Le Domaine de Soleil Plage

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 2 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Shocking - do not book this site

We would urge extreme caution when booking this site. We have just had a week (should have been 10 days) on a muddy, shady and very poorly maintained pitch. The C&MH club need to re inspect this site before recommending it. Camping pitches near the river are treacherous as no drainage and literally camping in mud - we had great weather but one night of heavy rain and that was all it took to turn all pitches into mud baths. Awning carpet ruined and whole experience upsetting as unable to leave pitch as road flooded. Reception rude abs extremely unhelpful - the worst site we have ever stayed on in France in 11 years of caravanning. Expensive and pool has tacky resort feel about it - lots of emphasis on the ‘club’ side of the site - towels on sun beds etc etc. We tried to get a refund for our final 3 nights but no chance despite all pitches being dangerously muddy and not suitable for purpose.

Suepersuey1

Caravanner

Reviewed on 12/09/2021 04:54

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION

We returned to this site after 6 years and, despite it being taken over by a chain company, nothing has visibly changed except Eurocamp tents have been removed and wooden lodges added at back of swimming pool complex (and introduction of entertainment team) The site is well laid out and having the choice of pool or river is a bonus. If you want to go canoeing you receive a discount for staying at the site and its 20 Euros per person (cheaper for younger children) The site is keen on recycling so you are issued with a large plastic bag to collect your rubbish in which you can then take to the bins Whilst some people did reserve sunbeds (which is inconsiderate when its busy,) at lunchtimes the staff asked everyone to go back to their sunbeds and if one was empty, they removed the towels folded them up and left them for the owners to collect - genius!! we had food from the takeaway and in the restaurant - would recommend both Would recommend this site - it's in a lovely area with lots of little villages to visit

Snooky

Caravanner from Hampshire

Reviewed on 06/09/2019 18:42

21 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

A great location and family friendly site

Large pitches separated by high hedges, pool complex is very busy with lots of towels placed on loungers, much to our amusement. Fantastic canoe from the site and picked up at the end. Great facilities for children. Overall a great site for families, in a picturesque location.

SLennard

Reviewed on 19/08/2019 19:03

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Wonderful site in an amazing area

This really is a special place. The position is quite stunning, on the banks of the river and right in the heart of the Dordogne. We are a family of 5 and stayed for 2 weeks in peak season. The site was full but never felt crowded. There are plenty of green areas which give it a real feeling of spaciousness. If you were to go in June or September however, I'm sure you'd have a wonderfully peaceful stay. All the pitches are at least 10x10m but some are huge. The Riverside pitches looked stunning but unless you go out of season, there's little chance in getting one of those. The swimming complex was very impressive with plenty of room for sunbathing. There was also an indoor pool which proved useful when the temperature suddenly dropped and the rain came. There are all kinds of activities on offer to all ages and these are virtually all free. We thought the 'entertainment team' were especially good - always very friendly, hard working and extremely good at what they did. The bar and restaurant were very pleasant with ample room, both indoors and outdoors. As for the area, where do you start? Canoeing from the site is a must for everyone staying on the site. A 3 hour meander down the river will take you past Domme, La Roque-Gageac and Castelnaud before being picked up at Beynac. There are plenty of other options too. Sarlat is only 4 miles away with the twice weekly markets a particular highlight. Please note that most roads are pretty twisty in the Dordogne but as long as you don't go to fast and use your mirrors, towing is not a problem. Would we return? Absolutely we would!

WillandSara

Caravanner from Cheshire

Reviewed on 15/08/2017 16:23

19 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Lost in France

We stayed on this site for 10 nights at end of May beginning of June as part of our tour up through France from Spain. It has to be the hardest site to find we have ever stayed on in the 20+years we have been visiting France! Their website needs to be more precise about their location as the roads are very narrow in that region. Although they claim to be signposted from the main road before entering Montfort you need to have excellent eyesight to see the signs! That said it was a good site with excellent facilities, although I wouldn't want to be there in high season. The only downside is they put Eurocamp tents amongst the touring pitches and we unfortunately experienced several days/evenings of two very noisy families who had no consideration for other people trying to enjoy their holiday.

bobbins1

Caravanner

Reviewed on 17/07/2017 17:54

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Flaming June

We booked a Riverside Pitch, lovely view, plenty of room (hardly any shade, dry dusty area, feel sorry for next guest if it rains as will be a muddy pitch). We visited during the heatwave so had days of 38 degrees, thank goodness for a lovely pool complex and the crystal clear water of the river. (please note the river when high has quite a string current. We stayed out of school holidays so the site was quite quiet although the pool area soon filled up (would not like to visit in school holidays as must be overcrowded). We did not eat in the restaurant but did try a takeaway, twice, second time not so good. Can however recommend http://pech-de-malet.pagesperso-orange.fr/index.html short walk away. The site shop was only open a few hours per day as low season, limited stock. Nearest supermarche 15 minute drive towards Sarlat, however there is a Boulangerie/Patisserie in Montfort or in Carsac you will find a well stocked Spar, Charcuterie and Patisserie. The site Wifi was overpriced and ridiculously slow, feel this should be free, especially on a premium pitch. Pool area was spotless, new toilet facilities were good but would imagine in high season that they would be very busy so you would be forced to use the older facilities. Washing up area good (no plugs in sinks) Perfect location for visiting the local towns (stunning, did not get to see them at night) Make the effort to drive to Gouffre de Padirac, fantastic cave experience, good value and stop at http://www.northofthedordogne.com/rocamadour.php on the way back. Sarlat market is worth a trip too. We did both the castle and nature canoe trips, if your going to do one it must be the castle. Yes I would visit here again but only in low season, we travelled on the Eurotunnel, I would suggest a halfway stopover at Camping Olivet (lovely site) as quite a long journey.

angiepanjie

Caravanner

Reviewed on 25/06/2017 11:28

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

A pitch by the Dordogne

We booked a pitch by the river, it was great. We would go back to this site again as do a few other caravanners we met. Washroom was good, very clean and I always got a hot shower. We did not use the restaurant as I do my own cooking. Shop seemed well stocked and the ladies in reception were very helpful.

MMCampers

Reviewed on 23/10/2016 11:10

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Excellent site for the Dordogne

We stayed here for a few days at the end of September. The site was very quiet. We were allocated an enormous pitch. Had plenty of room for caravan, awning, car and still plenty of room to spare. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The restaurant and shop were closed as it was coming to the end of their season. This was not a problem as there was a very good supermarket a few miles up the road in Sarlat, which incidentally is a lovely town. There are lots of restaurants in Sarlat, and our favourite is in Domme, again only a few miles from the site. The views from here are amazing. My only complaint about this site is the fact that the toilets do not have seats. The swimming pool area is excellent, with a choice of outdoor and indoor pools. There is even a slide. At the time of our visit there was masses of room for everyone. Most of the time there were only about half a dozen people around the pool when we were there. We would certainly go back. It is so well situated for all the main sites in the Dordogne.

Retired1

Reviewed on 12/10/2016 19:09

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Our French trip.

We stayed during September so it was a little off season and that was great for us. The pool complex was never over crowded and was lovely on the days which were hot. It is a very good pool area with heated and non heated pools. There is also a covered pool. We had a river view pitch which was large and bordered the Dordogne River. The restaurant was open and the food was average. We only ate there once. There was also a takeaway service with a varied menu. The campsite is well located near the beautiful village of Monfort and its spectacular castle. It is also convenient for the lovely medieval town of Sarlat. The cuisine in this area is great and we had many nice meals locally. Overall I recommend this campsite.

Bethan1207

Caravanner

Reviewed on 25/09/2016 10:55

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 2 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Disappointed

We visited this site as a family of 2 adults and two children, having read the reviews we expected a first class site however we were very much disappointed. The site it self is in a lovely location as other reviews state, however the touring pitches seem to vary in size, the one one we were allocated was smallest we stayed on while touring France, we may has well have parked the car in the awning! cars are parked in front of most awnings making the pitches look like car park. Nice bar with restaurant, with evening entertainment. Pool area is compact but suitable for all, always lots of loungers available. The worst part of the site is the washroom toilet facilities, for the size of the site there is just not enough showers toilets, we also found them to be constantly in a unclean state, so much so my partner used our caravan washroom they are also mixed with open urinals for men, the toilets do not have seats, Why? cleaning other peoples urine from the toilet is just so unpleasant. Would not recommend, would not visit again. 

Michael Kent

Caravanner

Reviewed on 08/08/2016 21:25

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer