Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 2 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5


Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Good facilities, mosquito hell.

Originally I wrote a review of approx 2000 characters, only to find that I took longer than 30 minutes and lost it due to auto logoff! Having lost the will to live, I offer this potted version instead: Booked through the club for 9 nights in early September 2015, tolerated only 8 nights, only because we had prepaid. Is it me? We arrived at dusk, was given the oddest shaped, one and only sloping pitch on a busy corner of statics, which we refused and were told to select our own, a regular shaped, flat, fenced service pitch with no objections from the lovely management. This is not the first time that we have been offered an inferior pitch when booked through the club, and it is something the club should monitor. A tour of the site in the morning found the ‘regular’ touring pitches half empty. Bad start there then. Next, when setting up (lost about one hour sorting pitches)we were bitten to death by the local mosquito population – never seen so many in my touring life! Had to rigidly monitor opening and closing of door and flyscreens, and sitting out in the awning was intolerable, day and night, even with the usual deterrents. We put this down to no ground management. I would say that the pitches had not been strimmed, bushes clipped etc. etc. since before opening. The empty touring pitches looked like scrub land and around the statics were knee high weeds, and all manner of neglected detrious, belonging to the statics. We stuck rigidly to the roads when using the toilet block, not crossing empty pitches, or using paths, to keep down the insect attacks. Good security – sorted out an incident involving a couple of French boys throwing stones at cars and empty statics very effectively, once reported. Not sure why we paid nearly 5 Euros a night for the dog (bit of a ripoff there!). Toilet Blocks, Bar, Restaurant, Shop, Pools etc. all to a good standard – toilets, but no changing facilities in the latter. Situation ok for beach/sightseeing and cycling to Valras-Plage and many amenities on site for kids/teens, hence the 5*. Due to the mozzies, only 2*from us. Not a very pleasant experience at all and we won’t be going back anytime soon.

Response from the Caravan Club:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Le Domaine de la Yole on the Caravan Club website.   We are glad to hear that you found the site to be in a good location for the beach and sightseeing and well equipped for children and teenagers.  We have contacted the site regarding the issues you have raised and have received the following response.

Response from Le Domaine de la Yole :

Dear camper,

We confirm receipt of your comment and would first of all like to thank you for raising our awareness on those issues.

We are happy to read that our reception team successfully managed to solve your initial problem, and that you also appreciated our numerous facilities and service, including our security team’s professionalism.

As far as mosquitoes are concerned, a huge mosquito attack due to various factors has prevented local regional pest control from spraying anti-mosquito pesticides. Therefore, the mosquito issue was not due to neglected ground management, but to environmental and governmental factors that were entirely out of our control. Our pitches do get trimmed and our bushes clipped during the season by our professional gardening team, even if it can prove delicate to do so while customers are occupying the pitches.

We would like to impress that pitches provided by our Tour Operators are not inferior to other pitches.  Each pitch does indeed have its own size and shape to better suit the whole variety of outfits that we welcome (caravan, motorhome, tents…) on our site. When possible in terms of availability, we always offer all our customers  - regardless if they are direct customers or not -  the possibility to choose a pitch according to their needs and preferences.

We nevertheless appreciate your contribution and are sorry to hear that you haven’t enjoyed your stay and do not intend to come back to our campsite anytime soon. We’re very committed to customer satisfaction and all your comments will be taken into account to help us improve our service.

Best regards,

Camping La Yole


Reviewed on

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer