Caravan Design and Lightweight Leisure Award winners


Find out who won best in show at the Caravan Design and Lightweight Leisure awards 2018

The results of the twenty third Caravan and Motorhome Club Caravan Design Awards and the sixteenth Lightweight Leisure Trailer Awards were announced at the NEC on Friday 20 October 2017. The awards were presented by Club Chairman, Grenville Chamberlain, and Club Director General, Nick Lomas.

Judging took place during the Motorhome and Caravan Show at the NEC in October. 75 vehicles were submitted for the Caravan Design Awards and 33 for the Lightweight Leisure Trailer Awards. The purpose of the Awards is to provide guidance for Club members who are looking to change their current caravan or trailer tent. The Club’s Award results are always eagerly anticipated for this very reason. The Caravan Design and Lightweight Leisure Awards offer fair, independent and objective assessments of the vehicles submitted for scrutiny. All caravan and lightweight trailer manufacturers, importers and dealers are invited to submit entries.

The panel of independent Judges for the Caravan Design Awards follow rigorous scoring checklists. Judges assess everything from sitting comfort, standing headroom, kitchen design, storage, switches, wiring, security, repair and warranty arrangements to general safety.

Similarly, Judges for the Lightweight Leisure Trailer Awards assess everything from weights and measures to Thermal Insulation Grade and recommended tyre pressures. Further scrutiny awarded merit for build quality, setting up on site, together with sleeping and living accommodation.

Grenville Chamberlain, Chairman of the Caravan and Motorhome Club, who announced the results commented, “The Club extends its congratulations to all the worthy winners, and thanks to the industry for their continued support of these competitions. The information gathered in this competition enables people to make informed choices regarding their choice of leisure vehicle.”

Caravan Design Awards winners

Any Pop Top Caravan
Winner Eriba Touring Triton 430 60 Edition
2nd Eriba Touring Troll 542 60 Edition
3rd Hymer Feeling 442

Any Caravan under £17,000
Winner Bailey Pursuit 430-4
2nd Swift Sprite Alpine 2
3rd Adria Altea 552UP Trent

Any Caravan £17,000 - £20,000
Winner Compass Casita 462
2nd Xplore 554
3rd Knaus Sport & Fun

Any Caravan £20,000 - £23,000
Winner Elddis Affinity 462
2nd Compass Capiro 554
3rd Bailey Pegasus GT70 Palermo

Any Caravan £23,000 - £28,000
Winner Knaus StarClass 480
2nd Compass Casita 860
3rd Tabbert PEP 540

Any Caravan £28,000 - £34,000
Winner Knaus StarClass 550
2nd Buccaneer Commodore
3rd Coachman VIP 675

Any Caravan over £34,000
Winner Knaus StarClass 695
2nd Airstream Colorado
3rd Alaria TR

Any Small Family Caravan
Winner Compass Capiro 554
2nd Bailey Pursuit 430-4
3rd Buccaneer Commodore

Any Large Family Caravan
Winner Knaus StarClass 550
2nd Bailey Pegasus GT70 Palermo
3rd Coachman Vision 630

Any Two Berth Caravan
Winner Knaus StarClass 480
2nd Compass Casita 462
3rd Swift Conqueror 480

Any Caravan with Dedicated Bed(s)
Winner Knaus StarClass 695
2nd Compass Casita 860
3rd Buccaneer Commodore

Two Berth Dealer Special Caravan
Winner Couplands Caravans Bessacarr By Design 495
2nd Robinsons Caravans Lunar Ultima 462
3rd Glossop Caravans Elddis Chatsworth 462

Three-Four Berth Dealer Special Caravan
Winner Couplands Caravans Bessacarr by Design 525
2nd Glossop Caravans Elddis Chatsworth 860
3rd Glossop Caravans Swift Celebration 580

Over Four Berth Dealer Special Caravan
Winner Glossop Caravans Elddis Chatsworth 840
2nd Glossop Caravans Swift Celebrate QDD
3rd Kimberley Caravans and Motorhomes Kimberley Vision 580
3rd Raymond James Elddis Osprey 866

Lightweight Leisure Awards Winners

Pop Tops under 1100kg with Washroom
Winner Eriba Touring Familia 320
2nd Silver Trend 380 TDE
3rd Silver Trend 420 DD

Caravans 750kg and under without Washroom
Winner T@B 320 RS
2nd Going Go-Pod Standard
3rd Freedom Sunseeker Classic

Caravans 750kg and under with Washroom
Winner Freedom Jetstream Twin Phoenix
2nd Knaus Travelino
3rd Freedom Jetstream First Class

Caravans 750kg - 1100kg
Winner Lunar Ariva
2nd Bailey Pursuit 400-2
3rd Xplore 422

Trailer Tents without Kitchen under £6,000
Winner Campmaster Air 1000 L
2nd Campmaster Air 600 L
3rd Trigano Trekky 500S

Trailer Tents with Kitchen under £6,000
Winner Raclet Safari GL
2nd Raclet Quickstop SE

Trailer Tents with Kitchen over £6,000
Winner Camp-Let Premium
2nd Camp-Let Classic
3rd Camp-Let 2Go

Folding Campers
Winner Pennine Pathfinder
2nd Pennine Fiesta
3rd Conway Countryman

Judges for Caravan Design Awards

Andrew Ditton – Journalist
Nick Haynes – Events Committee, Caravan and Motorhome Club
Gary Martin – Editor, Caravan and Motorhome Club Magazine
Alison Owen – Journalist
Martin Spencer – Technical Manager, Caravan and Motorhome Club
Mark Sutcliffe – Journalist
Judges for Lightweight Leisure Trailer Awards
John Gass – Events Committee, Caravan and Motorhome Club
Barrie Livesey – Caravan and Motorhome Club
Dave Rickard – Caravan and Motorhome Club
Nigel Whitehouse – Technical Advisor, Caravan and Motorhome Club

Press Enquiries:
Nikki Nichol
External Communications & Sponsorship Manager
07771 834443/01342 336797

Press team contacts

Contact our press team - they're happy to help with any media enquiries.

Nikki Nichol
External Comms & Sponsorship Manager

01342 336 797
07771 834 443

For press information and imagery, please contact Sophie Barnes, Zoe Poulton or Helen Coop at Four Travel:

0203 697 4200 

For general enquiries, please contact us on: