The Grange

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

great base for a cycling holiday

We stayed here for 9 nights and as hoped it proved to be an excellent base for exploring Lincolnshire on bicycles. The site is exactly as described. Access is good. The shower and toilet are good but were never cleaned during our 9 day stay, if they had been, or if some DIY equipment had been available (there is a limit to what can be achieved with surface sanitiser and toilet paper), I would have given this site 5 stars. The pitches are all shady when the trees are in leaf so if you want a sunny pitch this might not be the place for you. The farm trail is excellent. The water tap has a long hose on a reel available, this makes filling of water rolls possible in situ on at least 3 of the pitches, this is a great idea and I wish more sites had such equipment. It is a very peaceful site in a rural location, but it is on a working farm so sometimes there is some tractor noise. The tractors are quite impressive! The water rail trail from Lincoln to Boston is a very good multi use path mostly surfaced. It is a good day out to cycle to Lincoln through the lanes joining the NCR into the Cathedral/Castle area. Walk down Steep HIll on the cobbles (not for shoes with big cleats!) and cycle back using the Water rail trail, via Short Ferry there is a cycle friendly pub there beside the river. There is a flat ride to Woodhall Spa, you can use the water rail trail for part of the way in at least one direction. There is a slightly hilly but very scenic ride to Horncastle via Cadwell Park to see the motor bikes racing round or you can go by a flat route. Louth us definitely worth a visit and has a very good bike shop. The Louth Cycle centre. Market Rasen has a great cafe Jossals and the racecourse is worth a look, access via the campsite next door! There are many other rides all possible direct from site. The pub in the village was also good.

SANDS

Reviewed on 30/08/2021 11:14

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Welcoming Host

This site is superb. We found it exactly as described, peaceful and tranquil in a beautiful rural location. Jonathan was welcoming on arrival and throughout our stay. This is definitely our favourite CL within Lincolnshire, visitors won't be disappointed.

Shenny999

Reviewed on 07/09/2020 19:02

3 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely site

We visited the site for one night in our Motorhome. It was a lovely site with very easy access and a level grassy pitch. There was lots of space between the pitches and, having arrived early, we were able to choose our pitch. The only problem we had was finding someone to pay our money to as we went out in the evening so paid the next morning. The toilet and shower were a great addition and were very clean and well presented, even with toiletries supplied. We would definitely visit again.

ScreenNameC96C83A15A

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 30/08/2020 21:28

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Absolute gem of a site - What all CL sites should be like

We were the first arrivals to The Grange after the Covid 19 lockdown and so unsure of what to expect. But we needn't have worried. Jonathan the owner was there to greet us and he is so friendly and helpful. A real diamond! The site is an absolute gem. Lovely well tended grass area each with electric hook up for each pitch and so peaceful and quiet. We were the only ones here and so had the luxury of the sole use of the toilet and shower. Spotlessly clean and ample hot water we couldn't wish for more. The site is part of a working farm, and of which is having some of their outbuildings converted to self contained units and B & B and will look spectacular when completely finished. They are just putting the finishing touches to it and so they will be up and running in the next week or so. Anyway - back to the review of the site. It is off the main road so extremely quiet.We even watched a dog fox stroll past our motorhome in the evening and birds singing away in the trees were really the only noise we heard. Even the farm machinery was not intrusive. It is great for cycling, with routes here are lots of quiet roads and you can even cycle to Louth with hardly having to use any A roads. All in all this is a fabulous - friendly site, which is what all CL sites are about. We are definitely going to visit again and have no hesitation in giving it 100%.

Mark Hanwell

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 05/07/2020 19:13

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Pretty and peaceful

Loved this site. So pretty and peaceful (we were the only ones there apart from the geese).Toilet/shower room was like home from home - lovely and warm on a cold November morning.

Dalet21

Reviewed on 09/11/2017 21:04

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

The Grange Market Rasen/Wragby

A little Gem. Views of Kingfisher from pitches, which are round a small pond. Excellent quantity and heat fom the shower. Lovely area. Quiet bike rides, particularly to lunch at Market Rasen where 'Tea Room' serves Restuarant Quality meals. Apppealing walk on farm to large lake. Very relaxed generally. (Does not appear under 'Market Rasen' search). Lynne

lingydingy

Reviewed on 12/09/2016 11:33

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A grand little site

A lovely site with the friendliest owners you could wish for. A hot shower and WC made The Grange a joy to visit. This site is on a working farm (a busy one at that) so there is the inevitable amount of machinery coming and going but some of it is to site users benefit (grass cutting and hedge trimming were in evidence) but once the day's activities have subsided the site is very peaceful and a haven for wildlife (lookout for dragonflies). The site is compact and planted with fruit trees that can make manoeuvring a little tricky - a mover fitted to your caravan really pays for itself in these situations. The EHU points were not that convenient for all 5 pitches but the owners have extension leads they are more than happy for you to borrow. There is easy access to Lincoln and the coast but be warned, the A158 can become very busy between Lincoln and Wragby on a summer Friday. All in all a CL I would not hesitate to recommend.

adeshers

Reviewed on 14/08/2016 17:48

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Just returned from our first visit

This was our first overnighter in our camper van. After a warm welcome we got parked up after having got stuck due to heavy rain recently.  Jonathan was more than happy to pull us out with his tractor, nothing was too much trouble.  A lovely little site with everything that we wanted, peace, quiet and some lovely farm walks.  The village of East Barkwith was within easy walking distance, the pretty little church was open and definitely worth a look.  There is a pub and shop in the village.  A lovely hot shower and clean toilet. This site had everything that we needed and would definitely recommend. No children and no dogs suited us down to the ground.

Kirky160

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 27/03/2016 19:49

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 3 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

All a CL should be

Stayed here recently good amenities and very peaceful setting. Very welcoming CL owners many thanks really enjoyed ourselves

Mark n shazi

Reviewed on 27/10/2014 20:26

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peace quiet and tranquility

A little gem,well kept quiet site away from main roads friendly and welcoming owners.Nice clean shower and toilet Only 40 mins from the coast.Had a fantastic 4 day stay mid November.A wonderful wonderful site.

akery

Caravanner

Reviewed on 29/11/2012 19:36

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer