Elhams Market Garden

Rated 4 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A True CL - Excellent!

This is a no fuss, no frills CL that remains true to the original ethos of CLs. It has all the basics you need in a simple way, in a good accessible place with pleasant surroundings at a sensible fair price. We highly recommend it. We dealt with Barbara who was delightful. There is a flat pitch price of £15 per night, and then electricity is metered. Barbara reads the meter in your arrival, and then again on your leaving and just settle up with her in cash. The current charge when we visited was .60p per Kw. We used 15 units for 3 night stay, so our maths made it £18 a night with electric which we think is very good nowadays. We are 7.45 mohome- we didn’t have heating on, but showers, cooking and hairdryer. The site itself is a large flat grass field, surrounded by high hedge. If you pitch on entrance side, you can see the Cleveland Hills over hedge top. There is some road noise from A172, as site is straight off it, but we didn’t find it intrusive. We walked into Stokesley from site, it is about a mile and half. There is a track alongside the bit of A172 that you need to walk along which is tolerable but once you branch off to your left to town there is a narrow pavement. Stokesley is lovely town with coop, butchers and fruit shops, cafes and pubs. We would definitely go back when in that area again.

MAB1895

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 09/08/2023 19:00

39 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Good access to lovely Stokesley, site facilities adequate

We had not visited Stokesley before, and found it a lovely town, with attractive streets, shops, green space and waterside. The site is at the start of the old road into Stokesley, now with a bypass. There is some traffic noise from the A172 but this is quite acceptable and gives easy access to other places especially Saltburn, which we also liked. After a phone call saying we had arrived, Barbara came to read the electric meter. Payment at the end was clear and simple. Site facilities and signage were adequate, though rather old (apart from the fenced and locked toilet disposal point). Strangely there were no waste or recycling bins provided - according to Barbara there were problems with getting these collected. Apparently there were some on the commercial site but this meant a bit of a walk round so we used local litter bins or took our recyclables home.

DavidW50

Reviewed on 08/08/2023 07:09

51 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Recent 5 night stay

Site has easy access to road network and is in a great central location for visiting local attractions. Very large field so plenty of space between pitches. Great location for our Cleveland Way walks from Osmotherley to Kildale and beyond. Many thanks Barbara for your pleasant, friendly and helpful interactions.

Stephen Walton

Caravanner

Reviewed on 05/09/2021 16:12

5 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fabulous Site

We have been using this cl / site for 20 years now and never fail to have a good holiday whilst there. Mr and Mrs Monaghan always make you welcome, they are not intrusive but are on hand if help is needed. The site is located within easy driving distance to the coast or inland beauty spots. The small market town of Stokesley is within walking distance from the site where there is an abundance of local produce on hand. Local market on Friday's and the farmers market on Saturday's. Overall an excellent site.

Lorryman

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 14/08/2016 22:11

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great Location

We booked into this CL in Easter Weekend, but, like other reviews, after heavy rain we were placed on the small commercial site. The CL looked lovely, flat patch of grass, loads of space for five vans, surrounded by a hedge and very tidy.  Would be gorgeous if the weather hadn't been so poor. The commercial site was over a very quiet lane, separated by said hedge and trees surrounding the commerical site.  There is 20-30 pitches made up of gravel hardstanding. We were initially apprehensive, having only stayed in CLs and it not being as tidy as a club site, however for £10 a night it was an absolute bargain and a good fall back to the CL.  There is some slight road noise but nothing major.  The site is quiet, very flat and has TV reception.   The owner was lovely, around if needed but not intrusive but the location makes this CL. It is set in the countryside but Stokesley, a small market town, is within walking distance and has everything you need. N Yorks Moors, Roseberry topping (small hill to climb with lovely views), the coast (Saltburn and Redcar), Tees Barage and Middlesborough are all within 30 mins drive. For us the CL is beautiful, the commercial site was fine and the location is fabulous, all for a fair price. (local Jet garage sells LPG). Elecrtric provided with 10 units per day.  I think it was 16p a unit thereafter but we didn't use more than this.

1Tracey1

Caravanner

Reviewed on 02/04/2016 10:51

18 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A Short Stay

We stayed here in our motorhome in October 2012. We were on the commercial site, rather than the CL, due to excessive rain making the CL boggy. The CL is across a narrow road from the commercial site. The toilets were closed during our stay, but we tend to use our own anyway, so that was not a problem. 25 minute walk into Stokesley, from where there are buses to various surrounding towns. Stokesley is a market town, with all the usual amenities. A good site as a base for exploring the area, at a reasonable price

JohnMason

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 03/05/2013 20:16

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Helped out in emergency

Heading for Whitby in December, the snow came down and the roads over the moors were blocked. Unable to reach our planned CL, the Club gave us Mr Monaghan's number. He gave us directions to his CL., which was nearby. With the bad weather, a hardstanding was desireable so Mr Monaghan put us onto his commercial site next door and helped us pitch up. His rates of £9 plus a small charge for electric (a total of just under £10 per day) were very reasonable and he could not have been more helpful during our stay. The CL is on grass, along side a minor road, which does have the occasional vehicle on it. The site is ideally located for visits to Stokesley, the North Yorkshire Moors, Lyke Wake Walk, and Helmsley. The wonderful shops of Northallerton are nearby as is James Herriot Country around Thirsk. The scenery is magnificent, with the northern edge of the North Yorkshire Moors as a backdrop and Roseberry Topping in view from the site.

navigator1946

Caravanner

Reviewed on 10/12/2012 10:47

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer