New Barn Farm CL

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A gem …

From emailing asking for availability Rachel really helpful and prompt . On arrival day a warm welcome . In a Motorhome great pitch , enjoyed the calmness and hearing the cows munch their evening snack . Close to Sherston and Malmsbury . We will back and if just being is your thing this is a gem of a place ( almost didn’t want to review as it’s too good ) . Thank you A & M & Motorhome Brian

ClubMemberB43525D9FA

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 17/05/2024 15:24

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Just perfect

From our first contact with Rachel, her prompt response to our initial enquiry and her warm welcome on our arrival, everything was perfect. Access to this basic but perfectly formed site is easy. Some of the roads from M4 are narrow but we had no difficulties in our 7.4m vehicle. The site is clearly signed, and offers 5 well-spaced level pitches all with water, grey water drain and EHU, and best of all lovely views over the farm's fields and a genuinely peaceful location. The small washroom was spotlessly clean and offered a good quality hot shower separate toilet. Add to this many lovely nearby destinations to visit, some within cycling distance, New Barn Farm is now on our list of favourite CL sites.

RER

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 07/05/2024 21:25

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peaceful site, lovely owners.

What a gem! Lovely spacious hard standing pitches all with EHU. The facility area is more than substantial with two toilets and one shower, all very clean and warm. There is a toilet emptying point and clear labelling for rubbish disposal. Points of interest to visit are Westonbirt Arboretum ( this is a paid trip out), Tetbury is very nice, lots of antique shops and Malmsbury is worth a visit, especially to see Malmsbury Abbey. All in all a great site at a good price with picturesque views. One final point.....their fresh eggs are delicious 😋 We'll definitely visit again 👍 Jane and Russ from Dartmoor 🤗

Jane and Russ

Reviewed on 18/02/2024 12:59

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fantastic CL near Westonbirt Arboretum

This was our first experience of a CL site and we loved it. Friendly welcome, with easy access. Very peaceful, rural and beautiful. 5 well spaced level pitches, with 2 toilets and 1 shower. Great location near Malmesbury and Westonbirt Arboretum. We would definitely return.

ClubMember11CF0D5431

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 14/12/2023 19:08

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peaceful location, good views, easy access to surrounding amenities.

I echo all the excellent reviews below, this is a gem. Access is easy in 7.7m MH, BUT beware the huge potholes often hidden by large puddles on the nearby roads, not New Barn’s problem, but will be yours if you drop a wheel into one on the very dark roads! My advise is stop and give way to any oncoming vehicles well in advance so choosing to avoid the potholes. Water upstands exposed to the weather and froze during our stay. Facilities very good. Star gazing great due to very low light pollution and the moon/sun rises are spectacular. Nearby Sheraton (you need to drive really) offers a couple of good pubs, and an Indian restaurant / takeaway.

Nessa and Crew

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 04/12/2023 09:48

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A very pleasant visit.

I can recommend this well set out CL wholeheartedly. Visiting in October 2023, we were very soon welcomed on to the site by Rachel, and had a good chat. The site is well laid out with hardstandings for each caravan and with a hardstanding driveway. Each site is fully serviced. My blue water hose did not quite reach the tap, but I soon created an extension with some extra blue hose and some Hoselock adapters. The setting is very pleasant, with the regular milking of cows in the distant barn (not too noisy!) and wide views across the field to some large copses. The farm is off the beaten track, but readily accessible from the Sheraton road B4040. Peace and quiet reigns at all times, with only rare passing traffic. The site is equipped with a well equipped and heated toilet block and also a shower, very nice on a chilly day. The recycling system is excellent, as is waste disposal, all under shelter. The Recycling facilities and the toilet block are also kept tidy and clean, very pleasing. There are plenty of visits to make in the area as well - we found plenty to do including National Trust properties, The National Arboretum, Malmesbury, a lovely lake near Wootton Bassett,, and The Cotswold airfield at Kemble, amongst others. Altogether, a very nice place to stay, with all the facilities you could wish for

PaulHarris

Caravanner from Somerset

Reviewed on 02/11/2023 10:22

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Enjoyed a peaceful stay

We stayed at New Barn Farm at the end of September and beginning of October, Rachel welcomed us to the site and arranged for us to get some farm fresh eggs from her. Well kept site, ideally located for us as its well out of the way of hustle and bustle of busy areas. We had lovely time and will return.

JPMajik6465

Caravanner from Lancashire

Reviewed on 28/10/2023 11:39

11 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A first class C.L.

We visited New Barn Farm CL with our caravan in June 2023. Rachel came from the farm and greeted us straight away. We picked the pitch next to the toilets and shower, which were cleaned daily and were always spic and span. No charge for the hot shower. All the pitches are hard standing and dead level with lots of room for the caravan and awning without using the grassy areas. There’s drinking water and grey water drainage on each pitch along with un-metered 16A electricity. The water pressure is very high so this may be a problem if direct connection to the caravan (as opposed to being via an aquaroll and pump) is used. We used the latter system but turned the water tap off every time we went out and last thing at night, as we always do. The site offers good views of open countryside to the north but there is no view to the south due to the very high hedge between to site and the road (Foxley Road). There are no outside lights on the site, which is a good thing in my opinion because stargazing is great (weather permitting) with virtually zero light pollution with no major towns close by. Foxley Road is very quiet. The approach to the site is straightforward from either direction on Foxley Road even though it’s single track. If you approach from the north via the A433 (as we did) there is a jog over a narrow bridge over the Sherston branch of the River Avon in Easton Grey which requires some care with a caravan. TV reception is good but can fade a little in the evening. Mobile reception (in my case EE) was a little flaky sometimes for both calls and data. A mobile modem/router with external antenna might work better than holding my phone against the window trying to get a signal. There’s lots to do. Many public footpaths (get a map), Stonehenge (although too busy to appreciate any sort of spirituality or atmosphere), Old Sarum (much better in that regard), close-by Westonbirt Arboretum with many kilometres of easy trails, most wheelchair friendly, the excellent Great Western Steam Museum in Swindon (where you can operate the levers in the old fashioned signal box and go in Queen Victoria’s Royal Train) to name but a few. A really enjoyable break. Chris and Trevor Armstrong

Trevora

Caravanner from Derbyshire

Reviewed on 18/07/2023 11:06

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Relaxing and peaceful site

Met by Rachel who is a great owner and a lovely person. The site is testament to her hard work. A lovely site with beautiful views. The facilities always clean the shower good and hot. Many places to visit we were ther for 2 weeks and enjoyed every moment. Highly recommend visiting this CL. Thanks again Rachel for a wonderful stay.

Poppies

Caravanner

Reviewed on 27/06/2023 18:13

20 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Perfect CL

A perfect CL. Rachel the host has this site just right. A lovely rural setting but within easy access to lots of places of interest. Fresh eggs available from the farm for breakfast was a bonus. Highly recommend.

TheFoxfamily

Reviewed on 22/05/2023 08:29

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer