Meadow Cottage

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Hidden gem

This is our first of two visits this year to Meadow Cottage CL. It is delightful. Louise, the owner, is warm, friendly and helpful. This rural site is totally peaceful ( no road noise - just birdsong) - and ( because the site’s insurers insist) no children. There is an attractive deep lake which would be an insurance risk for little ones…. The location close to Horton ( not far from Wimborne) is perfect for us. The Remedy Oak Brewery is a short walk away and opens to visitors on Fridays in the summer. The site is very pretty, the pitches are nicely spaced and private, and are fully serviced - electricity hook up, individual tap and proper soak away grey water drainage . Our TV reception has been good. Wifi is provided and even though we are almost the furthest pitch from the transmitter, we got a signal. Those closer to it get a good signal. A caravan neighbour here happened to have a small de ice that strengthens and extends wifi signals and on his recommendation we bought one. It is superb. If anyone is interested it is a TP Link AC750 travel router with a USB connector so you can portably use it as well - it cost about £34 from Amazon. Thank you Louise for a super stay. We hope to return not just this autumn but next year as well.

mikecarrs

Reviewed on 12/07/2024 11:12

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Five Star

This was our second visit to this site and we must thank Louise for all her efforts as well as going the extra mile in making sure we enjoyed our break, Well done.

Mike1502

Reviewed on 22/05/2024 12:42

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peaceful

Upon arrival we were greeted by our host Louise, who made us feel very welcome and even offered us a cup of tea. Nothing is too much trouble, she even lent us a map of local walks for our dogs. We were also given a welcome pack that had details of local takeaways and shops etc. The site is clean and tidy, each pitch is fully serviced although there is a slight slope to some of the pitches. The free Wi-Fi is great and Louise swapped us onto pitch 1 to get best reception as we needed it for work. We cannot recommend her enough, she deserves your custom and we will definitely return next year John and Sam de Lacy-Leacey

samdl2

Reviewed on 23/09/2023 17:31

6 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great adult only CL site

This is a great site in a lovely location. Easy to find, good access & the best of welcomes. Fully serviced, grassed pitches & you can position your van any way you like within your pitch boundary. Enjoyed sitting on the picnic benches by the pond of an evening watching the sun set. Highly recommend a visit to the nearby brewery too.

briggerdave

Caravanner

Reviewed on 22/09/2023 07:57

6 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Cracking CL Site

Stayed at this site for 2 weeks in August and I cant recommend it enough. The access is great and there is an electric gate which Louise supplies the number to you. (Saves faffing and having to get out of your car) On arrival I was met by Vicki who made me a lovely cuppa to tide me over while setting up :-) The site is kept lovely, with water, electricity and grey waste on each pitch. There is a small lake with picnic benches round it too. There is also a designated dog walk area. there are also nice walks direct from the site Louise is very helpful and supplies a pack with local things to do and see. The local Indian restaurant delivers to site too, which we did partake and it was scrumptious. Remedy Oak Brewery is a 10 min walk away and they open every Friday 4pm to 9pm for beer and food. Overall it is very quiet and peaceful site. I will definitely be visiting again :-)

Sharon Hudson

Caravanner

Reviewed on 12/09/2023 11:32

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

July 2023 Stay

We only stayed here for one night but wished it could have been longer. Friendly welcome by Vicki and a lovely chat with Louise as we arrived made things so easy. The site Wi-Fi isn't great (in fairness it was included in the price) but other than that it was a perfect CL with great facilities as a base to tour that area. Would definitely visit again.

GemnTim

Caravanner

Reviewed on 23/07/2023 14:52

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Picturesque peaceful welcoming site

Had a lovely few days at Meadow Cottage in our motorhome. The site is very picturesque peaceful, lovely to sit beside the lake with a drink or meal on the provided tables. The owners are delightful and so welcoming and helpful. We actually arrived with a puncture, and they went above a beyond to help us get assistance with the wheel change and subsequent tyre replacement. As cyclists the location is great with some nice quiet lanes to ride to local pubs, or take the bridleway, that starts from the golf cause just up the lane for a traffic free ride. Access to the site is easy, and the pitches are great size, easy to get levelled up, and great power water and drain point for each pitch. Toilet waste point is clean and well maintained. Will definable add this site to our favourites list.

Fiona Boag

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 18/07/2023 11:07

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Outstanding CL

What's not to like about this beautiful CL. From the moment of our arrival to be greeted by Louise and her mother with hot coffee we felt welcomed and looked after. The pitches are grass each equipped with electric hook up, water tap and drainage and well spaced out from each other in a landscaped field which contains a small lake. There is an electric keypad operated gate which ensures good security. The surroundings are rural with stables and animals in nearby fields and birdsong to listen to but with Verwood 10 minutes in one direction and Wimborne 20 minutes to the South. This is one of the best CL's that we have stayed at, the owners have tried very hard to exceed expectations and have succeeded, we will definitely return.

gwaddy

Caravanner

Reviewed on 05/05/2023 17:03

6 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely greeting on arrival from the lovely Louise.

We arrived to a lovely welcome from Louise and her lovely mother who bought us out a lovely cup of coffee on arrival. Site was very boggy but Louise went above and beyond to ensure our stay went well. I believe we were her first visitors this season and despite the rain we were given a pitch on the hard standing driveway. Louise went out of her way to make sure we had thick rubber matts to put out in front of the door so we didn’t have to wade through the boggy grass plus she gave us some towels to put down inside the caravan door to stop the carpet getting covered. Our stay was great as we were just away to play Golf for the week and this was our first trip this year. We will 100% definitely go back later in the year as this is a beautiful site with stunning countryside views and very quiet..going to sleep listening to owls and wildlife is a far cry from where we live.. Definitely would recommend this lovely CL site.. Thank you for making our stay that little bit more special.

Richiek68

Caravanner

Reviewed on 03/04/2023 19:45

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent

There really is nothing not to like. The owners are delightful. The surroundings are beautiful and plenty of places to visit. Big dog walking field. We will definitely be returning.

tarquin

Reviewed on 29/09/2022 10:10

5 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer