Meadow Cottage CL

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

2 weeks of bliss - wish we had stayed longer

We booked Meadow Cottage CL so that we could explore a new part of England. Julie was very charming and helpful from the outset whilst we juggled our dates. The site is a delight - a good sized mown field with plenty of space for 5 vans to spread out. This is the depths of the Somerset countryside, wonderfully peaceful and with attractive views. We used the CL as a base to visit several NT properties within easy reach and also nearby towns, Sherborne and Yeovil. With good weather we also enjoyed just relaxing on site..... There are several recommended pubs in the area and a wonderful farm shop and café less than a mile away down the lane. Breakfast and lunch at the farm shop are perfection. Try the smashed avocado on toast....... TV signal is good and WiFi excellent - we appreciated the latter for keeping in touch with family abroad. Thank you Julie and Peter for a lovely, relaxing break in our busy lives.

brissle

Caravanner

Reviewed on 12/09/2023 09:41

15 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

An easy 5 stars!

This is a lovely site. Welcoming host, great location, lots of walks. Would certainly stay here again.

Dom82

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 30/08/2023 15:21

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Friendly, Peaceful & Tranquil

A warm welcome right from when we arrived. Beautiful site (very cute Alpaca) easy access to a number of interesting places to visit. Beautiful walks and countryside with a number of local pubs within easy distance. This site is also great if you just want to sit back and relax without any noise. We cannot praise this site enough, we will return without doubt. A big thank you to the owners.

Bok Doos

Reviewed on 10/04/2023 21:30

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Tranquil site with warm welcome.

I cannot recommend this site enough. The owners offered us a warm welcome and gave a very detailed guide to the area. The site is only a mile from the A303, but you can barely hear it. The sights of the animals on site make a welcome diversion and I personally could watch all afternoon! True, you can use the site as a stop off to Cornwall, but Somerset has so much to offer in it's own right and this site offers a perfect refuge to access it all!

arcadian

Caravanner

Reviewed on 02/10/2021 17:09

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Brilliant site in great surroundings

We stopped at this lovely CL for a night on our journey both to and from Sussex and Cornwall. Julie was very friendly and welcoming, explaining where everything was located and offering further help if needed. The Covid precautions were excellent with barcode scan points and anti-bacterial sprays available. Peter came to our rescue, loaning an electric hookup cable, when my long cable developed a fault. An excellent CL to which we hope to return on many future occasions. Thank you Julie and Peter.

David Malkin

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 15/09/2021 12:01

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

An absolute gem.

This is a gem of a site. We only used it for a stop over as it is so convenient for the A303. The grass is well kept. The views are great. Watching the geese, the alpacas and the pig in the adjoining field was so good. The welcome was excellent and the sheet giving all the local details made us wish we were staying longer. Perhaps we'll stay longer next year. Why go all the way to Cornwall when this site and its surroundings are so attractive?

TonyBurton

Caravanner

Reviewed on 14/08/2021 15:35

17 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Beautiful Location

We only stayed for one night on the way to Cornwall but feel like we’ve missed out. A warm welcome with a printed guide to the area started things off. The site is absolutely beautiful with great views over the surrounding countryside. Electric hookup and excellent water and waste facilities make this an excellent CL. Just make sure you call ahead if your rig is on the large size as the official entrance is a bit tight. We’ll be back for a longer stay soon as there’s plenty to do and see in this area.

Abbey470

Reviewed on 26/06/2021 20:48

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Ideal stop over

set among quiet countryside this is a lovely little site, the grass is well cut and the ground practically level, yet only a few minutes from the A303 if you want to break a journey. A short walk takes you to a farm / tea shop. Nearest neighbours onsite are geese and alpacas Nearby Haynes motor museum and Fleet Air museum.

AdriaCoral

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 12/06/2021 19:28

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

I will be back!

I only stayed for one night as I am familiarising my puppy with camping. She is too young to take advantage of all the lovely walks available from this site, so I shall be returning when she is older. Julie was very welcoming and the leaflet showing the local OS map, was very helpful. A lovely clean, neat site with the added advantage of chickens, ducks, geese & alpacas. And the Gloucester Old Spot Apple! A peaceful stay in the beautiful Somerset countryside despite the unseasonable wind.

Lin Sheppard

Reviewed on 06/05/2021 14:48

19 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Friendly Peaceful site with surrounding views.

Being 4 miles from home this became our first site after covid to try out our New campervan. What a gem it had everything we wanted lovely friendly couple running it, well equipped, beautiful views with sun rises and sun sets (photography opportunities) and lots of interesting walks with our dog. A bonus having a small holding of animals Alpacas, pigs geese and ducks which kept our dog and us amused. Local farm shops and pubs make it the perfect place to stay. Looking forward to going again very soon.

bersted

Campervanner

Reviewed on 26/04/2021 22:43

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer