La Guyonnière

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Great site

Had a lovely 2 week holiday here large pitches with plenty of space for our 2 labradors although our pitch must be popular as the grass well worn and bare . Can't fault the facilities shower blocks are fairly new and very clean, (cleaned several times a day) and although our field was large and nearly full we didn't have to wait for a shower. Staff were very friendly and the site is large and we'll looked after with shop, restaurant, bar, cycle hire, pool plus much more and plenty of walks nearby with a large lake nearby with pedalos and our dogs loved swimming in it every day and to top it off the weather was brilliant throughout our stay.we were so pleased with the site that we have booked again for next year.

labradors r the best

Caravanner

Reviewed on 26/07/2017 18:56

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Extremely well appointed site in a rural setting perfect for a quiet holiday

Although a large site, it is well set out in individual fields. We discovered Lac du Jaunay next to the bottom end of the site on the first night and we walked/ran around the top half every day – around 4 miles. There are amenity blocks in each area kept clean regularly – no complaints there whatsoever. Pitches are wide and spacious, although it’s worth figuring out if you get any shade – when we were there it was very hot and we had to sit sometimes behind the caravan away from the sun! Some of the other savvy European campers in our field had pitched up on the other side so that they got plenty of shade in the heat of the day. Great for families, and lots of onsite activities. Not much going on on in nearby St Julien des Landes or La Mothe Achard, and it’s a 15 minute drive to the coast where there are plenty of sandy bays. Due to the lack of many quiet back roads, much of our cycling was done on the main roads – this wasn’t a major issue for us as the traffic was light and the French drivers were very considerate to bikes in the road. Not sure I would’ve wanted to go out on a ride with young children however. We loved our time here and would certainly recommend it

alan1406

Caravanner from West Yorkshire

Reviewed on 16/07/2017 22:16

17 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

A real gem!

We spent 7 nights here in May in our caravan and loved every minute. Staff and service excellent, facilities modern and spotlessly clean. Biggest pitch we've ever been on.Nice walks around the Lac de Jaunay. The site is well located to access the fabulous beaches of the Vendee. would definitely recommend and use again.

TSITOM

Caravanner from Northumberland

Reviewed on 08/07/2017 13:27

13 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Best holiday

This site was fantastic the pitches were massive facility's best very clean and staff very friendly they were plenty to do for all ages food good and reasonably priced just a pity the holiday is over would recommend this site with no hesitation roll on next year ??????????

buraburas

Caravanner from Dunbartonshire

Reviewed on 03/09/2016 17:34

4 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Second best site we have found in France!

We stayed here for 8 nights in July - we thought it was a really good site. Great facilities - pool with slide and lazy river area - it was a bit tired in places - cleaning around the edges could be better. However the kids loved it - not enough sunbeds on busy days - we had to sit against the wall on a few occasions. The toilets are clean and ok - our field had a block for womens and the other seemed to be for both sexes - a bit random though as often men would be in the ladies! You do have to take loo roll from a container on the way in - not really practical - kids especially didn't like that so tended to take a loo roll from our caravan when going! Lots to do on site pony trekking, volleyball, tennis, bike hire - we punctured three balls on the football pitch as the hedgerow is very spikey! Predominantly Dutch onsite, then Brits. The used the pizza takeaway - which was good. The restaurant wasn't our cup of tea - but was busy. The area is brilliant - so much to do - recommend The Grand Delfi and O Gliss - all of us enjoyed these days out. Also beaches great - everything from sandy to pebbly - surf and flat. We would give this site 4.5 / 5 and would happily go again

carola

Caravanner

Reviewed on 14/08/2016 12:54

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

2nd year on this lovely site

After staying here in 2015 we decided to come back this year. Just returned from another 14 nights and again loved every minute. Site was very quiet but everything was open, staff were once again very polite and helpful. Facilities were excellent, toilet blocks cleaned several times a day and were spotless. Looking forward to returning to this lovely site in 2017.

lbgessex

Caravanner from Essex

Reviewed on 15/07/2016 23:57

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

A good visit

Very pleasant site surrounded by nature and some walks. Showers extremely hot not adjustable. Would go there again to spend more time, only had 3 nights. Probably very busy and noisy in high season

choozy

Caravanner from Devon

Reviewed on 12/07/2016 12:33

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Nice site

Nice site with a lovely pool area with a flume and rapids. New toilet blocks with hairdyers. Roads need to be addressed as only gravel with uneven paving slabs which makes toilet/shower area dirty. WiFi now free in all areas and seemed to work well. The sauna and spa is charged at16€ -each for 40 mins which we thought expensive and not indicated in club brochure there was a charge. Staff friendly and helpful. Lovely bar with happy hour each eve (june). Farm animals and tractor rides for kids..we also visited Le Pin parasol down the road which was also 5* and also nice.

maldanic

Reviewed on 03/07/2016 13:06

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Just a Delightful site near Lac Du Jaurnay

Lovely big pitches and although the Village is vast it does not feel crowded. Restaurant bar and pool all cope well. Entertainment was simple but fun staff really helpful. Toilet facilties kept very clean. Even enjoyed a cookery lesson which was great fun. Great for families but we enjoyed just as much as a couple. Cycling walking and canoeing all very good. Wouldn't hesitate to go back highly recommended.

Aveline

Caravanner from Northumberland

Reviewed on 10/09/2015 12:22

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Sunny fortnight at Guyonniere

We stayed at La Guyonniere last week of July for a fortnight. Site was easy enough to locate. Check in easy and staff more than helpful. Our pitch was located toward the back of the site with water and drainage as requested. The pitch itself was huge, our opposite neighbours had some shade but we had none which is something to bear in mind when the weather s very hot in the Vendee (we did ask for a sunny pitch!!). The site is quite sprawling and we didn't realise the full extent of it until we had a walk around the various fields. In our experience noise levels were non existent at night which was great after our previous years experience at a site in the Loire. The toilet blocks were kept clean and tidy and never smelly. Toilet paper (from dispensers outside he cubicles) did run out a couple of times. I think the block in our field must have been one f the oldest as others had newer enclosed blocks. The roads are not made up which isn't a problem, only dusty! The area we felt the campsite let down our rating is the swimming pool. It is a nice pool with lazy river, however it seemed to us that the site has grown by adding new fields but the size of the swimming pool area has not risen to accommodate more people needing space to sit or sunbath. To get a sunbed it was necessary to get to the pool area by 11.00 we found. in addition, the paved area surrounding the pools is very uneven and wobbly in places, we were surprised not to see more people trip or stub their toes. The approach to the pool area is gravel and thus when you leave quite uncomfortable. Food and drink are available at the pool area via the bar. Pool lifeguards were however very visible and did an excellent job of ensuring all users of the pools were kept safe, particularly as there were many small children. (bombing and that type of action being stopped). We did not use the bar or restaurant but looked in and it was very pleasant, the menu also seemed quite extensive. Accommodation on the site is very varied to suit all tastes and budgets. Bikes can be hired and they all looked new and modern. The entertainment was put on by the staff and was delivered with enthusiasm and humour. All staff were very helpful and friendly and worked hard. We do think however that the site could be further developed to provide a better experience. Having said that we encountered many families returning to the site year on year so maybe we are looking for something different! We did buy 2 weeks Wifi at 35 Euros. Wifi is available throughout the site but so slow (I would assume because of the number of users) as to be unusable. I think the staff have heard this as it was suggested when I bought it. To their credit though after two days when I gave up the site readily refunded the full amount.

JonathanS

Caravanner

Reviewed on 12/08/2015 18:46

9 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer