Rosehill Cottage

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peaceful CL amidst lovely green fields

We agree with previous reviews - a little well-kept gem of a CL owned by a lovely lady. Quiet, good safe access. In addition to the horses in adjacent fields we’ve enjoyed our breakfasts watching the red kites, squirrels and quails. It is nice to see the 10mph limit adhered to. Short walk to the village store and The Crown (friendly welcome and very good meals). We would certainly recommend Rosehill and would return again if in the area.

Sharpey

Caravanner

Reviewed on 20/04/2024 10:51

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely CL

My husband and I have just returned from a 7 night stay at this lovely CL. Google Maps took us straight there without a problem and access was really easy through the secure electronic gate. The site is nice and level and has lovely views across fields of horses and surrounding countryside and the owner's lovely garden. We loved that you can walk to the village directly from the site. We also walked to Pirton and Meppershall and had outings to Hitchin, Pegsford Hills Nature Reserve, Wimpole Estate (National Trust), Gravenhurst and Maulden and Sharpenhoe Clappers. Really lovely area for walking. The owner, Mrs Simkins, is a really lovely lady and one afternoon came to tell us that a Lancaster Bomber was due to fly over the site so my husband was ready with his camera. Would certainly recommend this site and wouldn't hesitate to return if we are ever in the area again

Paul Tillman

Caravanner

Reviewed on 12/05/2023 16:51

7 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Absolutely Perfect

Booked here for 5 nights as visiting family in Hitchin. 15 minute drive to them, so perfect. Easy to find with satnav. Little bit bumpy on entrance, electric gate easily accessed with gate code. Drive onto site really good, Was wary of going on grass now into winter months but site owner so reassuring ! All worked well Surrounded by fields with beautiful horses. Eslan point, fresh water, plenty bins. Easy flat 10 min walk through fields, well signposted, into village, with lovely little shop, post office, garage, excellent pub, good food, friendly staff with local sourced gifts & book library. Dog friendly so perfect !! Beautiful walks through Shillington, & to other villages. Had five amazingly good nights sleep, so peaceful ! Unexpectedly as literally in middle of farm & livery Highly recommend & will use again when visiting family.

ScreenName00DC723A3B

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 13/11/2022 17:44

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely Setting

This is a lovely site, everything you need in a CL, close to all the bigger towns, a few pubs nearby and easy links to both the M6 and M1, but best of all is the view over the owner's garden which is absolutely beautiful. Would highly recommend. Thank you for a lovely stay.

elliekay

Caravanner

Reviewed on 30/05/2022 10:56

7 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great stay in May 2021

We came to this site in May 2021 to visit family, and relax! The site is beautiful quiet and peaceful . Surrounded by fields with horses! The lady that owns the site is very friendly, we had some lovely conversations with her, and the same is said of her daughter! We are hoping to return again very soon! A real little gem!

maccer1966

Reviewed on 09/08/2021 12:04

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely CL

Just returned from 2 nights here. What a lovely cl site owned by a lovely lady, had a lovely chat. Stayed for the weekend as we wanted to try out our caravan and we live around 10 miles away. We were so pleased we chose here, what a lovely peaceful site. Enjoyed watching the pheasants and birds, the horses were gorgeous, although close by we never heard them, they were enjoying munching the grass. We will definitely be spending more weekends here to just relax. Looking forward to going back. 5 stars *****

Sharktale

Caravanner

Reviewed on 13/06/2021 21:58

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Splendid countryside location C.L.

3 nights in May 21 Excellent location for Hitchin and Letchworth, flat, firm, freshly mown grass pitches, sat nav made light work of finding it using postcode. Driveway of about 400 metres which of which is work in progress as 300 metres renewed and all easy to negotiate at 10 mph. Great views from site with easy flat walk to Local village. Site well laid out and owner charming. A joy, will be back.

Sunsetter17

Reviewed on 11/05/2021 13:38

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent CL

Stayed three nights in April 2021 as a base for visiting relatives in local area. Friendly and helpful welcome from Mrs.Simkins. Grass had been mown that morning and cuttings removed. Nice and flat, with lovely views. Didn't have dogs with me this time but there are plenty of walks around the fields and into the village. Very peaceful. Hardly noticed that it's a working farm, and the horses in the adjacent fields added to the pleasant atmosphere. Waste and recycling area fine (although some people obviously struggle to follow the simple instructions to sort items into the different bins!). Would definitely use this site again.

SteveScott34

Caravanner

Reviewed on 03/05/2021 23:16

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent, will return

Lovely spot, fantasic access straight onto the local bridleways and paths, a short walk to the pub and shop.

david pryce

Reviewed on 27/07/2020 13:08

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great site

Peaceful with good dog walks and lovely horsey atmosphere

Kevin1and2Lorna

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 10/07/2020 11:54

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer