Gurland Farm

Rated 4 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

When you get there it's worth it!

As stated in the previous review, the lane approaching this site is very tricky! We were in a campervan so it wasn't too bad but I would think it would be difficult in a large motorhome or long caravan. The owner could improve the track by filling in dips and improving the area just outside the site. Yes there are farm buildings near the site but it's a working farm so we didn't find these off putting at all. We had no issue with levelling our campervan. The view is amazing! I don't think you will find much better! The walk to the coast path is not straight forward but again, worth it. We didn't use the shower (there is an extra charge for this but I don't know what it was) and the toilet was kept clean and tidy. We did email 3 times to try and book with no reply so I suggest if you wish to book you phone instead.

CornishChicken

Reviewed on 12/06/2022 10:30

21 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 1 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 2 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Oh dear

The access to this site is appalling for any vehicle. On the way out it's even worse due to a very steep right hand turn onto a lane that made our wheels spin. Maybe in good weather, with no wind, the view makes it worthwhile but we were unable to stay. We like a basic CL but could not find sufficiently level ground to pitch up on and the almost abandoned-looking farm buildings that greeted us at the top of a deeply riveted and pot-holed track were not exactly welcoming. Neither was the clay pigeon shoot in the next field (we have a dog sensitive to bangs so this was the last thing we needed). I've never left a negative review before as I think CLs offer a wonderful service for an astonishingly low price but I'm surprised this site qualifies to be in the network and people really should take heed of the reviews that warn about the access - I wish we had.

DaveWB

Reviewed on 08/09/2021 20:23

4 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Stunning place very peaceful, loads of great places to walk, site has nice hot shower, & toilet maybe small but nice & clean.

Great site just what you want if you just want peace & quiet, clean shower lovely & hot. Nice clean toilet, great places to walk. Only 20min walk down to the dog beach. Hr walk into Sennen cove from camp, no dogs on 2nd beach from 10am till 6pm but ok after that, but you can walk over dunes to Sennen, great to sit on camp watching the surfing. Lovely places for the dogs to run. Overall flipping great, will be back next year,

ScreenNameCAD80032C2

Campervanner

Reviewed on 09/08/2021 12:00

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Essential Cornwall

We stayed here for 4 nights as part of a tour of Cornwall and I think it probably encapsulates Cornwall. The views towards Sennen Cove and the ocean were amazing. You are constantly aware of the changing weather and the pounding of the surf. On a sunny day the sea was an amazing turquoise and you could watch the waves breaking on the rocks. And then there's the wind which blows almost constantly - the washing dried but I had to keep checking it was still pegged onto the line and not blowing across the field! There is access to the Coastal Path which is we walked to Land's end and to Cape Cornwall. The site is within walking distance of St. Just, probably my favourite town in Cornwall. This is a rugged landscape in every sense of the word and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

mossypossy

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 14/05/2021 07:49

16 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Stunning views, no nonsense campsite

Stayed last week for a couple of nights, really large field, stunning views and no need to be close to anyone the field is that big. If you are looking for fantastic facilities it's not for you, the loo and shower are basic but very clean. If you are looking for somewhere to get away from it all, sit back and relax and enjoy the view then it's perfect. The lane IS narrow so not good for large vehicles or caravans but perfectly fine for our VW camper.

DoctorAndy

Motorhomer from Cumberland

Reviewed on 10/09/2020 15:33

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Stunning Views

Situated high above Gwenver beach, this CL is perfect for a peaceful relaxing holiday with amazing views across Sennen to Lands End and, on a good day, the Isles of Scilly. Sunsets are to die for! The facilities (loo and shower) are basic but clean. Access was fine in our campervan, although a large caravan may struggle. Worth the effort and careful navigation though for a totally unique and special site.

SarahTorr

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 27/08/2019 19:54

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Just What We Enoy!

We are so pleased to have found this gem of a campsite which is an easy distance for us. Just what we enjoy when out in our motorhome! Amazing views - peace and tranquility - no fuss - basic but clean ablutions. The owner was friendly and helpful when we arrived. This will definately be a place we will return to, often. I agree that towing a caravan could be a bit tricky, but we managed the access perfectly in our vehicle

Dale Jones

Reviewed on 27/05/2019 21:12

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 2 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Only suitable for very small caravans or tents

Unfortunately the tiny winding up hill road is not suitable for our caravan which is a 4 birth. Very tight on corners scratched all the windows on one side of our caravan. The turning into the country road is very steep and sharp. When you do finally get to the top there are a lot of large rocks and bits of metal sticking out of the mud road. Once on the field the views are amazing and well worth the £10 a night but I would definitely never use it again with the size of caravan we have now. Also like to add the farmer lets his dog out unsupervised to wee up everything you own and poo's in the field were his mess is not cleaned up.

Richard banner

Reviewed on 25/07/2018 17:50

5 reviews

3 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 3 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Mixed comments

Site approach from the main road is appalling and if you value your caravan or motorhome then don't try it. The site is also crossed by a public footpath used by dog walkers who mostly fail to clear up after their pooches so watch where you are walking. The site is very exposed to the South West and could be very uncomfortable in gales that frequent this part of England. In general the site is overpriced for what is on offer and watch the weather forcasts

stevesal

Reviewed on 10/09/2017 21:56

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 2 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 2 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A little piece of heaven!

If you want mod cons and regulated camp site, don't come here! BUT if you want peace and tranquility, sea views and sunsets to die for then this is the place! Overlooking Sennan cove and right alongside the coastal footpath it is ideally situated for the perfect holiday. Access to the site is challenging to say the least, especially if you're towing a caravan but campers will have no problem. Large long motor homes will have problem of grounding at the entrance to the farm so be aware! We live at Falmouth and come in the summer time for a bit of sanity!!

cornishgail

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 06/06/2016 18:45

1 review

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer