Brookside

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Bears on tour

This was the third stop on our UK tour. The site is excellent with large pitches and easily accessible facilities. Electricity is by card and can get the heart racing if you are near to running out however a quick message to Rachel and within a short period of time a new one was brought to the pitch. During our stay we needed to get a package delivered to site again Rachel was so accommodating and agreed to take the package on our behalf. The village is very quaint and the ostrich pub provided an excellent Sunday lunch ( it is very dog friendly). The cathedral in the Forest is well worth visiting. All in all a great stay, and I hope we can return soon to visit all the places we didn’t get to see

LADY BEAR

Caravanner

Reviewed on 05/09/2023 18:15

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Overnight stay

Rachel communicated excellently and made us feel very welcome. The road noise was evident but slept very peacefully so assume less traffic through night. The electric is extra on a card and Rachel provided this. The village is beautiful but no shop - just a pub - a gorgeous pub - easily walkable from the site. Just be aware that although there are pavements there are areas with just grass so when walking, especially with dogs, be aware of some fast traffic. Rachel was vey accommodating and let us stay late due to my husband on line work meeting ... We would love to return and very reasonable, beautifully looked after field, dog friendly, lots of space and small brook at the bottom. Thanks Rachel KR Lesley and Stuart and Doggies x

ScreenName1C57CD8C65

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 24/08/2023 17:47

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely CL in a very nice spot

We visited for a week May 2023. Access: we approached from Monmouth and the last 2.4 miles off the A466 is on minor roads, but easily passable with care especially through Newland village. The site is accessed through a gate of a large yard, with plenty of room to get clear of the road. We had our choice of pitches, 4 EHU pitches on the grassed field, 2 EHU pitches on the hardstanding yard and 2 off grid pitches at the far end of the field, all very large, levelling block(s) needed and separated with wild 'verges'. The field was dry and hard on our visit, but it had been a dry period for a coupkle of weeks prior, there is plenty of width to the mown area to reverse easily onto any of the grass pitches. Site: The field itself is very large, with a lovely 'wild' area in the centre, around and through which the owners have mowed paths, making it very nice for a little stroll or dog walk. Prior to the arrival of other visitors with dogs, we saw deer enter the field every evening at dusk across the stream that runs along the boundary; this isn't deep and is easily accessed from the field for a paddle. The bins are positioned by the entrance to the yard (mixed recycling, general waste and a separate box for glass) and there's a nicely laid out area for fresh/grey water and CDP with an access gate for users of the hardstanding pitches. I've marked it as 4/5 for peace, as the road runs along the back of the field, generally quiet, but a bit of traffic 7-9am and some occaisional very noisy motorbikes. There's loads to do in the area, we did 3 lovley 5-7 mile circular walks from the site using the nearby byways and foot/bridle paths shown on the OS map, sections of Offa's Dyke and Wye Valley Walk paths are nearby as are lots of free parking spots to access Forest England sites, as well as the main visitor centres. Lydney Harbour is well worth a vist (15 min drive) and the reason for our visit was my having a forge experience at Oldfield Forge (45 min drive for 9am as traffic is bad over the bridge at Monmouth) and we visited Westons Cider for a tour, which was very good. Comms from the owner were very good, clear email with instructions and BACS payment arranged, we didn't see a lot of them during our stay, but that's fine with us as we didn't have any issues, they were always about if we had done. Pub in Newland is very nice, we only drank in there but others said food was good, it's closed Mondays and Tuesdays though. Only a short drive to Coleford for Teco Express and Lidl, petrol station (with safefill friendly LPG). We had a lovley stay, partly due to it being a week of solid sunshine, but I'd certainly return to the site as it's very nice indeed, well priced (we didn't use EHU, so can't comment on their card system, but we only used £7 of LPG for the week) and we love the area.

markflip

Caravanner

Reviewed on 31/05/2023 11:38

31 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great Stay

We have just had a great one night stay wish we could have stayed longer, but we will definitely be back. The site is very well maintained and all amenities are spotlessly clean. The pitches are big and the river and field are beautiful. We had a lovely walk to the local pub The Ostrich Inn was very welcoming and the food looked lovely. We also walked to the next village via the bridleway. Rachel and Dave are great hosts. Thank you.

ScreenNameA251333D54

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 09/05/2023 18:22

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 3 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Pleasant break

Thankfully confusion over our booking was resolved and we were able to have a pitch at Brookside. The pitches were nice size and fairly level and access was good. The field is nicely laid out with picnic tables next to the brook running through the property. Facilities were clean and tidy. There is a small road which runs along the back of the pitches, not particularly busy and fairly quiet with just the odd car at night (and early morning horse rider) The pubs are close by 5 minutes drive but we didn’t try them on this visit. We stayed three nights and managed to use £17 electric (cards were £5 each and simple to use) although most of this was heating at night which was on low as it was very cold. There are no toilets or shower facilities which suited us just fine.  We had a bit of a nightmare when we left as the town was shut off which involved some clever manoeuvring to turn round but we think this was for an Easter event only The only blot on the landscape for us was the constant noise from a Motorcross circuit nearby which became very irritating after two days, which was a shame.

Sporadicus

Caravanner

Reviewed on 10/04/2023 14:58

36 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

What a fantastic stay!

Even before our stay Rachel was so helpful during telephone calls and text messages and when we arrived we received such a warm welcome from both Rachel and Dave. The pitch sizes are large (we have a large caravan and awning) and we had more than enough space. Brookside is such a peaceful setting with beautiful countryside surroundings. It is perfect for accessing cycling and walking trails nearby. Rachel & Dave were very helpful with suggestions of bike trails nearby too. The Ostrich pub, a short walk away in the beautiful village was perfect for a drink by the fire on an autumnal day. The water & waste facilities are extremely clean and easily accessible via a path. It is the first time we have used EHU cards & we used £20 for 6 nights (there are 5 of us). One of our teenage daughters said that it is her favourite certified location that we have ever stayed in and she isn’t usually very easy to please!! We have to agree - so glad that we found this CL and we can’t wait to come back. Thank you so much for a fantastic stay!

ScreenName453357D5A6

Caravanner

Reviewed on 28/10/2022 13:01

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peaceful

Just back from a lovely 5 night stay, very clean and peaceful site. Rachel was lovely on arrival. Will definitely return.

ScreenName43F8FF7830

Caravanner

Reviewed on 01/08/2022 17:49

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A perfect stay 18th/19th July 2022

We stayed at Brookside on the hottest two days of the year and survived! It's in a great location and was very easy to find when we arrived on the Sunday evening. We chose our pitch having been directed in by the David and Rachel's son and there we stayed for an uninterrupted two days in the sunshine. The disposal and water facilities were very accessible and clean which made the whole process very quick and easy. The wildlife was very plentiful and we enjoyed watching a pair of Red Kites one day as well as other birdlife and lots of butterflies flitting in and out of the beautiful uncut areas of meadow between the pitches. When things got too hot, we paddled in the little stream to cool off and rested in the shade of the trees surrounding the site. We kept in touch with Rachel via text messages before our trip and she answered all of our questions. Sadly Rachel had covid during our stay but we had a nice chat over the garden fence just before we left. We will definitely be retuning with our little dog Annie as we didn't get to explore enough due to the weather conditions. Would highly recommend! Alan & Helen

ScreenNameE148C86E9E

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 20/07/2022 18:12

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

It was great for the dogs

Loved this site. Quiet, loads of space and right on the English/Welsh boarder. The grass pitches are really large, loads of room for my 8.7M tag axle and awning. I could have parked a car up next to them both. Fresh water, grey water and black water point on site. Super clean. You feel like you're parked in nature - so many butterflies. EHU on a pre-paid £5 card. We stayed 2 nights and only used £3.80 worth. The dogs loved it, as there's a nice mowed path around the field. Would 100% stay again.

ScreenNameE6A935D673

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 19/07/2022 13:28

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Wonderful CL

Stayed at Brookside for 3 nights. Very well maintained site with grass beautifully mown and picked up but with lovely areas left to meadow between the large pitches and in front with mown walkway all the way round and 3 picnic benches on a mown area, little stream at the bottom. Lovely walk into Clearwell up a track opposite the site. Short stroll into Newland, very prettty village with pub. Use of electric metre card worked fine, we used about £7.50 for 3 nights. Helpful, unobtrusive owners. Only had a drink at the Butchers Arms in Clearwell but looked a nice pub, closed Wednesday and Thursday ! Some very good walks from the site. We will definitely return

Thorp123

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 26/06/2022 11:02

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer