Du Poulquer

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great for family holiday

Clean tidy family run site within easy walking distance of beautiful seaside town and beach. Facilities good, swimming pool good. Pitches on smaller side but manageable - longer caravans will need some manoevering by hand or ideally motor mover. Owner speaks good English. Wifi only in bar area but owner very willing for people to use whether buying from the bar or not. Stayed last 2 weeks in August and site quite quiet. Would thoroughly recommend.

NSEJP

Reviewed on 01/09/2015 12:15

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Excellently located campsite in Benodet

We spent 9 nights here in August 2015, as the last leg of a 3 1/2 week holiday in France. The main advantage of this site is that: (a) it is a few minutes walk from the fantastic main beach in the town of Benodet; (b) it is a few minutes walk into Benodet, which is a very pleasant French holiday resort. There are Brits about, but it is very much mainly a French resort, and all the better for it! The site itself does not have children's activities organised as did the other 2 sites we visited but as others have said the pools were excellent, and really, it is a site for going down to the beaches in the area and exploring this beautiful part of Brittany rather than just staying on site for kid's club, competitions etc. In some ways it had more of a communal friendly atmosphere on site compared to the large Castel sites and we found holidaymakers more likely to enter into friendly conversation, much like on a CC site at home.  As for the toilets and showers: yes, you need your own loo roll and soap, but frankly it didn't matter, because that disadvantage was offset by the plentiful number of toilets and showers, meaning that there was no waiting at any time of the day. They were always found to be clean. The guests on site even flushed the loos and used toilet brushes, which regrettably seems to be a lost art at some places we have stayed. The little shop on site ('alimentation') was so anonymous that we didn't even realise it was there until day 4! You would reserve your croissants and pain au chocolat the day before. Good value and very convenient.  The crepe van was very good value and the van's lively proprietaire was a lot of fun to talk to in a mix of broken english and french.  A reasonable bar that could perhaps have been a little more user friendly (tables stacked up restricting view of TV screen) but reasonably fast internet access. The Glenan islands were a great visit (in good weather) and it was well worth going to the other side of the bay to Saint Marine. The historic city of Quimper is a short drive away.  If you have ever tried geocaching, this is a really excellent part of the world for it, with many caches available.  Overall, this distinctly French but anglo-friendly site is well worth a visit and has some guests coming back year after year. We will probably join them. It is good value and will offer a good contrast to those of you visiting la Garangeoire or similar on a different leg of a holiday.

heatonfan

Caravanner from Cheshire

Reviewed on 31/08/2015 23:26

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great site and location

This was our third visit to the site and many families return year after year. The owners run the site very efficiently and nothing seems too much for them, exceptionally friendly and helpful. If you do return and have a preferred pitch they will do all they can to allocate it to you. The site has all the facilities you need, a nice bar, small shop which as you would expect sells fresh bread and good very clean toilets and showers. The two pools, one indoors are exceptionally well maintained. Pitches vary a little in size but even the largest caravans can be accommodated. Benodet is a very family orientated resort and a good centre for exploring Brittany. The local market on Mondays is worth a visit but get there early. Plenty of places to eat at reasonable prices both in town and further afield. If you like sea food it doesn't get much better than coastal Brittany. This is a great family site in a great resort. Back next year.

PierreRoulement

Reviewed on 31/08/2015 16:09

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Beautiful Benodet

Fantastic location just a short walk from Benodet's excellent beach and the restaurants in the town.  Lovely swimming pools.  Pitches quite small.  Site facilities clean but basic - no loo rolls in the loos! Disabled access not brilliant.

Al and Gerry Smith

Reviewed on 26/07/2015 09:21

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Great Location

This site is ideally situated at the end of the promenade in Benodet - less than 500 metres from the lovely sandy beaches and bars, restaurants, shops. The site itself is very well kept and thee are plenty of showers and toilets which are very clean. Be warned however, that there is no loo roll or soap provided so take your own! The bar was excellent with very friendly barman and reasonable prices. There are two pools, one indoors and one outdoors which were meticulously clean. Didn't try the snack bar or the mobile creperie in the car park, but this looked to be very popular with other campers. Highly recommended

Roblyn

Motorhomer from South Yorkshire

Reviewed on 22/07/2015 12:05

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

First visit to France

Loved the site on our first visit to France. We arrived the last week of June. It was very quiet the bar was open but the snack bar and shop was not. Every thing seemed to start on the 1st of July. The shop and the snack bar opened and family's started to arrive. All in all a very nice site and resort and will differently return.

kevNsue

Caravanner from Leicestershire

Reviewed on 13/07/2015 21:06

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Looking to book again

This site is in an excellent location close to beach, cafes, restaurants and town centre. Steffan who runs the site and does absolutely everything and is friendly and attentive and nothing appears to be too much trouble. Facilities are good but some open quite late in the season as the bar didn't open till the last couple of days in June and we left the 31st June and the snack bar never opened. The pitches are average size with shaded and sunny ones available. The electric is supposed to be 10amp but we along with others found that it tripped out quite often. It is peaceful and the ambience was superb with the indoor and outdoor pool being very pleasant. We are hoping to return in September.

The Returners

Reviewed on 08/07/2015 19:12

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Lovely site, location and helpful staff

Beautiful site. Pitches well spaced. Good facilities. Nice pool - where we joined a group of other 60+ year olds playing on the slides! Well there were no other children on site in June. Very near the beach of the beautiful town of Benodet. We watched the start of a kayak 'race' up the river Odet to Quimper - fantastic. Lots of bars and restaurants in Benodet. Good for cycling, swimming, walking and sight-seeing. Definitely recommend Quimper.

Sarian

Reviewed on 02/07/2015 10:16

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Delighted we booked it !

We (2 adults) stayed for a week in early June and were delighted with our stay. The welcome and management work hard to help guests, as well as maintain good standards on the site. The new indoor pool was fab. :-) . The bar was not open as it was not the high season, but the town had plenty to offer. The beach was minutes away and excellent for sports/swimming. We will be delighted to return.  Enjoy!

Gadgie 1

Caravanner

Reviewed on 23/06/2015 23:18

22 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

First holiday in Brittany

Our first time in Brittany and this site and location were ideal. The weather was brilliant so that helped. Benodet is an attractive town but there were few places to have a snack, only restaurants offering full meals. We would go back to this site.

stug200

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 22/06/2015 14:11

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer