Gurland Farm

Rated 4 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Perfect!

This is the most beautiful CL site with only 5 vehicles in a 3 acre site with the most stunning views. Loo and shower clean and tidy and well kept. The owner was not only friendly but also helpful with local and current information. The bus stop is a 30 min walk away, Sennen Cove and Lands End easily accessible along the coast path. If reading reviews ignore anything older than 18 months as they are new owners and it's worth every penny.

Annakd

Reviewed on 21/05/2024 20:06

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Breathtaking location, perfect CL, peaceful.

I read previous reviews and was apprehensive about our stay. Most of the reviews are old and should be ignored, this is a fantastic site with breathtaking views. It’s a working farm so don’t expect fancy frills, it’s a big 3 acre field overlooking Sennan Cove. You can see the rocks in front of Lands End and the hotel on the peninsula. It’s a short walk to Gwynver beach which is just beautiful and dog friendly. We walked the coastal path to Lands End, just a 9 mile return walk with incredible scenery. The camp site although a CL has a single shower and toilet. Both are basic but are kept immaculately clean. Amazingly the shower is free. The site owners are very friendly and will offer advice on local walks and pubs etc. We have a camper van but on the site was a caravan and a larger motor home, possibly 8m long. The access road is narrow but this is the case with many local roads. There are passing places and the track is surfaced with concrete strips, we had no problem accessing the site, and having owned touring caravans previously , would not consider access an issue. The owners have obviously made great efforts to improve the access road. This is a perfect CL, so quiet and peaceful. We spotted so much wildlife including the Cornish Choughs, quite a rare bird. Ship spotting, weather dodging, relaxing, the site has it all. We camped through Storm Antoni, the field is exposed but common sense prevailed and we didn’t put our awning up. I can’t recommend this site enough. I can’t wait to return.

ScreenNameE79C4D50ED

Caravanner

Reviewed on 07/08/2023 19:55

1 review

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

4 X nights at Gurland Farm

No idea what all the fuss is regarding access🤷‍♂️. We are 6.8m motorhome & absolutely no issue whatsoever. Getting onto our drive at home is more tricky🤦‍♂️ Price good & 👍 includes toilet & shower but we used our own on-board facilities with easy acces to tap for fresh water Views great if a little windy. Walked to Sennan and Cape Cornwall & back direct from site. Nice co-op & 4 X pubs in St Just 😉

RecyclerBill

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 09/07/2023 21:15

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A truly special place with stunning views

There's been a few subtle changes of late so I thought I'd write a updated review. Firstly Access which is highlighted in previous reviews. We have a 460 caravan & two wheel drive vehicle. We have never had any issues arriving/departing from the site despite multiple visits yearly & we've never damaged/scratched our outfit. Yes it's narrow and there's a sharp steep bend to negotiate but if you take the bend slow and wide both directions there's no issues. Care must be taken along the farm lane but again it doesn't present any difficulties. Drive straight through the farm and into the field which is clearly marked, you now find yourself in a truly iconic location with panoramic views over both land & sea. There's uninterrupted views to Sennen Cove, Lands End, Longships lighthouse & on a clear day the Isles of Scilly. Look inland towards the moors of West Cornwall, St Just & Carn-Brea. The site itself is spacious so there's plenty of room between outfits. There's new fencing around the newly painted toilet block separating the amenities. The toilets & shower (free) are adequate & kept spotlessly clean. Charlotte & Matt own/manage the CL and they live in the farmhouse to the right as you enter the field. They are a delight to chat to and have a good knowledge of the local area should you need any information, they even charged our cycle batteries for us several times during our latest lengthy stay. There's a trough outside the farmhouse with various herbs growing which you are welcome to use. Just take note that this part of Cornwall is exposed so keep an eye on the weather especially the wind, we have learned to leave our awning at home when staying at Gurland. There is direct access straight to the coast path and other paths lead straight from the farm inland. Just a short walk away is Gwynver beach, in my opinion the best beach in Cornwall. From Gwynver you can easily extend your walk to Sennen Cove & beyond to Land End. The granite coastline is fabulous and very unique. A short drive takes you to St Ives or Penzance both of which should be visited. Enjoy the views

Talisker612

Caravanner

Reviewed on 08/06/2023 15:46

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

When you get there it's worth it!

As stated in the previous review, the lane approaching this site is very tricky! We were in a campervan so it wasn't too bad but I would think it would be difficult in a large motorhome or long caravan. The owner could improve the track by filling in dips and improving the area just outside the site. Yes there are farm buildings near the site but it's a working farm so we didn't find these off putting at all. We had no issue with levelling our campervan. The view is amazing! I don't think you will find much better! The walk to the coast path is not straight forward but again, worth it. We didn't use the shower (there is an extra charge for this but I don't know what it was) and the toilet was kept clean and tidy. We did email 3 times to try and book with no reply so I suggest if you wish to book you phone instead.

CornishChicken

Reviewed on 12/06/2022 10:30

23 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 1 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 2 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Oh dear

The access to this site is appalling for any vehicle. On the way out it's even worse due to a very steep right hand turn onto a lane that made our wheels spin. Maybe in good weather, with no wind, the view makes it worthwhile but we were unable to stay. We like a basic CL but could not find sufficiently level ground to pitch up on and the almost abandoned-looking farm buildings that greeted us at the top of a deeply riveted and pot-holed track were not exactly welcoming. Neither was the clay pigeon shoot in the next field (we have a dog sensitive to bangs so this was the last thing we needed). I've never left a negative review before as I think CLs offer a wonderful service for an astonishingly low price but I'm surprised this site qualifies to be in the network and people really should take heed of the reviews that warn about the access - I wish we had.

DaveWB

Reviewed on 08/09/2021 20:23

4 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Stunning place very peaceful, loads of great places to walk, site has nice hot shower, & toilet maybe small but nice & clean.

Great site just what you want if you just want peace & quiet, clean shower lovely & hot. Nice clean toilet, great places to walk. Only 20min walk down to the dog beach. Hr walk into Sennen cove from camp, no dogs on 2nd beach from 10am till 6pm but ok after that, but you can walk over dunes to Sennen, great to sit on camp watching the surfing. Lovely places for the dogs to run. Overall flipping great, will be back next year,

ScreenNameCAD80032C2

Campervanner

Reviewed on 09/08/2021 12:00

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Essential Cornwall

We stayed here for 4 nights as part of a tour of Cornwall and I think it probably encapsulates Cornwall. The views towards Sennen Cove and the ocean were amazing. You are constantly aware of the changing weather and the pounding of the surf. On a sunny day the sea was an amazing turquoise and you could watch the waves breaking on the rocks. And then there's the wind which blows almost constantly - the washing dried but I had to keep checking it was still pegged onto the line and not blowing across the field! There is access to the Coastal Path which is we walked to Land's end and to Cape Cornwall. The site is within walking distance of St. Just, probably my favourite town in Cornwall. This is a rugged landscape in every sense of the word and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

mossypossy

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 14/05/2021 07:49

16 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Stunning views, no nonsense campsite

Stayed last week for a couple of nights, really large field, stunning views and no need to be close to anyone the field is that big. If you are looking for fantastic facilities it's not for you, the loo and shower are basic but very clean. If you are looking for somewhere to get away from it all, sit back and relax and enjoy the view then it's perfect. The lane IS narrow so not good for large vehicles or caravans but perfectly fine for our VW camper.

DoctorAndy

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 10/09/2020 15:33

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Stunning Views

Situated high above Gwenver beach, this CL is perfect for a peaceful relaxing holiday with amazing views across Sennen to Lands End and, on a good day, the Isles of Scilly. Sunsets are to die for! The facilities (loo and shower) are basic but clean. Access was fine in our campervan, although a large caravan may struggle. Worth the effort and careful navigation though for a totally unique and special site.

SarahTorr

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 27/08/2019 19:54

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer