River Valley Caravan Holiday Park

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Rural- lots to do; tight spaces/roads in parts

Not the easiest to find a pitch in with so many people on the narrow paths/turns and not much direction from reception - essentially ‘go….look’ Adult only area is better served with service aire and layout. Could be cleaner. Needs more water access points - the hose at reception was inaccessible due to car parking and the end of it was in the grating. Reception staff said there was no motorhome aire - and to drain grey water in a regular grating near the toilets. There is an aire in the adult only secret garden area. That said - lots to do on site.

Holihops

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 24/07/2021 19:16

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Secret Garden TV signal

I have just returned from River Valley and agree with most of the reviews, but if you need to have TV for a favourite event that you can't bear to miss, be warned! The top terrace in the Secret Garden is a great area but do not use the pitches next to the hedge. The grass between the concrete slabs is very poorly drained, terrestrial TV signal is blocked by a building and satellite signal is blocked by the forty foot high hedge! You can get a satellite signal on the pitches on the side of the road opposite the ones next to the hedge. That apart, a great site!

Wyenot

Caravanner from Powys

Reviewed on 22/04/2019 12:37

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

A great site with something for everyone, but you do need to drive if you want to explore the area

Our first site in Ireland, and we spent a very pleasant two nights there. We selected an all-service pitch in the adults’ section (The Secret Garden), however the site was also really well set up for families, with lots of activities, mini train rides, foot golf etc - our kids would have loved it there when they were little. It was buzzing with activity when we were there, yet still peaceful in the adults’ area. Showers were €1, and the WiFi was good in the vicinity of the Reception office. Mickey Finn’s pub at the site entrance was very popular, and families tended to enjoy the bar areas. The bistro part of the pub was beautiful, as was the food that they served. The weather was extremely variable - it included sun, rain, wind and hail all in the space of one day! Our only disappointment was that there was no chance of a daytrip to Dublin without having to drive. The site is in quite a remote location and we had hoped we would be able to walk or cycle to catch a bus or train, but this was not the case. Reception told us that a taxi was not really viable either, so we ended up abandoning that plan. Of course none of this was the fault of the site - we just didn’t do our homework properly when we booked - but it’s worth knowing if you are a motorhomer that prefers to set up on site and then walk/cycle while you’re there.

KateD

Reviewed on 17/08/2018 10:53

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

A bit too quiet

Stayed here wife and I in June 2018 in our caravan in the adults only "secret garden" we had a choice of level and reasonably spacious hard standings. The facility block is large but lacks private washing cubicles and the hot water took ages to arrive. Mid-week in term time the site was quite dead. We would not be drawn to return.

MartinPauc

Reviewed on 05/08/2018 09:57

13 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

First trip to Ireland

We went to Ireland the first 2 weeks of August. Both ferry ports Pembroke & Rosslare were friendly, professional & efficient. Irish ferries was a pleasant experience. The camp site was good & clean. The pitch we had was very spacious. The road network was very accessible from the site, however in places the roads are not overly wide off the main road heading to the site. The area is beautiful but not cycle friendly with lots of hills etc. Within the village there are two pubs, one of which sold food & was reasonable, there was also a takeaway & a local store. We caught the train to Dublin on two occasions which was painless. A relatively short drive to Greystones then a direct line straight in to Dublin on a coastal line. The Guinness factory is well worth a visit. There was some nice local attractions including a clean sandy beach, Wicklow historic gaol, Wells House & Greenan Maze. We booked everything through the Caravan Club the service was first class & cost effective, which made going abroad an affordable option.

4GunnCampers

Caravanner from Cornwall

Reviewed on 10/09/2017 18:42

15 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

A good Irish site

We have stayed at this site 4 times now and despite the weather it remains one of the best. This time was a little 'end of season' so even quieter than usual although most of the facilities were available. It is a shame Irish sites close so early in the year as many of us would continue to use them.

RNelson

Caravanner from Staffordshire

Reviewed on 19/09/2016 15:54

4 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Adult only section

We stayed on the adult only serviced pitches part of the site and enjoyed the peace and quiet away from the hustle and bustle of the main section. We ate at Micky Finn twice. The food and service was very good. The take away was also useful. it is a lovely area with lots to see and do. For families the site has lots of children's activities.

jessica3

Reviewed on 29/08/2016 20:45

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Superb site in a beautiful location

Stayed on the adults only section "The Secret Garden" and it was excellent. Pitches were well laid out, a good size and fully serviced.  There were  plenty of facilities on site, and a shop and pub right by the entrance.  As for the surrounding area it was truly stunning, great scenery and loads to do.

SteveAndDawnW

Caravanner from Shropshire

Reviewed on 12/08/2016 16:57

6 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

July Holiday

We stayed here for a 2 night stay mid week, in the Secret Garden. Facilities are excellent and its very peaceful. We then stayed again for 1 night, over the Bank Holiday and again the Secret Garden lived up to its name. Lovely walk around Flannagans Walk within the park. Local shop is a bit limited but has the essentials. Would be good to have free wifi everywhere on the park as its only available at the shop and that area gets very busy as its at the main gate and reception.

BobRuth

Reviewed on 09/08/2016 15:41

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

My one night ar River Valley

Although I was only there for 1 night, I found the facilities to be excellent. Although it is well suited for families with children, there is also a peaceful location too.

Caravanner1

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 28/07/2016 14:03

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer