Motor Caravan Design Awards 2015 at the NEC


The results of the sixteenth Caravan Club Motor Caravan Design Awards were announced at the NEC on Friday 20 February 2015.

Judging took place during the Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show at the NEC in February. 93 vehicles were submitted for the Motor Caravan Design Awards – a record number of entries.

The Club made fundamental enhancements to the Competition for 2015. All Club competitions are continually reviewed to ensure they are meeting the needs of the consumer and Club members.

The aim of the Competition is to provide the best quality, and quantity, of information to members and buyers. Vehicles were assessed by an independent panel of judges who assessed criteria including electrics and safety, comfort, kitchen/washrooms, air conditioning, heating and ventilation systems, technical aspects and stowage. Although the judges did not drive the vehicles, the scoring of the vehicles still evaluated driving elements such as seating positions, handbrake positions, visibility, safety whilst travelling in habitation area, front seat comfort and driver ergonomics.

Also new for 2015 was the introduction of Dealer Special categories. The definition of a dealer special is that the motor caravan must be badged and named differently to the manufacturer’s model. These models are only available to purchase new through the dealer, or network of dealers, and are not available from the manufacturer direct.

Grenville Chamberlain, Chairman of The Caravan Club, who announced the results commented, “Huge congratulations to all the worthy winners in this Competition. We had a record number of entries to evaluate, winners can feel truly proud of their accomplishments. Our thanks are extended to the manufacturers who entered and supported this highly-contested competition.”

Judges for Motor Caravan Design Awards

Lee Davey – journalist
Andrew Ditton – journalist
Nick Harding – journalist
Dave Hurrell – Warners Group Publications
David Jones – Caravan Club Events Committee member
Jonathan Lloyd – journalist
Alison Owen – journalist
Terry Owen – journalist
Martin Spencer – Technical Manager, The Caravan Club

Contact information

Nikki Nichol 
Head of Publicity
07771 834443/ 01342 336 797

Maxine Soghmanian
PR Manager
01342 336 768

Notes to editors

Champions of the great outdoors, The Caravan Club represents the interests of over one million caravanners, motorhomers and trailer tent owners across the UK.

The Caravan Club offers its members over 200 Club Sites and 2,500 privately owned places to stay, and provides all members with expert advice, overseas travel services, financial services and exclusive member offers and discounts.

Press team contacts

Contact our press team - they're happy to help with any media enquiries.  Please note, this number is for journalists/media enquiries only and they will not be able to assist with general member enquiries. For member enquiries, visit our Contact Us page.

Nikki Nichol
External Comms & Sponsorship Manager

01342 336 797
07771 834 443

For press information and imagery, please contact Molly Downes, Zoe Poulton or Helen Coop at Four Travel:

0203 697 4200 

For general enquiries, please contact us on: