La Mouette Cendrée

Rated 4 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Visit May 2020

We, 2 persons and 1 dog stayed at La Mouette Cendree during May 2022. We were blessed with dry and warm weather, some days it could be described as hot. The site was quiet and I had the swimming pool to myself on several occasions. The site is well maintained and clean. Bring your own toilet paper as none provided. The site is about 35 mins walk to the nearest beach. The beaches to the south of Jard Sur Mer were nice and backed by forests which gave welcome shade. The Super U supermarket is about 10 minutes walk via the industrial estate. The walk into town is roadside, and takes about 30 mins. Walking the dog around the site was no problem because most of the grass pitches were vacant. It may not be that good in high season. I don't think I would use this site again because of its distance from the beaches and the town. No problem if you ride a bike or drive everywhere but in a campervan it means a bit of preparation before every trip

storiths

Campervanner

Reviewed on 30/05/2022 16:35

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Good value for money

Just returned from visiting this site. Nice site located near Jard sur Mer and St Vincent. Not very welcoming and no site information provided, but helpful tourist information office in Jard. Pitches nice size with hedges around and waterpoints nearby. No motorhome servicepoint so had to connect with hose into back of them and use a pair of pliers. Toilets and showers clean and modern but toilet paper not provided and handgel provided outside. Showers require connect bracelet to use but these were not easy to use and seem to malfunction and only half of the showers worked. Not particularly quiet site despite noise warnings and 1 night loud music until midnight. Walking distance to Super u was about 10 minutes and to the beach about 30 minutes. Lovely walk along sea front from Jard to St Vincent. Also nice walk from Jard along seafront and through woodlands. Good market in Jard on Monday morning.

Coops3

Reviewed on 03/08/2020 23:01

25 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Small, quiet, friendly site

This was only our second trip away in our caravan and our first as Caravan Club members. We found the site quite easily and were told we could park anywhere, which was nice. Most of the pitches are a decent size and are reasonably private. Bit disappointed not to have been given any info on arrival, not even a map of the site, so were really left to fend for ourselves. Having just re-read some of the other reviews, it sounds like bread, etc, is available from reception but having been there a week we were not aware of that! However, we were loaned a converter plug for the electric (as we'd left ours at home!), for which we were grateful. The site was generally quiet and the location is very convenient for the supermarket, the village and the beaches, although Jard-sur-Mer and some of the other little towns are really just holiday resorts with little or no character. I suspect in the high season it is very busy and not so quiet. We weren't greatly enamoured with the cleanliness of the loos and showers and chose to use our own in the caravan. That said, if we were to return to the area, we would probably stay here again.

Reviewed on 06/09/2017 20:13

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Quiet site out of season

Nice site can recommend to anyone, we stayed late in september (2016 ) and we had the choice of any touring pitch. Clean site services all there the site loaned me a conversion plug from blue plug to french 2 pin and earth plug. Supermarket around two minutes in car through industrial estate or a 15 min walk. Village centre and beach all within walking distance. Would use again if we return to this area.

SMCCUL

Caravanner from West Yorkshire

Reviewed on 05/10/2016 23:55

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

fantastic again

This was our 4th visit here and we loved the new covered pool. The site is wonderfully placed for supermarket and conches beach 10 mins in car. Christine and Patrick and family really work hard at running a fab site, and we will return again next year. Pitches are a good size and toilet facilities are adequate, plenty of hot water and a pleasant mix of touring and statics. A little gem.

eribaone

Reviewed on 21/09/2016 18:35

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

A Good Find

This is a smallish, compact site on the edge of Jard sur Mer. The pitches are a good size for a van and car and the site was peaceful when we stayed in late August. Facilities are reasonable. Toilet paper was not supplied and there was just one hook to hang everything from while showering. We didn't use the pool but the families who did enjoyed themselves. The reception was staffed by an excellent lady who made us feel welcome, supplied bread, croissants, beer, advice and spoke good english. When we saw the other sited nearby which boasted a fun-fair like atmosphere and looked like Blackpool on Bank Holiday we were certain that we had made the right decision.  

RogerWB

Caravanner

Reviewed on 20/09/2016 17:56

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

July 2016

Stayed in July2016 for 2 weeks. A20 La Mouette Cendree is a lovely site with friendly staff, a pleasant atmosphere & a nice pool area, which is clean & doesn't suffer from the overcrowding we've witnessed elsewhere. The toilets/showers are basic but clean & tidy. If you like shady pitches then this site is ideal, as most pitches are surrounded by tall tress & bushes. The site is in a good location & is well kept, offering excellent value for money. Will return to site again 

sean cowles

Caravanner

Reviewed on 23/07/2016 11:07

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 2 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Not what I expected

Firstly the address is wrong and had great difficulty finding the site. Post code covers a wide area so not much help on /satnav. Secondly the site is advertised as being a calm and peaceful one, which is not exactly correct. During our 6 night stay the music was very loud on 2 nights and one night didn;t finish until 12.40am. Having said that the site is well equipped and the people running it are pleasant enough. Pool area is great for families. Jard Sur Mer is very very crowded in August and a nightmare to get around, unless you have a bike.Personally I would not return to this site in fact we left a day early but then I am 73 years old. It is good for families with young children.

Response from The Caravan Club:

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review and we are pleased that you found the site well equipped with a great pool area for families. We have checked and confirmed the address and are sorry to hear you had difficulties finding the campsite. We have also heard from the campsite, who are very sorry to hear that you left early and would like to address the concerns you have raised. The campsite plays music once a week on Wednesday evenings which ends at midnight so it may be that the music heard was from other campsites nearby. Jard Sea a very small town known for its port and is especially busy in August as it is located between the edge of the sea and sables d'Olonne. We are very sorry to read that this affected your enjoyment of the site. Please do speak to site staff if you ever have any concerns as they will always do their best to assist during your stay. 

maggiemoo

Reviewed on 22/08/2015 11:50

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer