Klein Strand

Rated 3 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 2 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

poor site

we stop at this site for seven days before we returned home on our last stop, we arrived at the site to book in the first thing we seen was we think that there was traveller people on the site as they was a few on the car park as we entered the site and some near by where we had pitched witch made us feel a bit uneasy, The pitchers are headed rowed and have plenty of room on the as that call them special pitchers water and drainage, You have to pay 30.00 euros for a card to get in and out of the gate and you get 5 euros for the showers after you have used the 5 euros you have to top up the card to have a shower, we was there for 7 day me and my wife only had to shower each then card run out, we was not in the shower that long possible 3mins also you had to pay to wash your pots as well, we fond this very bizarre, The toilet seemed clean but at times they seemed untidy at times, people laving toilet paper in the toilets and dirty hand basins, at times it was very noisy people kicking ball around on the site and shouting, to be honest we was glad how had let the site we don't think we would stop at this site any more it would be only for one night stop over if that's to be very disappointed,

mike60

Caravanner from Derbyshire

Reviewed on 16/07/2019 11:37

18 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Christmas Treat

We booked this stay as a post-Christmas / pre-New Year treat and the location did not disappoint. We took the overnight PO ferry from Hull to Zebrugge (highly recommend this route for this site) and were at the site within an hour of landing in Belgium. Very convenient, the site is within walking distance of the small (but lovely town) of Jabekke. We found a fabulous artisan breadshop but if you ask the site owners you can also walk to supermarkets. The site was extremely quiet at this time of year but with lots of space and good sized pitches. Just what we needed (peace and quiet). We arrived on Friday 28th of December and spent the day exploring the town/ local area - the evening was spruced up after we took an evening stroll and found people heading into what we thought was an industrial area (straight across from the first site entrance - the site has two areas to it). We subsequently found out this was a leisure area with a lake and library and everyone had been heading to a 'hygge' party - ice-skating / bar / food / huge coca cola lorry all lit up and playing music with Santa Claus in the back giving presents to children. Absolutely fantastic atmosphere. We were lucky that the local buses were free into Brugge from a couple of weekends before Christmas until the second weekend of the New Year, so we took advantage of that. If you want to visit Brugge and Gent then this is the MOST PERFECT site to do it. Catch the bus (53 or 52) from infront of the town Church and head straight to Brugge town centre. We decided to go to Gent on the Saturday and Brugge on the Sunday (because the buses ran later on Saturday so we were able to spend longer in Gent and not worry about rushing to travel back). So simple. Stay on the bus when it arrives in Brugge and the second stop will take you straight to the station (2 minutes away). We got a train to Gent (return cost about 7Euros each) and it takes about 30 minutes. Again, so simple, the first stop is Gent St Peters - so get out there. Quite a walk to the old town but you could take a tram if you prefer - I do not have those details as we walked (straight ahead and bear left around the building / keep walking - you will find Gent). Such a lovely weekend and about an hour back to the Eurotunnel. Simple / peaceful / helpful staff but not intrusive. Loved it. Just be aware that you get a 'hot water card' that you slot on showers to make them work. This is in Euros (not minutes) and we had 5 Euros on our card (you pay 30 Euros deposit and get 25 back for the card, plus any remaining 'hot water euros'. We got 27 Euros back and both had showers each day. Not expensive. Plus, we only paid about £60 for the site over this break. Bargain and well worth it for the convenience of accessing two city breaks. It is also worth noting that Brugge is more expensive than Gent, so we ate at a restaurant in Gent and ate 'street food in Brugge - Bratwurst, beer and a freshly made waffel. Fabulous

LaDolceVita

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 07/01/2019 20:15

23 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 2 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Lovely site but with terrible toilet block

We visited here in August 2018. The touring pitches are separated by hedges and most seem to have water adjacent to the pitch. Some of the pitches are tricky to get to. Other than the toilet block, which was small, not very clean and a bit smelly, the site generally was clean and tidy with a play area and toddler splash pool, kids club, bar, take away and amusements, and of course a lake with a beach that had water slides/swimming, an inflatabel assault course (there was a charge for this) and water skiing. We were hoping we could launch our kayak on the lake, but that wasn't possible. It's in a great location for Ostende and Bruges, and close to Zebrugge.

Tupo

Reviewed on 18/08/2018 12:04

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 1 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 1 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

overall

We stayed here in August 2017 and we were appalled at the state of the site. The toilets were only cleaned once a day, the bins, of which were all over by the main entrance, were over flowing to the point that people were putting the rubbish on the tarmac around them. When it rained the pitches flooded, there was only one dog poo bin which was so overflowing you couldn't get any more bags in it. we had to complain twice about the level of noise where other people were having parties. The shop, which quite frankly was appalling, was on the other side of the road a good 150 yrds away as was the fishing. We didn't eat in the Chinese restaurant as the prices were so high that we couldn't afford to. The whole camp site was graded as 3.5 stars but to be honest it should be a 1 and that's being kind. you seriously need to remove this site from the caravan club site or someone needs to go over unannounced and see for themselves. We will NOT be recommending this site to any one in fact it will be complete reverse and I feel that some sort of compensation should be given.

Cornish John

Reviewed on 05/09/2017 20:42

1 review

3 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Klein Strand

This is not a site for all those who only want hard standing as all the pitches are grass. Whilst being fairly level they are not exactly smooth. Why they describe them as "Special Pitches" I have no idea, possibly to charge more. Basic setup is 1 bollard with 4 EHU points & a tap set in the corner between 4 pitches. Some seasonal pitches seem to have caravans on which appear to have been left to rot. Showers etc are additional cost. The site is split into 2 areas. Tourers 1 side of the road, statics on the other. There is a lake for swimming & water skiing. Restaurant & bar overlooks it. Prices here are expensive! Site grocery shop very poorly laid out & very scruffy. Not somewhere I'd rush to return to in a hurry.

DaveCyn

Caravanner

Reviewed on 19/07/2017 15:35

9 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 1 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Unclean Toilets. Site needs refurbishing and updating.

We stayed here for eight nights. The toilets and showers were generally unclean. We only saw them being cleaned once during our stay. The cleanliness of the block is way below that of an approved Caravan Club site. A derelict caravan was permanently pitched next to the toilet block. It was an unacceptable eyesore. I hope that next time the site is inspected the Club take appropriate action. The site is very noisy with the sound of the traffic from the nearby motorway. The water pressure on our pitch was variable. Sometimes it would take 10 minutes to fill our Aqua Roll. A hotel is being built opposite the site and there was an intrusive drone ffrom a water pump that could be heard all night long - even with all of the windows closed. The whole site looks tired. It appears that the owners are happy to take your money but unwilling to keep the facities clean and up to date. There were piles of rubble and sand in places around the site with no evidence of any work being done. This contributed to the dowdy and unkempt feel. On the positive side the Chinese restaurant was very pleasant and the site is well located for access to the Belgium cities. I would not wish to stay in such an unclean, undermanaged and underinvested site again.

david S Smith

Reviewed on 09/05/2017 18:07

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

March 2017

Stayed for 5 nights to tour the WW1 battlefields before heading into France. Shower & toilet block clean but you have to pay for shower and hot water for washing which is quite expensive. This site is close to the E40 motorway and is very noisy. Also more info should be included in the description informing that the site is split over two locations and that there are two receptions. We arrived as per directions but reception was closed, and no info, figured out as I could see some static homes a few minutes walk down the road, I'd try there and surprise there is the other reception. The main touring reception only opens from June to Sept !! Pitches are large, but lots in poor condition, albeit so early in the season. Water and EHU in the corner of pitches, but the lots of the electric boxes are in poor condition with wiring to the breakers, in many cases dangerous. Won't be returning to this site again.

wooders

Caravanner from East Yorkshire

Reviewed on 24/03/2017 19:30

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

One night stopover.

We stopped one night on the way to Germany, it was the last day of the summer season and things were closing. The approach to the site is difficult. Facilities were O/K but you had a tag which you had to load a pre-paid amount on to, you had to use for ALL hot water, dishes, showers Etc. Mostly season pitches, lots of families. Typical summer holiday site. The main site just opposite has a small shop and Bar Restaurant, with a big lake for water sports. If you like that sort of thing O/K my opinion there are a lot better sites to be had. Shall NOT be returning.

Ambasodor

Caravanner from Dyfed

Reviewed on 22/09/2016 19:58

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 2 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Location location......

As other reviewers have said, this site is in a truly great location! You can buy your bus tickets for Bruges at reception and they supply bus times etc as well - this made it all very easy. The receptionists were all very helpful.  Having to pay extra for hot water is unusual but didn't add much onto the bill for a couple of nights stay. My son enjoyed the 'beach' and the water slides. The pitches are very large and well spaced. The site was not overly clean and the toilets were always smelly.  The site has a large number of permanent residents on some parts of it. Some of these certainly like to party and the bar in the evening was an unforgettable experience.........!!!

Alexanders

Reviewed on 07/08/2016 09:48

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Bit tired

This site was split into two parts. The lake and beach side was not very appealing and the shop was poorly stocked. We were pitched on the other side which was better but the facilities were dated and needed cleaning more often. Our friends had dog poo on their pitch and despite telling reception it was not removed. Good location for Bruges which is lovely.

sukei

Reviewed on 05/08/2016 18:00

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer