Le Brabois

Rated 3 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 2 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Good for one night but avoid the acorn trees in september

Tired campsite but clean. I'd avoid staying there during acorn season. I have a small metal roof camper van and I spent the night on the allocated pitch being kept awake by falling acorns. There are 16 small impact dents on the roof and two on the bonnet from said acorns. My roof gutters and windscreen gutters were full of acorns the next morning. Other people were complaining of the acorns too. I also had problems with my domestic kettle tripping out the pitch electrics three times. This was only used with internal LED lights and the fridge. It wouldn't be possible to have any heating on if you wanted to boil the kettle. Can't comment on anything else as this was a 1 night stop over (fortunately ).
Motorhomer

Reviewed on

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

I Don't Know Nancy but This Is More Of A Transit site

Used as a stop-over on both inward and outward journey to Venice. As with others we got the 'special' pitch and paid £22 which is OTT for what you get. Pitch was decent size, did have water and waste disposal on pitch but it did slope upwards and so the drainage pipe was trying to go uphill on our pitch and so pointless! Lovely staff but little English spoken if you are linguistically challenged! Bar/cafe etc on site and lots of recycling. Supermarket and cheap fuel 2 miles away. Can't agree more with the comment about the chemical waste disposal - it is part of a unit where drinking water is dispensed and that is unforgivable! Can't believe the Club has recommended this site if only for this reason! We were at the bottom of the site from this 'facility' and so our waste went into one of the toilet blocks!
Caravanner from South Yorkshire

Reviewed on

46 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Ok for short stay

Stayed for two nights, pitches tight, facilities good and clean, can only take dog into Nancy on the bus if said dog is in a basket, however easy parking in City centre for motorhomes signed tourist bus parking very cheap and huge area easy walk anywhere from there well worth visiting
Motorhomer

Reviewed on

13 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 1 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Bit of a shame

Its a shame this campsite has not had more TLC, the pitches are poor and the facilites are neglected. It is set in a great location with good public transport very close and a supermarket within 2km. We were made to book a super pitch at extra cost due to the size of our outfit, this turned out to be an overgrown grassed area at the edge of the site which had water close by and 15amp electrics. As it rained heavily on our first day we were in danger of getting stuck so agreed to move to a hardstanding pitch in the centre of the park which was much better but did not have water and only 6amp electic - neither of which we minded and would happily have booked this in the first place had we been allowed (also saving some money). This is an expensive camp site which could be well worth visiting but at the moment it is extremely poor value for money and very neglected.

Reviewed on

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 2 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Good short stay

We booked at le Brabois for 6 nights but decided to leave early after 5. Whilst the site was OK, if was a bit tired and needed TLC. The staff were generally friendly and helpful and the site is well located for getting to and from Nancy and other towns - Strasbourg approx 1hour. The bus service to Nancy is very good and takes you directly to the central square. The restaurant on site is however very disappointing. The pitches are good size although for some inexplicable reason, we were put under the trees - although there were plenty of spaces available elsewhere. Need to use steel pegs to secure the awning. The drinking water point is located in a small unit which also houses the chemical disposal point. The drinking water tap is approx 2 - 3 feet from the Elsan disposal flap and also next to the rinsing tap. - Plenty of opportunity for cross contamination and splashing. Not the most hygienic system and not what I would expect from a Caravan Club approved site. If I decide to return to Nancy, I would probably use the site again but would use the on board facilities.

Reviewed on

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Just about OK for a night halt.

Only stayed for a night halt so maybe did not see the best of the site but it appears quite rundown in some areas with lots of neglected disused areas. The toilet blocks etc were fine but I never did find the drinking water taps and the only chemical toilet disposal point I found was a motor home service point that  was filthy and way over to what appeared a neglected area. The weather had been very wet prior to our arrival and the site was very muddy. Our alloted pitch was fairly small and quite uneven with car parking across the front of the caravan. Electric amperage at 6 amps was disappointing. Do not think I will use the site again 
Caravanner from North Yorkshire

Reviewed on

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Le Brabois

This is just a basic transit site which I could not recommend for a longer stay as the facilities were fairly modest. We found it quite friendly with lovely croissants in the morning. The electrics were quite away from some of the pitches - just reached with our 25m. Our pitch was quite level and a reasonable size
Motorhomer

Reviewed on

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Very basic

Check in is very random,no two people get the same information. There is no system. Some get the gate code, we didn't. We booked a service pitch and were allocated one, another couple were not and had to go back toreception. The serviced pitches are unsatisfactory as they are VERY undulating within a sloping pitch. There is little shade and we had temperatures in the mid 30's. Also the waste is several inches higher than the highest point on the pitch so waste water has to go uphill! However the snack bar is better than on many sites and offers a range of food including coq au vin. A trip to Nancy is worth it and we used the park and ride tram service near the A33 for 2.60Euros for everyone in the car! There was no information in English for touring from the site although we found plenty at local Tourist Information centres.

Response from The Caravan Club:

 Thank you for sharing your experience at Le Brabois with us, and for recommending the park and ride tram service to Nancy. We are disappointed to hear that you encountered several issues on site, we have passed your comments on to the Le Brabois.

 Response from Le Brabois:

We can check in up to 100 people in an afternoon and they don’t all have the same needs.

Some people ask for certain information and receive it. Some people might need certain information that we decide to give them based on who they are and what they will be doing during their stay. I prefer to call this a personal service.

If somebody asks for a service pitch then they will get one, if they don’t then they will get a standard pitch.

We have few complaints about our service pitches but I will take on board this client’s remarks. They are all grouped together and maybe some are sloping.

As for the gate code, we give the code to people who will be going out with their vehicle. If they are staying for only one night and won’t be going out then we don’t give them a code. The codes are all personal and have to be entered into the computer (a date of birth or a postcode for example).

Our service pitches don’t have much shade, there is not a lot we can do about that. Some do have trees and other smaller trees have been planted to provide more shade in the future.

We are very sorry that this client didn’t have a good experience at our campsite we want and try to do our best for all of our clients.

 

 

Reviewed on

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Two night stopover

We stayed for two nights at the beginning of June with the intention of seeing Nancy but as it rained all day we saw very little of it. The bus stop is just outside the camp site and we bought our tickets from reception. It is an easy to find campsite in a wooded area with good clean modern toilet facilities. The staff are friendly with a pretty good grasp of English. Can't comment on the restaurant as we didn't use it but it did seem popular. Overall we would recommend it.
Motorhomer from Kent

Reviewed on

12 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 2 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

No frills, basic overnight stay

Upon arrival our first impression was good although it lacked in a friendly welcome. We were checked in pretty quickly although we were told that our booking had not been paid for! I told the lady that our reservation was through the Caravan Club and we paid at the time of booking to which she replied "well I will have to see about that". We were checked in anyway to a corner pitch that, with a long reach, you could touch the caravan next door. There are no paths to the shower blocks. For fresh water for the kettle, we had to use a tap located under a wash basin in the shower block! There is a lack of water points. Was surprised to later find a fresh water tap location with a chemical toilet disposal drain directly underneath!! Call me fussy, but that shocked me. We only stayed two nights, which was enough. We went out once in our motorhome but when returning, I had to go into reception to ask for the barrier to be raised for us. We were not given a barrier code on arrival. The man, whom I believe is the British owner, did not believe me when I said that we had already checked in the day before, despite me telling him our pitch number! After several personal questions, and a sarcastic comment that I must have told them on check in that I didn't want a barrier code (err, no, I didn't know there was a code) he finally let us through, with a stern gaze. We were glad to leave after our stay. We will not be returning.

Response from the Caravan Club:

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on our website.  We have contacted the site and passed on the issues you have raised. 

 Response from Le Brabois:

We are very sorry that this client didn’t have a good experience at our campsite we want and try to do our best for all of our clients.

‘Well I will have to see about that’ is also a way of saying ‘I will look into it’. The person was French and almost certainly didn’t mean anything nasty.

As for touching the caravan next door, it all depends on how each caravan is parked, all of our pitches are at least 100m², some are even bigger.

We do have waterpoints outside and inside all 4 of our shower blocks.

We have 16 water points outside the shower blocks and for people parked further away there are another 5 water points dispatched strategically all over the campsite. There are also more water points inside the shower blocks.

We do have a code system for our barriers, people wishing to leave with their vehicle are automatically given a personal code for the barrier. The girls on reception ask each person if they will be going out at all during their stay. If the answer is yes then they are given a code (their birthday or postcode normally for ease of recall).

We are very strict with this system as a person with no code could be stranded outside the campsite.

Also, it’s not possible to get out without a code unless one vehicle follows another.

It was for this reason, almost certainly, that the client was questioned (personal questions? Maybe the client was asked for his/her name or eventually his/her birthday to be given a code). I can’t comment on the sarcastic remark as I don’t know what it was or may have been. A ‘stern gaze’, maybe a ‘tired look’ at the end of a long day. 

Motorhomer

Reviewed on

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer