/2016 09:07

4 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 2 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Very bad site indeed

This has to be the worst site we have ever stayed at. It's a shame as it has a wonderful town next door called sommelier and there is a very good cycling walking route around the site and town. This site should NOT be in the caravan club brochure or website. It is a gite site and sometime camping g site but certaiy too small to be a caravan or motor home site. It is very noisey and caters for the lowest form of human kind we have come across in years of caravanning. Children cycling and playing football after midnight and outside noise to sometimes one a.m.. The pitches a never flat, too small and are of rock and dried leaves. They are way too small and there are trees everywhere. We will certainly NEVER  be comming back here. We suggest you do the  ame.

Margarita

Motorhomer from Norfolk

Reviewed on 06/07/2016 14:45

54 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Excellent site

Loved this campsite, had everything you could possibly need. We were a couple in a Motorhome, were given a large fully serviced pitch, close to shower and toilet facilities, which were very clean and pleasant. A short walk or cycle ride into Sommieres which was very picturesque with plenty bars restaurants and shops. The on site restaurant was excellent and not too expensive. You could quite happily spend a week here without needing to move a Motorhome if you prefer, however there were plenty of sightseeing opportunities close by.

GailC26

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 26/06/2016 16:55

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Brilliant camp site called Domaine de Massereau

The site is probably the best site I have stayed on in France in nearly 30 years of caravaning. There is a good mix of shaded and sunny pitches.  Staff are really helpful and the facilities very clean. The bar , pool , restaurant area is as good as you would find in many four star hotels. The play pool is a dream for children with slides and there is a separate heated pool for those who prefer to swim. We went at the end of May, and it was brilliant. Pitches are large although, but some are a little difficult to access without a motor mover. The set meal in the restaurant was brilliant.

DAVIDAJOHNSON67

Reviewed on 01/06/2016 19:22

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer