Sanssouci zu Potsdam

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Our Germany stay

This was one of our Germany stays on our euro trip and was a great site. The small beach area was great and our son loved swimming in the lake. You can hire bikes boats and go carts and our son loved hiring a go cart on our return to base from site seeing. We used the shuttle a few times and can’t fault it but we also chose to walk it to the station and back a few times and was a lovely walk. We visited Berlin,Potsdam and the Luftwaffe museum which was our main reason for choosing this site. We spent 5 nights here and could have easily spent longer. The pitches are well sized and are semi serviced there is a tap on each pitch and a drain which you may need a pipe for (we did) which they sell in the shop. Without the pipe you need to use the disposal unit which is high up. There is a pot wash room laundry facilities and good clean toilets with toilet roll. We treated ourselves and used the on site restaurant which although not cheap was good food and portions size so I didn’t feel like I was being ripped off. The pitches are tight to get on and a motor mover is very very very very advantageous and we don’t have one. All the other campers came to our assistance without asking and pushed our van in and out again thank you. You can book your travel tickets in the reception and they will help you do this if you are going to go out and site see All in all excellent
Caravanner

Reviewed on

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Brilliant staff and excellent location

If it wasn't for the weather which was cold and occasionally snowy we would have extended our stay here as the location was brilliant being within easy transfer to Berlin but also Potsdam and the surrounding area is excellent for a main holiday let alone a 3 night stay like us. The facilities were clean and althuogh one of the other reviews talk about building works in the sanitary building it did not take away anything from the cleanliness of the place. The owner and staff were brilliant and really helpful and were interested in what we had done and helped with buying the train tickets to Berlin. Wifi was a bit patchy but it was free and not bad for a campsite. I'd definitely stay here again.

Reviewed on

4 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Late Autumn visit - 8 nights in October

Margaret and I, (70 yrs) checked in on 12 October, The weather was damp and cold for a couple of days, but the facilities were excellent - well heated with plenty of hot water. The on-site Restaurant was good and the staff, there and at Reception were very helpful and most spoke good English. The shuttle bus to the tram station worked well. We can only guess what a summer visit would be like, but feel sure it would be very good.

Motorhomer

Reviewed on

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Nice site

We enjoyed this site. It is located by a lake and we found getting to Berlin was easy. The facilities were very good and the staff in reception were very helpful. The only downside was the Wi-Fi only appeared to work at reception.

Reviewed on

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Pretty Site

The site is beautifully located with great bike rides around the lake and beyond. It is convenient for visiting Potsdam which is a lovely city but not what I would describe as perfect for visiting Berlin as it takes a walk or transfer, a tram and then a train ride. Also disappointed that there was no indoor swimming pool despite the brochure's claim and if there was a fitness centre I didn't spot it. Only a room where massage was offered. There is a small but decent shop and pleasant bar and restaurant.
Motorhomer

Reviewed on

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Ideal for Potsdam & Berlin

Having read several (mostly negative) reviews I wonder whether these people stayed at the same campsite as we did. European sites are very different from those at home! We stayed at Sanssouci between 3rd and 10th July and enjoyed 8 nights for the cost of 6 after which 'high season' prices came into force. It is a waterside campsite, but with easy access to Potsdam and Berlin. In July it would be unreasonable to expect a tranquil environment anywhere in Europe. We were shown to a very nice pitch overlooking (but not actually on) the lakeside. We did not eat in the restaurant as we were turned away on the Saturday evening at 20.45 even though we were told they would still take orders until 21.00. However it was extremely busy and seemed quite expensive for what was on offer. To our surprise WiFi was free but you had to request a code from reception. When we first arrived it lasted for 24 hours but as the site filled up the duration dropped to 3 hours but you could always go and ask for another one. The facilities were adequately clean and there was plenty of hot water. There was evidence of 'a work in progress' in the toilet block due, I think, to a collapsed ceiling but this did not cause a problem. The free shuttle service was excellent and a phone call to the provided number (after 17.30) brought the mini-bus to the station in a few minutes. I don't know that we will ever visit Potsdam/Berlin area again but if that is what you want to do then this is an ideal campsite to use as a base.
Motorhomer

Reviewed on

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Enjoyable visit

Site is in a wonderful location and has easy access to Potsdam and Berlin which are both worth visiting.  Lovely view of the lake.  Pitches are close together and are sandy, we were lucky enough to have a view of the lake.  Toilet facilities clean.  Staff helpful and friendly especially driving you to get tram into Potsdam.  Restaurant and bar fine with nice view of the lake.  Would use this site again if visiting Berlin 

Reviewed on

19 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 2 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Can't recommend in spite of some good points

We stayed here in order to visit Berlin and Potsdam. The reception staff were friendly and helpful, English spoken. There is a free taxi service to and from the tramstop; from there you can take the tram to Potsdam and visit Sanssouci Park or change for trains to Berlin. We found it took about 1 hour altogether from site to Berlin Hbf. The on site restaurant was fairly good if a bit formula foodwise. Sorry, but that’s all the good news.  If only the rest of the site matched the above! We found it all very chaotic, higgledy piggledy  and crowded. Pitches are allocated on arrival. We had booked via the Club, for what was described as a “Special Pitch”. Huh. Would hate to have been elsewhere then. Having to pitch on mud/sand in what looked a bit like a refugee camp doesn’t seem very special. Some of the waste water connections in our pitch area were unusable, blocked with sand. There seemed to be a cycle way right through the site, with continual passing traffic. We also thought that non-campers were accessing the site in order to use the lakeside bathing/boating, often using cars. Security – not a lot of this here we thought. The site gates only seemed to be closed at night. The toilet/shower blocks seemed to be in a state of “work in progress”, possibly they’d been like that for some time. There was a lot of evidence of rising damp in what seemed to be a relatively new building. We used our own shower facilities, ‘nuff said. There were on site maps and direction signs for various facilities, but we found some info therein completely misleading. The chemical toilet disposal point (there was only one actually useable) took quite some finding. The access road from Pirschheide to the site was heavily congested with parked cars most of the time, this made getting a van in and out really difficult. Even the free taxi had problems. Not long after first arriving at the site we overheard an English voice declaring “..this is terrible..”. Yes, we thought so too, and would have left there and then had we not paid upfront and got an itinery to follow. Can’t recommend this place, though it does have its good points. 

Response from the Caravan Club 

Thank you for leaving your review on our website, it’s great that you found the reception staff friendly and helpful and that the public transport from the site was efficient.

We are sorry that other aspects of the site did not meet your expectations and detracted from your enjoyment of your holiday.  We work in partnership with all of our overseas sites and have them inspected every year, however as we don’t own any overseas sites we cannot manage all aspect of their workings.   It’s always a good idea to speak to site staff at the time or alternatively to call us in the UK and we will always be happy to intervene.

21 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer