Moat Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Tranquil site in middle of Suffolk

This was our second visit to this quiet site. Has very good facilities and pitches are flat and level. Henry is very helpful. Easy to find and access provided you follow the directions and not the satnav!

KateandAndrewPoynter

Caravanner

Reviewed on 14/07/2024 11:52

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

One of the best

Moat Farm is set in beautiful and tranquil Suffolk countryside. The Orchard makes for a beautiful setting, and the big skies offer some lovely sunsets. As evening draws in, so the rabbits come out to play, which makes for pleasant viewing. The pitches are all level and spacious, some are hardstanding. The rubbish/recycling is tidy and hygienic. There is a wooden building which contains an excellent and convenient shower and toilet. We stayed just as the first of the apples were due to be picked and it was quite exciting to see the preparation beginning and did not disturb us in the slightest. Henry, the owner is a very friendly man who just wants people to have a nice stay. Watch out for his naughty sheepdog though who likes to steal apples off the trees! Very friendly and cute, but if she carries on doing that Henry will have no apples left to pick! The East of England Co Op in nearby Debenham kept us fed and watered the whole time we were there, and I managed to drink my way through all the various Suffolk Ciders and Beers! We visited Aldeburgh, Felixstowe, Great Yarmouth, Snape Maltings, Norwich, Dunwich, and many more. Highly recommended, we will be back for sure!

MysteryMachine

Caravanner

Reviewed on 27/08/2023 17:29

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great peaceful site.

We have just come home 15th July 2023 after staying 9 nights at this lovely peaceful site. The site is very dog friendly and no restrictions on how many. Henry the owner is always to hand if any problems and will always take time to talk to you to make sure everything Is ok.

GraSteph

Caravanner

Reviewed on 15/07/2023 18:33

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Rabbits - EVERYWHERE!

Spent 4 nights here over the late Spring bank holiday, arriving on the Thursday, a cold, windy and cloudy day. Being in a motorhome we chose to pitch up on one of two of the hardstandings available. Unfortunately both hardstandings lose the sun in the evening, so worth bearing in mind when pitching up - had we realised at the time we may have pitched up on the grass as we were on our own until the next day - but no matter. The site is well kept and Henry, the owner, came to welcome us on the evening of our arrival. We took advantage of a couple of the public footpaths in the evening, when the sun eventually came out, and had a pleasant walk, though ended up walking on the road at one stage as we didn't want to back track on ourselves. Thankfully the road was very peaceful. The following 3 days we went out on our ebikes - and clocked up 109+ miles cycling loops to Framlingham, Kersey and Stowmarket, utilising many of the quiet country lanes and National Cycle Routes. The pub in Debenham, The Woolpack, was a great stop off on two of our rides. We can highly recommend the local Aspall's cyder and Earl Soham beer. On the subject of beverages, Moat Farm apple juice is also delicious and is sold at the entrance to the site. We did ask on the Sunday evening if we had to leave by midday on the Monday, and was informed we could stay longer than the normal midday departure, but unfortunately as the morning was cold and windy we decided to strike camp and leave anyway. All in all we had a very pleasant stay - and we can honestly say - we have never seen so many rabbits!

Carolee

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 30/05/2023 19:08

65 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peaceful CL

Situated in the middle of an apple orchard this is a very peaceful site. It has two hardstanding pitches and the others grass, plenty of space on all pitches. There is a toilet and shower room, the shower is now free to use. Good recycling facilities and electric hook ups. Henry was very friendly as were his two dogs who were often on site having escaped their garden. It was lovely when we visited as there was still some blossom on the trees. There are walks from the site, sadly we did not manage to read the maps very well but it was wet underfoot so we resorted to walking into Debenham on the road, roughly 2 miles each way, most of the way its a quiet lane it gets a bit busier for the last bit. Unfortunately we had a terrible storm on our last night, it raged for hours and resulted in the site becoming flooded, something Henry had never seen before, well done climate change!!

AndyChrisW

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 20/05/2023 19:14

23 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

So quiet and peaceful, well worth a visit.

This is a wonderfully peaceful site. Visited in November and had it all to ourselves. Surrounded by lovely countryside with so many good walks direct from site. A very neat and tidy site with all the usual amenities plus a toilet and coin operated shower. Had the choice of grass or hard standing pitch with plenty of space between each. Well worth a visit as some lovely villages nearby to explore. Didn't meet the owners but everything was fine so didn't feel we needed to. They left details of how to get in touch if we did need to. We will definitely return to this site in the future and hopefully stay longer next time.

PhillAliK

Caravanner

Reviewed on 08/11/2022 20:45

24 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

It's a working apple farm

Visited in September and the apple picking season had begun and the farm was busy. Lovely place to relax with plenty of footpaths from site to walk. Toilet block was clean and well looked after. Although we experience one or two problems on site, would not hesitate to visit again.

Steve2000a

Caravanner

Reviewed on 13/09/2022 21:04

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely quiet site

Very quiet private site well away from the road on a working apple farm. Well equipped with toilet/shower block etc. Owner very friendly and helpful.

KateandAndrewPoynter

Caravanner

Reviewed on 14/02/2022 06:58

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely peaceful site

Lovely site, last little bit of journey single track road but caused us no problems. First day of apple harvest but apart from the occasional tractor carrying the apples, we would not have known. Plenty of walks and no light pollution. Very clean facilities. Thoroughly recommended.

Bill Turner

Caravanner

Reviewed on 18/09/2021 17:13

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fantastic little site

What an absolutely fantastic little site. Tucked away from it all, so peaceful yet so many places to travel to by car. I was concerned our 2 x children would feel it was too quiet, however they absolutely loved the freedom. We mostly enjoyed our evening strolls into Debenham Village, across the beautiful suffolk fields. Where we enjoyed a local pint at "The Woolpack" (so friendly) and fish and chips at the village chip shop. Henry (the owner) was so welcoming, on hand if needed. The apple juice made on the farm was beautiful. We have no doubt we will return, at some point in the future (if Moat Farm will have us and there is space!). Please don't change Moat Farm...you are pretty special the way you are 😊

Summer1979

Caravanner

Reviewed on 21/08/2021 22:21

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer