Le Moulin Fort

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Good in parts

Perfect location on the Cher and easy to get to. Great cycling along the river banks, and Chenonceau was walkable and easily cyclable. Amboise lovely. Hot air balloons at dawn and dusk made a magnificent sight. A big site, seemingly very popular for some who were there for several weeks and who stored their vans there. Pitch allocation a little haphazard and our chosen pitch was taken by the time we returned to the office, even though we had parked on it. Some of the pitches were bare of grass - even by mid-June. There is no differentiation between pitches other than off the roadway - you make your own space. For us, the other issue of pitches was that all the riverside pitches were taken (some are pre-booked up to five years in advance we were told later) but these form a kind of barrier between the rest of the site and the river. It was possible to walk through the pitches to reach the riverside, but it felt like intrusion. Shower blocks were pretty basic, and were not well treated by the mixed caravan, motorhome and camping fraternity. Morning fresh bread was excellent and much appreciated. Bar somewhat pricey for drinks. We didn't eat there. Small number of essential food etc supplies also sold. Book exchange a great idea. Staff very friendly and helpful. We didn't use the pool. WiFi worried me as there was a pop-up interception (probably by cookie drop) in French warning me that my machine was unsafe etc etc. I pointed this out to the owner but he didn't seem overly concerned. Since I had only connected with the wifi log-on and a couple of UK sites, it was clear where the pop-up had emanated from. I couldn't tell whether it offered a malware link or whatever as I didn't have time and only used it for one day. However, the log-in page for the wifi use populated every one of my open browser windows. ;-) It probably needs a safety/usage review. Overall, probably not the ideal site for us (but it was for others) and we probably won't return there.

davidguyh

Caravanner

Reviewed on 16/07/2017 10:45

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Lovely place,but not perfect......

Lovely situation, owners very friendly, site very clean and well-kept. Laid out nicely. However, the location might not be ideal if you have small children, due to the river. Also, the pool has no easy access down by steps, and I couldn't cope with the ladder due to my knees. Extricating someone in difficulty could maybe be a challenge too. Overall, a great place though, and we are likely to return.

AndyWF

Caravanner

Reviewed on 12/10/2016 17:11

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Good location but safety concerns ignored by owner.

Stayed for one night en-route to the south. Good location next to river with pool and snack bar. However a safety concern reported to the owner has been ignored despite leaving full contact details. I was using the female showers late one evening when all the lights went out leaving me in total darkness. I managed to find my towel and got out of the cubicle but then slipped very badly on the wet floor wrenching my back in the pitch black. Having had previous spinal surgeries this could have resulted in a serious injury let alone a potential head injury (There are also 'baby changing' facilities in there) Luckily another lady came in and turned the lights back on. Either the lights are on a timer or are able to be switched off by other campers who may not be aware that others are still there - quite dangerous. Other sites we have visited have low level lighting on overnight which helps guide you to the main switches. I tried to report this the next morning but was told the owner was unavailable so I left it all in writing for him. Haven't heard anything as of yet. Very disappointing that with so many sites to chose from and so much competition the owner seems to care so little.

Adventure16

Caravanner

Reviewed on 27/09/2016 21:07

5 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 2 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Impossible to sleep, owner not interested

We stayed here one night only on our way home from the south, thank goodness. On the plus side it's easier to find than you would think from the (lack of) directions, flat and moderately spacious. Pool is nice and there's a big bar area and enough washroom faciliites. However, we were woken by extremely loud rock music just before midnight which continued til after 5am, just what we didn't need as we were only stopping off for a rest to break the journey. The owner explained that this was due to a music festival nearby and didn't feel it appropriate for us to have been warned. He simply wasn't interested in an apology, much less refunding our fee, I found him dismissive and unpleasant and he even laughed when I suggested I would leave a negative review. Wouldn't stay here again!

14 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Terrific Location

The site is alongside the River Cher in the middle of the Loire Chateau Region. Culture vultures will be spoilt for choice with so many wonderful chateaux to visit. The only downside is that rivers don’t always stay where they are supposed to! The Cher burst its banks in June 2016 and it’s great credit to the staff that the site is functioning so well. The pitches are grass and the arrangement is somewhat haphazard. There doesn’t seem to be any delineation between adjacent pitches, so it’s difficult to see where one pitch ends and the next one begins. The electricity points seem to be on a first come first served basis.  The facilities have been completely refurbished to a good standard. We didn’t use the restaurant but the menu looked very good. People from an adjacent pitch said the food was excellent. The only problem was the electricity supply. The whole site plunged into darkness several times, the last time for an hour. It seems that there is a problem in the locality, because the owner informed us that the "whole village was blacked out.” Whether this is a temporary blip or something more permanent remains to be seen. All in all, well worth a visit if you want to see some of the finest chateaux in France and to sample the local Touraine wine.

bainespaul

Motorhomer from West Sussex

Reviewed on 21/09/2016 15:35

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Lovely site

We stayed here for one night on our way south, but we wished we had stayed longer. It is a lovely site, tourers only which gives a very different atmosphere from sites with statics. The toilet blocks were OK, nothing special, but very clean. The site alongside the river is special. We were allocated a pitch which was large, not overlooking the river, but those pitches seemed really quite small and crammed in. The staff were really helpful the bar was very nice, but didn't get a chance to try the food. We were there on one of the hottest days of the year at 36 degrees, but there was plenty of shade and the sound of the millrace was cooling. We will definitely be back for a longer stay next time.

anne1954

Reviewed on 18/09/2016 15:17

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Superb Break

We had 5 nights here from the 26th July - an absolute perfect setting, with a river bank pitch allocated.  The sanitary blocks are perfectly functional, always clean, although never really worked out what the cleaning times were, must have been done without inconvience to campers!  The power supply at just 6amps means careful planning, however once tripped was promptly reset without complaint despite it being a busy evening at the bar! There was a small structured charge for use of the wifi in the bar and terrace, when compared with other sites it was an acceptable charge for a functional service. We enjoyed our stay and are already planning a return for an extended period. Well done to all here!

sorentotugger

Caravanner from Kent

Reviewed on 29/08/2016 21:06

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great location and well run site

Stayed here for four nights in August with a 7.2m motorhome. We were able to move pitch to get two nights by the river - absolutely lovely in spite of a few midges. Reception was excellent and quick. Our pitches were large and gave maximum options for positioning for sun/shade but I agree some pitches did seem smaller (but people can ask to move and most people seemed to have an option especially if they arrived early). All pitches were pretty close to a water supply.  

Toilets/showers were clean (not the most modern, agree) and surprisingly never busy. I liked the fact that the camp site wasn't overly lit at night - as a consequence it was a great spot to star gaze. I would suggest adding more recycling and rubbish points as it's a long walk to the single facility.

Wifi was reasonably priced but only available in the reception area. Swimming pool, while small was good and clean and surprisingly not busy during some very hot days. Didn't try the food but the bar was a pleasant place to meet people and there were lots of books, games etc. to borrow. Great position for walking, cycling, chateau visiting, river swimming, canoeing as everyone has said and the staff team very willing to give advice and help with arrangements. Small supermarkets cycling distance but we needed to go with the motorhome to get more choice.

When I booked through CC I don't think a riverside pitch option was available - you seem to be able to get this only if you book direct.

It's one of the best Loire sites we've tried and I think we'll be regular visitors.

HettyBuse

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 28/08/2016 15:56

6 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Le Moulin Fort

Great site on the bank of the river Cher. Lovely area to explore with options of cycling ,walking or boating. It was hot during our stay and the pool was very welcoming but possibly a bit worrying for anyone less confident in the water as it is 2 meters deep all around with just one ladder. There is however a smaller pool for paddling in.

BarneyMcGrew

Reviewed on 24/08/2016 22:25

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Good river site location.

Good location and facilities, although as mentioned in other reviews the pitches are not well defined. Toilets although clean could do with a revamp, and better lights at night. Great location for fishing, boating, swimming, castles cycling, walking and wine! Would definitely go back.

The Melsom

Reviewed on 24/08/2016 17:53

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer