Domaine des Mathevies

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great place to stay

What a lovely site!! Stayed for 3 nights September 2019. Our type of site - not the usual regimented style of Club sites. Has a laid back feel about it, large pitches with sun or shade. Lovely swimming pool, separate kiddies pool, plenty of loungers. Great bar area. Facilities spotless. Great for families and couples alike. Friendly English/Australian owners. What more could you want. Highly recommended.

flotchit

Reviewed on 04/10/2019 18:53

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Remains the best in the Dordogne

This must be our seventh visit to Domaine des Mathevies and it just gets better and better. In a way its like visiting our extended family in France. We are yet to find a better campsite throughout France. It is quirky for sure, but that makes it so good. We had a mechanical issue with our motorhome this year which meant no onboard water functions. We had to use site facilities throughout our tour. The facilities at Mathevies are large, close, hot and very, very clean. Patrick and Natalie are fine hosts and make for great company in the evenings around the bar area. Each evening there is a different type of food van arriving to cater for everyone. Also what makes Mathevies special is that it is so inclusive and cosmopolitan. All ages in tents, caravans and motorhomes, from every country in Europe. So friendly. A super pool, nice roomy pitches and very quiet after ten in the evening. You can't go wrong dropping into Mathevies. Put it onto your tour list and enjoy!

Margarita

Motorhomer from Norfolk

Reviewed on 25/09/2019 13:32

54 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

First class caravan site in Aquitaine

Once again a first class visit to Mathevies. Our first time joining the so called grey wave (which didn't manifest itself) and arriving at the start of September. Nice and quiet, empty pool, great weather and the kids back at school. Idyllic to be honest. Patrick and Natalie continue to be great hosts, always around for a chat, give advice or generally help out. Helped out now with Mateo, a friendly young man who tends to keep bar. The food vans arrive each night offering different types of food. Fish and chips still a great favourite. What makes Mathevies so very special is that it is so cosmopolitan. All ages and nationalities together. Such great togetherness and fun. Let's hope the narrow minded Brexiteers no not spoil this. Perhaps another vote. We can but hope. Thanks again P and N for a great visit. Fully recommended and see you next year.

Margarita

Motorhomer from Norfolk

Reviewed on 05/09/2018 14:33

54 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

A Jewel in the Dordogne

A Jewel in the Dordogne Owned and run by Patrick and Natalie and located deep in the Dordogne countryside, just 15 minutes from Sarlat la Caneda, Mathevies is a jewel of serenity aimed at both young and old alike. Large enough to give a feeling of space, but small enough to exude a homely closeness between the regular cosmopolitan campers, caravaners and motorhomers, pitches are of differing sizes, most are pan flat and all have a regular 10amps of power. No “Special Pitches” but water taps with high pressure are always close and drainage can be piped directly into adjacent shrubbery. Many improvements have now been completed including a brace of state of the art Gite style apartments, impeccable washrooms and toilet facilities (if required), split level pitch arrangements and washer / dryer facilities. But it’s the feel, the ambience of Mathevies that makes it the “Must go to” camping site within the Dordogne area. Whether its solitude and tranquillity you want, or a day by the large swimming pool, a game of petanque or a drink at the bar, Mathevies has a slow, summer sunshine like bohemian quality rarely experienced on the French caravanning trail. Throughout the day, quality jazz, blues or classical music wafts almost unnoticed from the bar and restaurant area. A mix of French, Belgium, Netherland, German and British campers mix socially, making Mathevies one of the friendliest sites you will ever visit. Each evening a different “Food Van” arrives offering a choice from fish and chips, creole, French, pizza and international cuisine. A policy of quietness comes into practice at 10.30pm ensuring that everyone has a great night’s sleep. Don’t forget to order your fresh bread etc last thing. This was our forth visit to Mathevies and we look forward to coming again with are large rig (Discovery plus Buccaneer Cruiser. Our favourite French caravan site all due to the friendly and professional running of Patrick (English) and Natalie (Australian). Not to be missed. The Jewel in the Dordogne. Roland & Rowena Talbot

Margarita

Motorhomer from Norfolk

Reviewed on 12/07/2017 13:42

54 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

A Jewel in the Dordogne

A Jewel in the Dordogne Owned and run by Patrick and Natalie and located deep in the Dordogne countryside, just 15 minutes from Sarlat la Caneda, Mathevies is a jewel of serenity aimed at both young and old alike. Large enough to give a feeling of space, but small enough to exude a homely closeness between the regular cosmopolitan campers, caravaners and motorhomers, pitches are of differing sizes, most are pan flat and all have a regular 10amps of power. No “Special Pitches” but water taps with high pressure are always close and drainage can be piped directly into adjacent shrubbery. Many improvements have now been completed including a brace of state of the art Gite style apartments, impeccable washrooms and toilet facilities (if required), split level pitch arrangements and washer / dryer facilities. But it’s the feel, the ambience of Mathevies that makes it the “Must go to” camping site within the Dordogne area. Whether its solitude and tranquillity you want, or a day by the large swimming pool, a game of petanque or a drink at the bar, Mathevies has a slow, summer sunshine like bohemian quality rarely experienced on the French caravanning trail. Throughout the day, quality jazz, blues or classical music wafts almost unnoticed from the bar and restaurant area. A mix of French, Belgium, Netherland, German and British campers mix socially, making Mathevies one of the friendliest sites you will ever visit. Each evening a different “Food Van” arrives offering a choice from fish and chips, creole, French, pizza and international cuisine. A policy of quietness comes into practice at 10.30pm ensuring that everyone has a great night’s sleep. Don’t forget to order your fresh bread etc last thing. This was our forth visit to Mathevies and we look forward to coming again with are large rig (Discovery plus Buccaneer Cruiser. Our favourite French caravan site all due to the friendly and professional running of Patrick (English) and Natalie (Australian). Not to be missed. The Jewel in the Dordogne. Roland & Rowena Talbot

Margarita

Motorhomer from Norfolk

Reviewed on 12/07/2017 13:42

54 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Lovely Quirky Site

Stayed for 5 nights in September on way back from the South. Interesting, quirky site with lots of individual touches. Good pool, facilities and lovely bar area and very helpful owners. Irritatingly slow push button taps to fill up aquarolls etc and very dusty pitches, though this was probably related to the amazing hot, dry weather. This site features in the 'Cool Camping' book and is typical of many of their listed sites - very different, interesting and quirky. Well worth a visit.  Located app 1.5 miles from village of Sainte Nathalene, which boasts just one bar/restaurant and app 5 miles from the fabulous Town of Sarlat.  

Wayne Ellis

Caravanner

Reviewed on 18/09/2016 12:15

11 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Still the best in the Dordogne

Our third visit and Mathervies is still the best little site in the Dordogne as far as we are concerned. Lets be honest here. The site is aimed at young families. 70% of which are Netherlanders. Of the remainder some 20% are British and then the rest come from Belgium and last France. The site is run by Patrick and Natalie. They hail from Bury St Edmunds and Australia respectfully. The whole place is very understated. Very quiet and has a feel of being a hippy commune. The pitches are very large and very flat. You have a good steady 10 amps of power and you can run your waste of to the side of the pitch. Water can take some time to fill at the water stationed positioned around the site. All water stations have timed push button waters meters. This is because of so many children leaving taps running in the past. The site has good wide wifi running throughout the site for free and there is a great swimming pool. Many new GITES have been added to the site within the last year or two making it a highly sort after site. We tend to book a year a head to get our regular pitch as we are running a Buccaneer Cruiser and require the space. The reception area has a fab little bar and they have a different European / World food enterprise arrive each evening at around 6pm. Chips, Creole, Italian, French. Its great and very well priced. Good walking country. Lots of planned walks around the site. Sarlat is very close as is Domme. Well worth a visit. Its a first class site, run by a first class pair, We shall return and return. 

Margarita

Motorhomer from Norfolk

Reviewed on 14/07/2016 16:32

54 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Family run site

This site was in a lovely location in the Dordogne with many gorgeous places to visit. The couple that ran the caravan site were really helpful and gave the site a relaxed and pleasant homely feel. Shame about the weather that week though.

Teresa Rom

Reviewed on 13/07/2016 17:50

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Awesome find

The two of us stayed here 30 June 2015 for twelve nights in our twin axle caravan. Yes we will be back! We arrived at lunchtime and the owners were taking a break in the sunshine in the rustic seating area. We were greeted with a warm welcome, a handshake and the suggestion that although we had been allocated a pitch, we should take an easy stroll around the site to see if we wanted to choose an alternative. What a great relaxing start! The facilities were spotless always with no waiting for cleaning or vacancies!! The owners, who introduced themselves as Natalie and Patrick could not have done more to make our stay more enjoyable. Their local knowledge for shopping and even wine purchasing in St Emilion could not have been better. There are also two new major supermarkets in Sarlat, a short drive away (Carrefour and Le Clerc). The pool and its sunbathing area is very adequate with ample beds and shades. the Children's play area was fantastic (but we did not use it!!). The road up to the site has come in for a little criticism, but as I mentioned, we have an 8m twin axle and we had absolutely no worries driving to the site, it is very well signposted and the instructions are quite adequate. Just take it steady and enjoy the countryside, there is plenty of room on the roads and the end result is worth it. I must congratulate the Caravan Club on the addition of this site, we will definitely return and highly recommend it. I don't think it could have been better.

Crawswill

Caravanner

Reviewed on 06/07/2015 12:31

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer