Clarks Hill Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Just Perfect - Would Love to Stay Again

This is one of the best sites we've stayed at. We like the small CL sites and this one is great. The field is big - giving each pitch lots of space - ideal for us with a couple of dogs. The owners leave you in peace to enjoy your visit, but when we needed them they replied quickly to our questions by phone & text. They were really helpful when we had to make a last minute change to our arrangements. The field has a mature hedge on one side and great views on the other across the countryside. There's a gentle slope but this is easy to manage with levelling blocks. There's a short walk from the top of the field to the back of the house where the shower and loo are (the door can catch so be firm with the handle). This is a really welcome bonus on a site charging just £20 per night. We were really pleased to have recycling available in the waste area. The site design is thoughtfull with the chemical disposal point is at the bottom of the slope (ie downhil). The water supply is in the middle keeping the walk to the pitches as short as possible. Access to the Roman Fort at Birdoswald is just a minutes by car. This and the Hadrian's Wall walk are just fantastic. We would love to come back for another visit.

ScreenName36A489D166

Campervanner

Reviewed on 09/06/2023 20:25

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Beauty and access

This is a lovely, tranquil site, yet with good access to nearby sites of interest. We enjoy Roman sites particularly and this is very convenient for Hadrian's Wall, Birdoswald, Vindolanda and suchlike. It was busy lambing time, yet the owner made us feel welcome. Levelling blocks are helpful and we used them on the site. We will come again!

ScreenName7695D20E97

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 20/04/2023 18:49

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 3 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Won't visit again

We chose this site to visit the nearby Hadrians Wall and Forts and for this purpose it is very convenient, with the nearby town of Brampton providing a small range of shops and an excellent food hall. However the site itself is very sloping and difficult to pitch a caravan on, the flatest area being well away from the hook ups. We paid at the box in the farmyard. We never found the showers and toilets - or rather found a labelled, but locked door. We stayed for 5 nights and during that time we had no contact at all with the owners. Even the man mowing the site didn't stop and have a quick word, which would have been nice.

Winebird

Reviewed on 29/08/2022 15:19

14 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A Tranquil Stay

What a lovely peaceful Cl site this is. With vast views looking over lovely fields of sheep its a lovely place to come and relax. Plenty of room between each pitch and even has a shower block and toilet which we didn't use, but can leave the owners pitch fees in a post pox next to the toilet entrance if you don't see them. No road noise as its hardly used. We visited Talkin Tarn in Brampton which was a lovely lakeside walk and also went to Sycamore Gap . We would definitely visit this site again.

maccallum

Caravanner from Durham

Reviewed on 21/04/2022 13:13

40 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Campervan Visit August 2021

Peaceful site on the Cumbria / Northumberland border ideal for visiting Hadrians Wall & Birdoswald Fort. Sloping grassy field with good toilet emptying point & rubbish bins at bottom of field and fresh water tap half way up field. Well maintained shower & WC at farm where you also leave payment. Overall well kept site although no contact with owners on our 2 night stay and minimal information regarding the use of the site including access to the footpath running by the farm. Don't miss visiting the farm shop for cheese - open Thursdays & Fridays.

RichardLynne

Reviewed on 17/08/2021 15:10

49 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peace, quiet...........and Hadrians Wall!

Stayed here for a week just recently. Wonderful views, peace and quiet, and very close to Hadrian's Wall. Being right on the border between Cumbria and Northumberland was a bonus for us. Well maintained facilities, attached to the end of the building; about a hundred yards walk. A lovely cheese maker not far down the road, and the cheese is so tasty! A truly lovely CL, and one which we hope to visit again.

Coltheox

Caravanner from Cambridgeshire

Reviewed on 25/05/2021 12:16

17 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely Scenery and Quiet

We spent two nights on this site during lambing in April and enjoyed watching fields full of sheep and lambs in the spring sunshine. The site entrance has had a hardcore base and the service point by the entrance was clean and tidy. The field is sloping so levellers are needed and there are EHU's round the site as well as an additional water point. The Birdoswald Roman Fort is walkable for the fit, energetic and committed and Haltwhistle Golf course provided a pleasant diversion.

J2GO

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 27/04/2021 16:45

6 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Very quiet, access easy until you get to the entrance (perhaps we were unlucky)

This site is certainly quiet - don't be put off by it being on a B road - there is virtually no traffic. Perhaps we were unlucky, but when we arrived, the entrance was too wet and muddy for us to drive across with our car and caravan. Fortunately the owner was around and helped us to come in from the farm end, but you can't always find someone. Nobody else has mentioned this so it must have been exceptionally wet.

Magic37

Reviewed on 07/10/2020 15:06

20 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

lovely, peaceful site

lovely site overlooking rolling hills. Very convenient for Hadrian's Wall and walks. link to walk leaflet. Clean shower and toilet facilities, although we didn't use them.

camasurich

Caravanner

Reviewed on 01/10/2020 10:25

2 reviews

3 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A Little Gem

Stayed here to try out our camper van .....Lovely quiet spot. Will be back even though we live close by!

tansy13

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 24/09/2020 09:28

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer