Buzzards Rest

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A gem near the stunning coast of south Gower

What a lovley site . Large grass area with plenty of space between the caravans . Pitch well maintained and virtually flat . Lovely views across the surrounding fields with amazing sunsets and can track the sun all day until it sets !!! Dianne is very welcoming and adds to the relaxed atmosphere of the site . Nice walks from the site with Rhosilli Port Eynon and Oxwich an easy drive away . Good site directions from Dianne and found the roads fairly easy after Cornwall & Devon . Would definitely recommend this site for its position , peace and quiet, relaxing atmosphere and Diane’s warm welcome . We will be back !!

PandL

Caravanner

Reviewed on 29/06/2023 12:57

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peace and quiet

We stayed here in June for 8 nights. Access is through a gate surrounded by trees. The signage is not very obvious - I didn't see 'Buzzards Rest' just the house name. The site is large with well spaced hard standings on a slight slope. EHU is readily available with the water tap located centrally behind the pitches. Recycling is as confusing as ever - not the sites fault as each council area differs here in Wales. Bins and CEP are well arranged and easily accessible near to the main gate. Some reviewers mentioned the near by road noise - we did not notice and at night completely silent and dark (no nearby street lights) - lovely. Dianne the owner, who lives in sight of the site, appeared the next day and informed us of local attractions, pubs etc. She is very amiable. A very pleasant spacious site.

Crop

Reviewed on 01/07/2021 17:54

21 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

First Welsh outing weekend, 17th July 2020.

What a gem of a place, couple of miles from Rhossili beach, Port Eynon Beach, however, with our new E-bikes, there wasn't a problem. Owners were great very helpful, before and during our stay. Area very clean and in beautiful surroundings. We didn't bring our dog this time, however it would of been fine if we did, with plenty of room. Will definately be back.

RhianW

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 18/07/2020 16:27

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely place

We had a lovely stay at Buzzards Rest in May. The lovely weather helped and it was nice to sit outside with the sheep munching away at the grass nearby. Within easy travelling distance of Worms Head and beautiful beaches at the Gower. My one very small criticism is that the entry gate could do with some TLC.

Squirleyanne

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 02/06/2019 11:09

2 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A nice site, but noisy during farm harvest time

We visited the site in 2016 on our first caravan trip and we were the only ones there for a weekend in May. It is a nice site with a gentle slope, with plenty of space between pitches and altho there is a little road noise, it was ok. Good access to Rhossili and the coastal area. The problem was that the pitches are right next to a farm track which looked innocent enough, but we were woken at 8am each morning by a tractor and trailer passing very close, which continued every 30 mins or so. The farmer wont be harvesting every day, but it is something to be aware of!

muso71

Reviewed on 18/05/2018 10:27

12 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A great place to stay.

Just got back from a fantastic week in Wales. Buzzards Rest is excellently located for exploring the Gower. The magnificent beach at Rhossili Bay is only a couple of minutes away and Broughton Bay, Caswell Bay are within easy reach too. Try the coastal path walk from Horton to Oxwich Bay too. The site is very well maintained and with very generous, virtually level, pitches (at least 10M between hard-standings). There are only 5 pitches but set in a very generous, well maintained field - the grass was mown twice in the six days we were there - We've stayed on sites where at least 20 pitches would have been laid out in the same space! No problems with the EHU or the water and waste facilities. It is true that the site is close to the road, but this didn't disturb us at all. It's a bit of a trawl to a 'big' supermarket, but there is a shop about half a mile away in Scurlage for essentials, and also a pub and chip shop. No hesitation from us in recommending Buzzard's Rest (and we did sit and watch two of them circling and calling one afternoon!) if you want to explore Gower and The Mumbles.

Jon Parvin

Reviewed on 03/09/2016 07:37

3 reviews

5 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 3 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 2 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 2 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Not so peaceful

The site itself is pleasant enough , hard standings were very grown over but grass in field nicely mown . Main issue was close proximity to road which resulted in al most constant daily traffic noise not what we wanted for our much needed break .

Poppyb63

Reviewed on 24/07/2016 13:19

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peaceful, relaxing and well kept

We stayed on this site for a week at the end of July. On arrival we pitched up and later Diane arrived and made us feel most welcome returning later with lots of information about walks, eating places and local attractions etc. The site is a well kept grass field, with hard standings, overlooking a field of grazing sheep. There is a well stocked local shop, fish & chip shop, hairdressers and pharmacy less than a mile away. A public footpath behind the site led to a field where we could let our dogs run and could be used to access more paths. The site is within a short drive to Rhossillii Bay and all the other wonderful Gower beaches. A lovely quiet site perfect for holidaying on The Gower Peninsula.

Joanne07

Reviewed on 08/08/2015 13:18

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer