St Leonards Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely CL

We have just had 6 nights here and couldn't fault it. The hardstanding pitches are well spaced with views across a field. Yes it is close to a main road but it is very quiet at night (we were never once disturbed) and that proximity gives you the easy access to Poole, Bournemouth and Wimbourne. David was very welcoming. Elsan points on CLs can be unpredictable but my husband, with over 30 years of experience in this, said it was easy to use and the availability of hand gel was much appreciated. We would certainly stay there again.

lunaroma

Reviewed on 03/06/2024 21:10

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A decent but fairly basic CL

St Leonards Farm is a fairly basic CL albeit with serviced hard standings. The hard standings are adequate, formed from 'beach shingle' and the five are very well spaced apart. Unfortunately the access to the pitches is over grass which, after the amount of rain that we have had recently has become extremely muddy. The gateway into the CL itself is low lying and becomes a bit of a lake which only drains very slowly. This is not good as it is the only way to walk to the WC emptying point (which is better than many) and rubbish bins. Security of the site is quite good with access being via a five bar gate with a chain and combination padlock but the gate latch is quite strong. A point mentioned in an earlier review. The owner, David, is very helpful, offering to use his pick-up truck to site our caravan on the pitch if we had trouble because of the mud. Thankfully we didn't need his help. I'm not sure that the CL would be good for motorhomes if the weather is or has been wet. Because of impending torrential rain coupled with an electrical fault with the caravan we decided to head home after only 3 nights out of our 7 nights booked.

JohnM20

Caravanner

Reviewed on 08/05/2024 08:52

19 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Handy Jump off for Poole Ferry and we’ll laid out CL

We spent a single night here before catching the Poole to Cherbourg ferry which is just under 15 minutes away so it is a good overnight stop for anyone with an early ferry. Excellent correspondence, easy to find location and nicely spaced serviced hard standings. There was a little bit of road noise on a very windy night but not enough to be an issue. We felt that £25 for one night in October was a little bit on the expensive side. If using prior to a Poole ferry crossing it’s a toss up between a short journey from a nice site at £25 and £15 on the car park at the ferry terminal. All Down to personal preference.

ScreenName85593C2BDD

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 06/10/2022 21:36

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Nice CL

We’ve been visiting this site for a good few years now, really nice site great location for exploring Dorset, a bit of road noise and can get a bit muddy in wet weather but highly recommended

Jill and Steve

Caravanner

Reviewed on 30/10/2021 23:11

22 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Short stay

Lovely site. Easy to access on arrival because access code to the field had been emailed in advance. Serviced/hardstanding pitches were great. David came and greeted us once we'd arrived. Gave us a useful sheet of local information. Also provided details of local bike trails which are needed as roads are busy. They do give you access to Poole - cycle paths all the way. Lovely to be visited by hens. At night the owls can be heard and bats seen at dusk. Overall a great stay. Thank you.

ScreenNameBD359020CD

Campervanner

Reviewed on 26/09/2021 08:34

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Nice but…..

We have just returned from 2wks holiday here which we enjoyed.It was lovely having fully serviced pitches but there are things we think could improve this. 1.Latch on the 5 bar gate was very difficult to operate particularly for a woman. 2.The exercise field for the dog was not usable at all. 3.It rained quite heavily on several occasions & the mud build up on the access gate to the actual C/L was not good at all. 4.Noise from a very busy Main Road When we left the rubbish bins & recycling bins were overflowing! Would we return not sure Jill & Geoff Norfolk

JILLandGEOFF

Reviewed on 12/07/2021 17:29

5 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A Great CL

We stayed here for what turned out to be one of the coldest, wettest and windiest May for years so thank goodness for the serviced pitches. The drain is right next to the pitch and although each had its own tap we shared a post with the next pitch. This meant we needed to extend our hose to 15m to reach our van. Not a problem but be aware. There is a little road noise and because of the unusual amount of rain (some fields near the main road were flooded) the CL gateway was somewhat muddy but not by the main entrance which has a combination lock. As others have said its a great centre for the area and David is very helpful. To be recommended.

CliveB71

Reviewed on 24/05/2021 16:10

6 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Pleasant and easy stay

Good site for a quiet stay. Waste and water per pitch was great. Large field for dog walk right next to the pitches was fabulous for our old dog. Owner was around but unobtrusive. Is just off a main road but pitches are far enough away that the road noise is minimal. Great space between pitches.

DeniseG

Reviewed on 09/05/2021 18:47

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

What an excellent CL!

What a fantastic CL! A really flat, well-mown field with plenty of space for each outfit. Very friendly welcome. Each hard standing has its own grey waste drain (and easy access to its own tap). Very well-situated for visiting lots of places nearby. Peaceful and pleasant surroundings. Many thanks to the owners. We will be coming back for another stay!

Sibbo66

Caravanner

Reviewed on 03/05/2021 19:05

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

The perfect getaway - at last!

St Leonards Farm ticked all the boxes for us - easy access, a well kept paddock and lovely surroundings. Although there is some slight road noise, it did not impact our peace at all. We pitched up and were later welcomed by David and received an useful information sheet. Pitches (all hard standing) are very generous, with water at each, a grey water drain and EHU. This working farm has free range chickens (eggs for sale), dogs and ponies and all were amusing to watch, but best of all was the birth of a beautiful foal on our first morning! The location is perfectly placed for RSPB Arne and the local towns of Wareham, Wimborne Minster and Poole. Portland and Chesil beach are about an hour away and well worth a visit. We highly recommend this CL and would definitely return. Thank you to the Wheldons for a wonderful stay.

eviebobs

Reviewed on 02/05/2021 10:44

14 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer