Le Brasilia

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

It has everything.

We took advantage of the late Easter to attempt a beach holiday - although unlucky with the weather this site has a good location, having direct beach access ( we didn't get to sit on the beach at this time of year - sea too rough and it was windy). If you are unlucky enough to have poor weather then this site is the best place to be - the pool areas are fabulous and cater for all needs - so there is a pool with swimming lanes and another for playing so those who want to just swim can do. Heated too (which was necessary). There are very good food shopping facilities - bread / grocers / veg / butchers and deli where you can also buy pizzas or roast chicken off the spit. shops also sell clothing (for the beach) and a newsagents. Staff are super friendly, with reception reminding me of a hotel lobby. The site is kept beautifully clean and there are sharing showers for families. We were given a pitch on F block (so we could hear the sea) and one morning after particularly heavy rainfall we could see that the pitches closer to the central area of the row had flooded quite badly. We were lucky, being on the end of the row, but the ground was soft. Location wise there are quite a few things to do - leaflets can be found in the tourist information office on site (here you can also borrow books). We visited Tautavel and Castelnou. We also got the bus to Perpignon a couple of times and really enjoyed the place. It is a bit of a walk to the bus stop but if the weather is fine it is worth the walk. Very pleasant. We also cycled to the local Intermarche (bike stands outside). We also cycled in to Canet-en-Roussillon which is a very small, but pretty place. We were able to lock our bikes up on the stands outside the Mairie. Overall we had a lovely holiday exploring this lovely area (we went to Coullioure but were unable to stop as there was no where to park the motor home - but driving along this beautiful coast is lovely. Also, there was snow on the top of the Pyrenees - beautiful. We arrived the day after it had opened for the new season and it was pretty busy (to our surprise) - so I can imagine it will get very busy in summer. But a nice site for families.

LaDolceVita

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 30/05/2019 09:28

23 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

We Loved it !!!

We stayed here in June 2018 with our 2 children 8 & 10 years. We are used to smaller sites and a little more peace and quiet, so were a little apprehensive when we booked La Brasilia. What we found upon arrival was a beautiful, well looked after site with so much to do for the kids and adults. (Cycling club for the adults was great -100Km ride outs most days). There is much mention on the other reviews about the trees. Yes, there are pine trees and yes they drop their needles. However, staff regularly clean up the roads and plots and keep the place looking beautiful. The needless are a small price to pay for the benefit of having shade and boy do you need it given the summer temperatures down there. We personally found the plot sizes big enough for a 7.5meter caravan with a full size awning and a further sun porch / awning attached to that. Fantastic toilet blocks, one of which is brand new and stunning. The only downside is that the increase in size of the new cubicles means that they have reduced capacity, which led to a little queue at peak times. Pools and facilities were amazing and the beach.. Awesome!! If I had to pick fault I would say that the noise that come from an adjoining site is at times a little too much. This will only affect you if you are right at the back of the site (which we were). That said it was silent before midnight, so I could live with it. It’s a long old journey from the English / Scottish border, but I can honestly say it was worth every mile !!!

spby1

Reviewed on 07/08/2018 18:14

5 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Very friendly, despite the size

I agree with recent reviews that this an excellent very well equipped and maintained site. The pool complex is enormous and beautifully landscaped. Best out of season (or lunchtime) when it is still warm but not too busy. There is a whole mini village of shops so no real need to go anywhere else. In fact the place is something of a "bubble". There are sightseeing opportunities around but we'd done that on the way down so mainly stayed on site for 10 days. Despite it being very large with whole areas devoted to cabins, the atmosphere managed to be friendly and almost intimate. This is mainly due to the helpful staff and especially the animation crew. As a senior couple, we are not normally interested in on site entertainment (unlike the French who make it their top priority) but we thoroughly enjoyed the lunchtime pool exercises and the evening shows. How lovely to wander around at 10pm in a T-shirt listening to tribute acts and sipping cocktails! Great to have a beach adjacent but it does shelve steeply and you need shoes to get over the strip of stones at the water's edge. If you have really small children you may prefer to get the little train into Canet. We mostly had nice weather in early September but the Tramontane wind got up some days and quickly blew cloud in. Temperature remained in the mid twenties. I also agree about the shape of the pitches and the constant droppings from the trees. Some pitches were worse than others so it is pot luck. It seems like a posh tablecloth is not the only essential accessory - you need a car over and a spare tarpaulin over the awning. If you book through the Club you will be in an area with other Brits and have no choice. I suspect that any site in the South of France will have this problem if you have shade. We had grass underfoot further north but not here! Using the water connection and draining into the ditch we never used the site showers.

timbo22

Caravanner

Reviewed on 08/10/2017 12:47

1 review

3 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

A Great All-round Site

Just returned from three weeks at this site and loved it. Despite my first impression on arrival, that made me think that I had arrived at one of those UK holiday camps. My misgivings were quickly dispelled by the warm welcome we received at reception and from our friendly escort to our pitch. It's a large site divided up into small areas with their own facilities that are regularly cleaned and as a result spotless. The pitches are large and fully serviced with water, waste and electric and most have trees providing some shade, which was welcomed. A slight drawback is that the trees are home for squirrels, pigeons and other birds that can result in your caravan/Motorhome,awning and car being subjected to,,, well I'll leave it to your imagination. The site has its own shops, bars, restaurant, spa, entertainment area, swimming pools with children's water play area together with various sports areas. There's direct access to the beach that had lifeguard cover throughout our stay. This site should suit all ages with something for everyone. Families especially will like this site as it provides a safe environment for their children to explore. We hardly left the site finding everything we needed for a very enjoyable holiday. If we had to say something negative about our stay, it would be, that it just wasn't long enough.

firefly580

Caravanner from Cheshire

Reviewed on 16/07/2017 13:16

27 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Not as good as we had hoped

This site is rated as 5 star and all the facilities were of the best standard so we have no issues there. There are however a lot of pine trees which are tall and well established and these caused us serious problems. There are a lot of creatures living in these trees - pigeons, ravens, magpies and squirrels and the huge amount of droppings, especially those which were purple in colour made it impossible to sit out or leave anything out in the open - e.g. table, chairs and washing. The plots were mostly oriented the wrong way round so the van had to be sited across the plot instead of straight into it. The ground also had a covering of very fine dust which made the car and 'van filthy when it rained and put a film of brown dust all over the interior of the caravan. The pines also dropped quantities of very sticky sap all over everything and we are struggling to clean it off. We would not return to this site unless the tree issues are resolved.

Minkx

Reviewed on 17/10/2016 11:03

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Very Well run site

This is  a large and comercial site but so well laid out and run that each pitch feels fairly peaceful and the toilet/shower blocks are close by and immaculate, and include private washrooms. As it is a large site think about what sort of pitch you want before you commit...some are closer to the sea, the dog walk and the children's playground....others are further away and more shaded. A bicycle or a car are an advantage to get to local shops, and to see the local area as while there are a range of shops on site, what they stock may not be what you crave for! Having said this there are plenty of local walks and the beach by the campsite is great....and of course the onsite pool complex caters for most needs.....whether it's swimming lengths gently swimming with younger children, or going Helter skelter down water slides. 

Lynne33

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 01/10/2016 19:38

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Brilliant site

Unfortunately I was late booking so had to book direct with the site. I cannot rate this site highly enough. Everything was spotless lots of toilet blocks, I thought the one we were using was superb, till I checked out others which were even better. I don't know if it's because we booked direct but we had a large pitch at the end of a small cul de sac of six pitches. The staff came and cleaned the pitches after people left! We were close to all the facilities and the beach, we left in mid September and all the shops bars and restaurants were still all open, which is unusual. I will definitely recommend this site, wether you are a family looking for lots to do on site or like us mainly using it as a base to tour the area, it was brilliant.

anne1954

Reviewed on 18/09/2016 12:19

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

absolutely fabulous

we stayed at Brasilia july/august 2016 and this was our second visit in 2 years, this site is kept immaculate, lots of hardwork is put in to ensure the site stays that way.. the pitches are very generously sized and private. the pool area is fantastic especially now it has been extended and now has more loungers and a pool for lane swimming. lots on site to do and infact if you choose not to you don't even need to leave the site. there is noise from the adjacent site until around midnight but hey, were on holiday aren't we? surely people expect a little noise, its really nothing to lose sleep over.. anyway it is such a great site and most people return annually. I cant rate this site high enough, we personally love it...

taylor34

Caravanner from South Yorkshire

Reviewed on 04/09/2016 08:29

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Busy, Busy, Busy!

Stayed here the last week in July for a week before moving elsewhere. This is a large site mix of caravans and cabins etc. The toilets showers are always in good clean order, they to be seemed to be always being cleaned probably the best I seen on a camp site. The site has everything you would need for a holiday good size pools, slides etc, however it is almost impossible to get a sun bed, you just have to get used to sitting on the floor. Shops, bars and restaurants on site all reasonable and not badly priced. Only one bad point it is the caravan club pitches appear to be at the rear of the site next to the  adjacent site who play very load music late into night which is quite irritating to say the least, this I feel the CC should be able to address with the site. There are better pitches in other areas of the site, if you book direct.  A very busy site, once you get over that you'll have a good time. Would visit again. 

Michael Kent

Caravanner

Reviewed on 19/08/2016 21:43

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

nuts for brasilia

the site was run very proffesnatly from the moment you arrived the gaurd on the gate show as to parking bay then to reception they booked us in in no time a guide then showed us vacant pitches alarge choise the pitches were not big 90sqmts but kept to high standard with 5ft high bushes all the way round tiolet facils top notch easy walk too two facils, the beach was 500mtres the resteraunt 200mtres swimming pools top with plenty of space and sun beds sign said towels left on beds without people will be remove a good site for children quite at night gaurds travelled many times over night thank you CC for your reccomendation

homemaid

Reviewed on 11/07/2016 17:47

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer