Cotestones Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fab site

We visited on a weekend with very mixed weather. As all pitches and the access road on the site are properly made the heavy rain had no effect. The farm building and the tree belt round the site broke up the near gale force wind. The lawns between the pitch are at least twice as big as on club sites. The Arnside Silverdale area of Outstanding Natural Beauty is within easy reach. Highly recommended!

ScreenName95206EB3FD

Caravanner

Reviewed on 15/04/2024 10:22

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Gem of a site

Spotted this site last year when visiting the area and knew we wanted to come back and stay in the caravan. Thought it was going to be just a field with electric hookup but what a surprise when we arrived. The owners have transformed this field into 6 spacious handstand pitches with a lovely grassed area to the side. Each pitch has its own electric hookup and water tap. The toilet and shower are spotless obviously cleaned regularly. We didn’t see the owners but not a problem as an email was sent out with all the information needed and if there was a problem I’m sure they would be easy to contact as live on the working farm onsite. There are plenty of walks from the site and very accessible to explore further afield. Definitely will be visiting again

ClubMember12CDABC4A4

Caravanner

Reviewed on 08/04/2024 08:55

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peaceful escape

A beautiful quiet site - we had a very relaxing stay. Surrounded by wildlife and Leighton Moss is only a few miles picturesque walk away. We enjoyed some fantastic walking and great food and drink in Warton. On the site the shower and toilet were clean. Showers needed 1pound coin but this gave 10 mins of hot water which was ample. It was helpful to be able to pay by bank transfer. We would love to stay again.

Long tailed tit

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 06/06/2023 09:40

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great location

Lovely campsite with great access to walking and cycling routes. Lots of trains from Carnforth - we took the train to Arnside for a walk and then on to Grange over sands which was a great trip. Coastline here is stunning. £1 showers. No washing up facilities and we thought the showers /toilet could have been cleaned more often, but otherwise a lovely site.

Eileen and Emma

Campervanner

Reviewed on 13/05/2023 11:31

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fantastic little site

This is a fantastic site surrounded by loads of walks and cycle rides. The town is within an easy cycle ride. Agree with a previous comment about paying by bacs making it easy to pay without having to carry cash with you. You will need £1.00 coins for the shower though.

ScreenName415B116674

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 04/05/2023 17:39

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely Site

This is a really lovely site….beautiful views and very easy access to lots of lovely places to visit. It is a very lovely area and we would definitely visit again and stay at Cotestones. Added bonus for us was paying by BACS which not many CL’s do yet. We found it very quiet and one morning saw all the cows running from their shed to their field, which was lovely!

Caravanner2024

Caravanner

Reviewed on 24/04/2023 21:27

24 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A real gem of a site

A great little site, conveniently located and very well maintained. Easy walking distance to Carnforth town centre (25 minutes).

MarkCS

Caravanner

Reviewed on 10/04/2023 19:46

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Above and Beyond

Excellent location, spottless facilities, lovely views. While attempting to get to this CL following the normal directions, unfotunatley the route from the moterway to Carnforth was blocked with bridge works. i did not want to just follow the sat nav with the caravan in tow, after the diversion signs ran out. We ended up getting lost by being misdirected. I contacted Helen the site owner, and she took the time and trouble, using the what 3 words app, to come and find us, and lead us a safe way back to the site, which was suitable for caravans. In my opinion, this was ABOVE AND BEYOND, and we have no hesitation in recommending this site to anyone, and will certainly return. Bless you Helen.

hopalongjeff

Reviewed on 11/10/2022 11:12

16 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Mixed Bag

Booking, paying and arrival were all straight forward and really need no further explanation from myself. The site is a large spacious grass field adjacent to the owners farm on the edge of Morecambe Bay itself. There are 6 pitches marked and all have plenty of space between units. 3 face north/south and 3 east/west if facing with A frame pointing outwards. We actually set up sideways and found a flat spot on the slightly undulating field. The pitches are protected by walls and trees, some of which may overhang if you pitch too close to the wall (no need to). The site is open to the south westerly winds though. Amperage is 15 not 16 so take care. Facilities including a shower and toilet are near to the house you see from the site. We didn't use either but others said they were fine. I think you have to pay £1 for the shower. Waste is recycled. The site is next to the owners farm and during our stay building work was ongoing right behind the wall we were pitched by so there was constant noise during the day, just bad timing on our behalf and no moaning about it from me. but it didn't help that Farm work started at 6.30 every morning with cow shed clearance of muck entailing dumper truck movement with accompanying reversing warning sirens every time they reversed. So no peace and an early wake up call. I fully expect farm noise when staying on farm C.L.s but there was a hiatus after the initial clearance so why the early start time when you have paying guests on holiday? I accept without a problem Cows lowing, funny milking times, machinery noise, disturbance for lambing etc. and other animal noises needed to run the farm but a little consideration for paying guests wouldn't go amiss. Couple this with noise from the adjacent railway line after midnight whereby work was carried out on the engines away from Carnforth station didn't make for a peaceful stay. Nevertheless apart from the noise aspect we did actually enjoy the stay and made use of the ability to walk straight out from the site to the edge of the Bay. Good for dog walking. Cycling paths start within 100 yards of the site entrance and you can access Lancaster Canal cycle way quite easily. This leads down to Morecambe and Lancaster itself and beyond. Tesco, Booths, Aldi and the Co-Op are all available in Carnforth, 10 minutes away. as is Carnforth station for those interested in railways and a certain Old Film. Leighton Hall is well worth a visit and Leighton Moss RSPB is local as well. Price is now £17, no deposit asked for and we paid using bank transfer. Didn't see either of the 2 owners during our week long stay. The owners also run a cattery.

Wherenext

Caravanner

Reviewed on 15/09/2022 19:12

93 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Coachmans 2nd time out May 2022

Lovely CL lots of space. Nice to see good wheely bins for the recycling. Clean toilet and shower, in all a very well looked after site credit to Helen and Paul. We will be going again in the near future. Easy access to the South West lakes.

Mr JLM

Caravanner

Reviewed on 19/05/2022 15:55

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer