Ash Meadow

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Large cl

Just spent a week at Ash Meadow and really enjoyed it. The owner is friendly and informative.The site has a slight slope but not a problem when using ramps and it is large with plenty of space between other units.Ash Meadow is situated between Hereford and Brecon .There’s a bus service each way but not regular,so if you use the buses you must plan your trips carefully.We visited Brecon,Hay On Wye and Hereford by bus which stops outside the cl and had no problems.The site is clean and tidy and very little road noise with nice countryside views,hopefully we will visit again!

1utd

Reviewed on 01/08/2022 19:17

15 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Our favourite ever CL!

We had a wonderful couple of weeks enjoying the peace and tranquillity at this lovely CL. It’s very spacious with lovely views across a wildflower meadow and lots of fruit trees to provide shade at the top of the site. There’s an abundance of bird life and we also very much enjoyed the friendly free range chickens keeping us company! There is lots to do and see in the area and we loved Hay on Wye, particularly the Thursday markets. Owner Mike provided a warm welcome and was always around to answer any questions. There’s a slight slope but nothing too tricky, and we found the access very straightforward. We were sad to leave and hope to return the next time we head to this beautiful part of the world.

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

What a cracker

This to us is a gem of a sight. We are just coming to the end of a fantastic 2week stay. Ease of access, greated on arrival by Mike who makes you feel very welcome. All pitches have great space and lovely veiws.there is a bus stop just outside the entrance we didn't use it but spoke to a couple who did and they were more than happy with the service. The sites shower and toilet facilities looked really nice, but are still closed at present time, not that that affected us as we use our own. There's an information block with plenty of ideas for day out and walks ect. We can certainly recommend the sugarloaf mountain walk, and at hers stone. Love the chickens roaming around. There is a great spot to go and sit along the river wye where you can swim, canoe,ect only about 3miles away near brobury House and Gardens. We visited Hey on wye, Hereford and some national trust house's and parks all not to far away. The biggest compliment we can give Mike and his wife about this great cl is we will definitely be back. Oh and forgot to mention we were told to just help ourselves to any fruit from the trees 😁.

ianrooker

Reviewed on 16/09/2021 09:11

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peaceful and relaxing

Can't disagree with any of the reviews, it's a lovely CL with plenty of space and terrific views. The toilet & showers were closed during our stay, but we prefer to use our own anyway. There are no footpaths from the site, so if you don't want to use the car it's a half-mile walk along the B4348 to Dorstone where you can access footpaths. We did it a couple of times and found it ok, the road isn't that busy and there's plenty of room for vehicles to pass. Really enjoyed our 5 nights here.

Martinarmitage1

Caravanner

Reviewed on 15/08/2021 15:08

28 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Up there with the Best

Visited Ash Meadow recently, having messed Mike around due to work commitments, which he took in good grace. Photo's don't due it justice. Entrance is through quite a tight farm entrance, do your homework and it's no problem. Then through a farm courtyard through to a lovely field with spectacular views of surrounding hills. Peace and quiet by the bucket load. Red Kites in the sky. Hereford, Hay on Wye and Brecon all worth a visit or two. There is a Co-op tucked away in Hay on Wye for basics, google it. Check your approach in to the site doesn't take you up the very steep hill near Arthur's Stone, it's a nightmare. Can't vouch for the local pub Pandy Inn, it was booked up when we visited. Mike is a very friendly and helpful. Internet connection and TV reception interesting! Will visit again soon.

ianmstrange

Caravanner

Reviewed on 28/06/2021 14:12

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

What a CL

This was only our 2nd outing as caravan owners and wanted to try the recommended CL experience. We were not disappointed. Stayed here for 5 nights and loved every minute. mike the owner was outstanding, very helpful and informative. We spent every day in the rivers which were easily accessible from the site. Beautifully kept site which my kids adored exploring and facilities were great. Met lovely people, will definitely return. Thanks for a great holiday Mike.

DW87

Caravanner

Reviewed on 21/08/2020 21:58

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Such a good CL in such an interesting area

Two nights in a motorhome for us and we thoroughly enjoyed what this site and location had to offer. Easily accessed, helpful thoughtful owners, good fairly flat pitch with loads of space between units. A good day of walking from the site followed by a bike ride to Hay and back - a perfect weekend of rural activity. Totally recommend. Roads are generally quiet which is important as you need to walk a little way to access the footpath networks. Tried the Pandy Inn in Dorstone just a mile away and received a friendly welcome even if the inside wasn't yet up and running post lockdown.

Muffinn

Motorhomer from Worcestershire

Reviewed on 04/08/2020 20:21

17 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great retreat

Excellent CL with very welcoming and helpful owner. Large field with plenty of room to pitch even the biggest of outfits. Nice clean shower and toilet block. Very quiet location with easy access and fairly level pitches. Handy for Hay on Wye, Hereford and the Breacons. Would use again.

jamarick

Motorhomer from Kent

Reviewed on 09/09/2019 15:31

15 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A Little Gem !

What a super site! Beautifully kept grass pitches in a large field with a wild flower hay meadow next to it. A warm welcome after efficient booking from Mike and Ruth Well maintained very clean shower and two toilets. Thoughtful local information and maps available. All this in a delightful Golden Valley with access to Hereford, Hay-on -Wye and stunning walking in the Black Mountains and locally. A most enjoyable week...and one to be repeated....or maybe in their little rental cottage.

rogerlake626

Reviewed on 25/08/2019 10:07

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely views, peaceful site

We stayed here for a week towards the end of July. We had a wonderful time. The area is lush and the site very good with Plenty to see and do. There is a good pub with delicious food in Dorstone. Mike very friendly and personable, fair rate. Would definitely come again.

bunch

Reviewed on 24/07/2019 18:36

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer