Rosewood Farm

Rated 4 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 2 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 2 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Unhappy with site information

On arrival found pitches on steep slope difficult to get in and out off and level to the caravan, not suitable for an awning, only really suitable for car with high spec 4 x4. Prices could be made clearer as it worked out very expensive per night Youngs 11/23

garyyoung55

Reviewed on 11/07/2023 09:37

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Beautiful spot

Wow what a little beauty!! Our 2nd trip away in our Motorhome and we were not disappointment!! The pitch for the Motorhome was perfect, right at the top looking down to the horses grazing and lake and woods in the distance. So peaceful and relaxing. The lake was lovely to sit and relax around and a lovely woodland to walk round. A really peaceful spot. The owners were lovely and welcoming. Glad we bought the car so we could take a drive out. Will definitely be returning and would definitely recommend. Thank you

Sara and Luke Turner

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 31/05/2021 16:43

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A real hidden gem!

We loved our trip to Rosewood Farm! Graham was very warm and welcoming and was on hand if we needed anything but otherwise left us to enjoy the lovely surroundings. We stayed on the campervan pitch which was in a great location at the top of site - from here we enjoyed the lovely view down to the adjacent lake and the woodland behind. The kids loved the chickens and horses and the lake was perfect for a little spot of paddle boarding. One of the other reviews mentioned they were disappointed by appearance of the entrance to the site but don't let that put you off in the slightest as once you're in the site the views are lovely and the whole place has a real charm to it - we love the fact that Rosewood Farm has an undeveloped, rustic feel to it and will definitely be back again soon :)

Nick Sunlight T68

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 28/05/2021 14:46

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A Sussex gem!

After 20 plus years of caravanning this has to be one of the best CLs we have visited. An absolute gem. There’s easy access to the site from the roads leading up to it and although the site is on a hill it is terraced to provide level pitches that are easy to manoeuvre into for any half competent caravaner. We have now had four visits to Rosewood Farm and each time we have been enthralled by the peace and beauty of the place. The site is beautifully kept and Graham the owner is always friendly and helpful. It is lovely to sit and watch the ponies in the field in front of the site or take a two minute stroll down to the beautiful lake or into the tranquil woods beyond. The carp in the lake are relaxing to watch and on our most recent visit we were blessed to see a Kestrel which came to perch on a fence post not far from our caravan. Each time we’ve stayed at Rosewood Farm we have had no desire to leave the site as it is such a wonderful place to be. If you are looking for a peaceful few days away this site is idyllic.

MPage

Caravanner

Reviewed on 26/05/2021 22:26

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Made to feel completely welcome.

As some previous reviews have mentioned the site is on a slope but, with care and some level of driving ability, is easy enough to navigate. Graham is more than willing to help if required. The advantage of a sloping site is that the views are over the roof of the neighbouring pitches and not into their windows. Graham and his family made us feel unbelievably welcome from the moment we arrived and we felt like guests of the family throughout our stay. On the site, and only a couple of hundred steps from the CL field, is an amazing lake surrounded by stunning and peaceful woodland which we were privileged to be allowed to explore to our hearts content. Wonderful wildlife was everywhere. Geese and goslings, sheep and lambs, ponies and birds of so many varieties were right on our doorstep. If peace and tranquility are your desire then I cannot recommend Rosewood Farm highly enough.

Johnfarndell

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 03/05/2021 17:00

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Mid sze van and car. Facts

After paying the deposit I received a list of site requirements, one would be challenging if one intended an extended visit . Dog mess to be collected and taken home??? The other requirements created the perception one would need carpet slippers on the site, arriving at the entrance and van area I thought it needed tidying up. The club handbook lists woods and lakes and level pitches, the woods/lakes are good, and yes my pitch had level concrete pads for the van wheels, but the pitch was terraced was not level. After setting up there was clearance of about 4" under the tow hitch and about 18 " at the back of the van, the area for an awning sloped away from the van by about a foot. Guide ropes would have been on the slope to the lower pitch. After 20 + years caravanning I know when using an awnings isn't a good idea. Did not think the extra charge for awnings justified, left the next morning. Due to rain had to lock my 4x4 drive to get up the exit road. For first time ever glad to leave a CL. Dissapponting visit

Feltspar

Reviewed on 17/09/2020 10:19

7 reviews

3 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great site - worth a visit

Stayed on this site to get away for a few days after all the lockdown. Communication from Graham the owner was great from the initial enquiry and throughout. Clear instructions and easy to find. Once we had pitched Graham popped down to make sure we were all good and had found everything. A steep site but with level pitches and well set up. Fantastic view and a nice and peaceful site. Also a large forest area that you can wander freely in. The dogs loved it. Recommend this site if you are in this area

Hadders

Caravanner

Reviewed on 24/08/2020 16:30

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Relaxing time

First time here. Lovely view of the lake and woods. You can walk on Grahams land and can go further and walk into the village which takes roughly an hour. Geese on the lake which was nice to watch as they had babies. 3 ponys in the bottom field so plenty to watch. Heathfield only a short drive away car parking has no height restrictions which is a bonus. Would definately come again

BarbnDave

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 07/08/2020 15:52

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Disappointing Pitch

Beautiful scenery and woodland walks. Friendly owner and lovely dog. Owls hooting at night, ponies in the field adjacent and lovely grass pitches which were closed as the ground was too soft but I can imagine are lovely in the dryer weather. Unfortunately we were disappointed with the ‘hard standing’ pitch as it was pure mud. We appreciate recent bad weather however hard standing is just that ‘hard standing’ not squelchy mud full of puddles that was impossible at times to walk on in certain places. To give you an idea of just how muddy it was our 4x4 truck was spinning in the mud which was supposed to be ‘hard standing’. You could see evidence of old stones so perhaps at some point it was gravel but it certainly wasn’t hard standing when we arrived. A very steep hill on the property to get to the pitches and very poor signage around the site. Lots of old laminated notices that were unreadable and the electrics tripped at least twice daily even though we were the only ones on site. On a positive note our two spaniels enjoyed the mud and we enjoyed listening out for the owl at night. We left a day early and unfortunately won’t be returning.

Comment from the Club:

Thank you for your review and we are so pleased you enjoyed the beautiful scenery and wildlife at this lovely CL Site. The CL owner has been in touch as he works hard to ensure that everyone has an enjoyable stay. He has advised that the mud which was a problem in the very wet winter has been removed from the tarmac.

Louisa Everett

Caravanner

Reviewed on 21/02/2020 23:16

9 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peace and Tranquillity

We have been visiting Rosewood Farm for years, the site and locations really are fantastic. We honestly think it is the best 5 van site in East Sussex ( sense frequently returning for the past 15 years). All pitches host a superb view of the lake, along with being level and accessible. There are numerous footpaths from the site along with a well_stocked lake for fishing. Off-site there are a lot on National Trust properties, historic land sites and woodland walks within the local vicinity. The lake hold an amazing head of carp and Silverfish to cater for the carp and course angler alike. There is a picnic bench situated on a pontoon for picnics and maybe even a dip in the lake if you dare... keep an eye out for the Kingfisher! Upon arrival speaking to the owner is common practice, as with most sites. The recycling and waste facilities provided are to be utilised and make for a clean environment for all. The owner is also happy to assist with manoeuvring vans in or out pitches as required. In summary, if you are looking for a wonderfully peaceful retreat in East Sussex then look no further. We look forward to returning to Rosewood in the near future. T and S

qwertyui

Reviewed on 23/09/2019 19:10

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer