Le Domaine d'Oléron

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 1 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Cindy and gavin south wales

Clean quiet site away from it all ,staff nice we hired a car as we went in a motorhome from supermarket reasonably priced ,needed car to get around island and weather not the best .

Alfie06

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 17/06/2019 12:50

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Nice site

I liked this site however the toilets are basic. Difficult site to find as some roads were closed. Access around the island when towing was tight at times. Restaurant was great and reasonable price staff are very friendly and very helpful. The beach was fantastic and not too far away. Great area for biking. I would like to return someday. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

Peter9658

Reviewed on 04/06/2019 17:00

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Good campsite.

Good campsite, helpful and friendly staff willing to give advice as to where to go, day trips etc. Small shop with very limited basic stock. Good retauarant but the menu is very much reduced in the low season which starts on 1st September. We did not need to use the communal showers as we were in a static caravan but they were clean and tidy. Could do with a small welcome pack as people who fly in are restricted by luggage weight to bring any provisions with them. So a small pack for their first night is most welcome. However we rcommend the site.

Mohamed

Caravanner from West Yorkshire

Reviewed on 13/09/2018 11:42

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 2 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Not Peaceful

We stayed on this site in high season (August) last summer and it was not peaceful. The bar was very noisy at night and the pitches so close together that we knew every single detail of the conversations around us. On the plus side our daughter loved the swimming pool and play area. The facilities were good. Unfortunately the mosquitoes were rife and despite being covered in repellent we were badly bitten. The island was not as picturesque as we were hoping for, most of it seemed to have a permanent traffic jam. The main road through the island seemed to be a mixture of industrial estate and takeaways. There were side roads but again these were busy, making them difficult to negotiate in a large vehicle. The cycle tracks around the island were good but you also needed to use the roads to get from one track to another and we found that many drivers were not considerate of small children on the road. The beaches were average and, unless you like cycling all day, there was not much else to do. We felt we had seen everything after a couple of days. We had booked and paid for a 3 week stay, but after 5 days we decided to cut our losses and go back to our previous site in the Dordogne. We are normally very positive about the Caravan Club sites and maybe some of the other wonderful locations and sites we have been to have spoilt us, but we felt that we had been mislead with the description of this particular site and the island. A couple of the neighbours that we spoke to had similar views. If you are wanting to experience 'real' France we would not reccomended this site or location.

splatipus

Caravanner

Reviewed on 30/12/2017 21:36

10 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Friendly Site

A very welcoming site that also hosts Eurocamp and Homair chalets. Receptionist provided all the information and leaflets we needed and helped us choose the pitch we wanted. Staff in restaurant very friendly - good basic food options (amazingly tasty chips!). Bar/restaurant area lacked a bit of atmosphere. Toilets lacked toilet seats and toilet paper (does the site assume its clientele don't bother with such luxuries at home?). Apart from that though, good site in a very nice location (bring your bicycle!)

markjane123

Reviewed on 17/09/2017 20:49

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Nice - great for families

Stayed in July. Island well set up for cyclists. Easy to find. Another site next door and one more opposite. Friendly check-in, clearly very busy. Reception includes book swap. Was pitched initially a bit close to others and felt sandwiched in with no privacy. They did move us which was much better, more open. Unisex shower block and individual toilet cubicles set around the outside of the building, all very clean. Explored the island, lovely cafés/restaurant near local beach tootled all over the island. Nice to see but just not for us. Great for families. Pool, bar/restaurant and safe.

Reviewed on 16/08/2017 21:13

4 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Peace and quiet

We were here in May and found the site just what we wanted. Finding the site was very easy and access to the site and on site was very good. Although we were here in a very busy weekend with lots of families, it was really quiet. The facilites were very good and the bar just right! We would recommend this site without reservation.

meeander

Reviewed on 31/07/2017 21:37

13 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

June 2017

We stayed here for 8 nights this month. Lady in charge Anniki, spoke English & was very helpful and obliging. Even walking us round the campsite to chose a pitch. All the facilities where nice and clean. Beach about 2 miles away. Lots of cycle paths, the site also hired bikes. Would stay here again 🤗

kazer

Caravanner

Reviewed on 28/06/2017 09:56

12 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Fantastic site

Really lovely site. Very friendly & helpful staff. Large pitches & lovely pool area. The site has a very 'rustic' feel to it & would highly recommend. Lovely area of France & excellent for cycling.

RabnPats

Reviewed on 29/01/2017 20:55

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

One of our favourite sites

Wonderful laid back site where all the staff are very friendly and helpful. Really hesitate to recommend in case it becomes too popular!!!!!! It is on an island which is one of the most welcoming and beautiful spots you could imagine where life goes back about 20 years. This year was our 3rd visit but won't be the last by any means.

PhilAston

Caravanner from Shropshire

Reviewed on 28/09/2016 20:31

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer