Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 2 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5


Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Can't recommend in spite of some good points

We stayed here in order to visit Berlin and Potsdam. The reception staff were friendly and helpful, English spoken. There is a free taxi service to and from the tramstop; from there you can take the tram to Potsdam and visit Sanssouci Park or change for trains to Berlin. We found it took about 1 hour altogether from site to Berlin Hbf. The on site restaurant was fairly good if a bit formula foodwise. Sorry, but that’s all the good news.  If only the rest of the site matched the above! We found it all very chaotic, higgledy piggledy  and crowded. Pitches are allocated on arrival. We had booked via the Club, for what was described as a “Special Pitch”. Huh. Would hate to have been elsewhere then. Having to pitch on mud/sand in what looked a bit like a refugee camp doesn’t seem very special. Some of the waste water connections in our pitch area were unusable, blocked with sand. There seemed to be a cycle way right through the site, with continual passing traffic. We also thought that non-campers were accessing the site in order to use the lakeside bathing/boating, often using cars. Security – not a lot of this here we thought. The site gates only seemed to be closed at night. The toilet/shower blocks seemed to be in a state of “work in progress”, possibly they’d been like that for some time. There was a lot of evidence of rising damp in what seemed to be a relatively new building. We used our own shower facilities, ‘nuff said. There were on site maps and direction signs for various facilities, but we found some info therein completely misleading. The chemical toilet disposal point (there was only one actually useable) took quite some finding. The access road from Pirschheide to the site was heavily congested with parked cars most of the time, this made getting a van in and out really difficult. Even the free taxi had problems. Not long after first arriving at the site we overheard an English voice declaring “..this is terrible..”. Yes, we thought so too, and would have left there and then had we not paid upfront and got an itinery to follow. Can’t recommend this place, though it does have its good points. 

Response from the Caravan Club 

Thank you for leaving your review on our website, it’s great that you found the reception staff friendly and helpful and that the public transport from the site was efficient.

We are sorry that other aspects of the site did not meet your expectations and detracted from your enjoyment of your holiday.  We work in partnership with all of our overseas sites and have them inspected every year, however as we don’t own any overseas sites we cannot manage all aspect of their workings.   It’s always a good idea to speak to site staff at the time or alternatively to call us in the UK and we will always be happy to intervene.

23 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer