Borough Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A superb CL with stunning views and a friendly, helpful owner

This is our second visit, and it will not be our last! The CL field is kept immaculately. There is chemical disposal at the edge of the site and there are 5 EHU points. Drinking water is a short walk away at the farmhouse. Despite it being relatively close to the main road, there is no traffic noise. The views, looking south towards Salcombe and the English channel on the horizon are stunning! This is a working farm. The best fresh eggs you will ever taste are on sale at the farmhouse. Near the farm entrance there is a new cafe/burgher & bacon bar selling home made cakes and superb coffee. Everything is sourced within a few miles of the site. Susan the owner is warm and friendly, always willing to offer help and advice.

p4ggc

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 22/05/2023 15:34

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Hidden Gem

Spent three nights here wished we had been able to stay longer. Amazing views well kept site and owner very helpful. Easy to access and very convenient for South Hams and surrounding area

fortyfour

Reviewed on 29/07/2019 17:26

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great views, and a good base to visit local area

We stayed for a week including August Bank Holiday. No more than 2 units on site the whole time. We were blessed with good weather, and enjoyed the country views from the sloping site. We have a large twin axle, but with our inflatable wheel raiser had no difficulty setting up. Plenty of space for our huge awning and double sleeping extensions. Well mown grass. Cows sheep and pigs well fenced and sufficiently separate for our dog to be happy not to notice them! Dog made very welcome and had a lovely time. There is a regularly visited family grave in one corner, so children need to be briefed to be sensitive. Owner very helpful, and was prepared to look after our dog while we were at a wedding, and was very helpful when we had 3 teenagers visiting for a couple of nights. You have to drive to get to a pub or shop, and there are a couple of ramps on the drive so caution essential. I'd go again if I was in the area - great views, very safe.

Kassie

Reviewed on 15/09/2017 14:42

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent CL

There is little that can be added to other reviews about this CL Access is easy but do drive slowly and bear in mind that the lane from the main road to the CL is a farm lane. The welcome by Susan is very warm and she is extremely helpful especially in recommending somewhere to eat in Kingsbridge - this was followed and the meal was exceptional. The site has excellent views and the field is very large compared to many CL's. Take a few pieces of wood to level the 'van as the site is partly sloping. We only spent a long weekend on the site but hopefully we shall be spending a few more weekend this year admiring the wonderful views.

colger

Reviewed on 07/05/2017 22:50

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Beautiful, like a CL should be

Spent a week here in July.  This is a beautiful CL with amazing views.  Lovely and peaceful, good facilities (2 toilets) and Susan keeps the site lovely.  I would return here anytime.  Thank you Susan!

ijb59

Caravanner

Reviewed on 21/08/2015 15:13

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

in defence

We spent a very pleasant two weeks here last summer despite poor weather. Miss Smaridge is very helpful and pleasant and the site is lovely and kept tidy and mown. no idea what Patandtrish are referring to. The only rule we were asked to observe, apart from behaving in a normal considerate manner was to leave enough room between the awning and fence for the owner to get her mower in to cut the grass. This hardly struck me as unreasonable. There were several scrap cars in an adjoining field when we were there but they were mostly hidden by the hedgerows. the site was full all the time we were there and when we asked for an extension to our stay Miss Smaridge politely had to refuse as she was fully booked. that says it all. Cheers, JC.

J G Cottingham

Reviewed on 29/03/2015 14:48

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Escape to the Country!

We first found this lovely site many years ago when the children were young and enjoyed the peace, tranquillity and outstanding views. Having now returned to caravanning after a number of years we have also returned to Borough Farm and found it still to be the place of our memories. Susan is extremely helpful and keeps the site in tip top condition. Access is super easy and the views never fail to disappoint. We have already booked again for the summer, (second visit this year alone).

Sabbatical

Reviewed on 08/06/2014 06:58

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

What a hidden gem

This was our first CL experience and what a fantastic experience it was!!! Susan was most helpful and extremely friendly. The views were amazing and the children were able to enjoy playing badminton and football. This is a working farm so do expect farm noises. We got to go around the farm which the children loved. Kings bridge and Salcombe only a stones throw away and lots of beautiful walks nearby. We don't normally like revisiting locations but we have rebooked and can't wait to return.

Houghtoncrew

Caravanner

Reviewed on 05/05/2014 20:34

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 2 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Too many rules

The best part of the cl was closed off for no reason. There are too many rules to enjoy your stay. Nobody else was there when we went in July last year, it says it all really. Will not be returning.

patandtrish

Reviewed on 16/04/2014 10:49

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely When The Sun Shines

Again, this is a late review mainly because I noticed the CL didn't have any. We stayed here for five nights back in May 2012. The site is quite high (relatively) and somewhat exposed. We arrived in the most appalling weather conditions and could hardly see the end of the CL (let alone the promised view of Salcombe). But, as with all these things, after a couple of days, the sun came out and what a difference!! You could just sit and look at the view all day long - it was superb. The site (at the time of our stay) was all grass and fairly level. The farm is set well back from a main road and there was no traffic noise. There was a public footpath that took you out of the back of the farm and onto a lane - I walked into Kingsbridge one day (Tesco's and Morrisons there as well as independent shops). The CL is well placed for visiting the local area - Slapton, Dartmouth and of course Salcombe. 

JennysJaunts

Caravanner

Reviewed on 11/04/2014 19:00

130 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer