Sharnfold Farm

Rated 4 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

This is a good CL site.

KlausVamos middle aged couple 8.8m MH This is a good CL. Flat pitches with EHU, water and CDP nearby. Useful farm shop, butcher and coffee shop. Pub 5 minute walk. Bus 1X Hailsham to Eastbourne 10 minute walk . Cuckoo cycle way 5 minutes away. £16pn incl. will visit again.

Klausvamos

Motorhomer from Surrey

Reviewed on 01/04/2023 17:52

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 2 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Quagmire!!!!

We stayed here just before the first lockdown and just after a lot of rain. On arrival the directions said go into shop before pitching, no one seemed to know we would be staying, eventually one woman found the correct booking sheet and advised us not to drive on the grass but stay on hard standing. Got to the field and found it a quagmire, could not see the hard standings they were covered in grass. Got the owner to show us where hard standings were and backed the caravan onto one, dare not drive the car on the field as it was so soggy. We only stayed because we had theater tickets. Filling the water was a pain and both of us sank in the mud. Same with emptying the waste. As Lock down approached our show was postponed so we left early.. Even that was almost a disaster with the fencing coming very close to the van and had to have two goes at getting out on to driveway. Would we go back? Possibly but not after any periods of rain.

conecrusher

Caravanner from West Sussex

Reviewed on 03/10/2021 16:26

21 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Pleasant stay

Chose this site as we only wanted an overnight stay somewhere not to far from home. We've been here before Strawberry picking but never stayed over, so knew what to expect, it's a lovely place to visit with small children (we've 2 under 7s) fruit picking,small play area outside the farm shop/cafe, well stocked farm shop, a small fishing lake, and some lovely walks around the farm seeing animals , something the kids love doing. The site is adequate and does what it says on the tin, the toilets are a disappointment, as mentioned by many previous reviewers, and there is noise from the A27 but we didn't find it to disturbing. Theres a carvery pub next door with beer garden and play area. All in all a great little place for a short break or stopover, we will definitely visit again.

JRV1968

Reviewed on 23/06/2019 14:21

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 2 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A tad disappointing

We have just returned from a few days at Sharnfold Farm. We chose this site as we prefer to have on site toilet facilities but also for its close location to Eastbourne. It was just our luck that the day before we arrived the heavens opened and stayed open for 2 days! We found the site and drove through the farm, as advised by the previous contributor. Luckily the one hard standing plot was available so we positioned ourselves, quickly hooked up and hunkered down waiting for the rain to stop. Our first impressions were ok, we had a look around the very busy farm shop and found it to be very expensive so didn't buy anything. Surprisingly we were not greeted or approached by the farmer for the entire duration of our stay, I guess he was busy? We found the toilets, which we knew were shared by the farm visitors, but were very disappointed that they were not cleaned until 5 days into our stay with toilet paper and paper towels strewn across the floor. They are vey old and grubby with black bowls and not pleasant. We have a motorhome and needed to top up with fresh water, we found a drinking water tap and started to fill up, only to be told by a fellow camper that the tap didn't work! The water tap in the main field was too far for our hose to reach as the ground was still too soft for us to venture on after the rain, but we eventually found a water supply next to the toilets. However, the principle disappointment was the continued and relentless noise of cars and motorbikes racing along the bypass, all day, everyday. It was unbearable at times. The noise ruined the peace and quite and although there was plenty of wildlife to see, the sound was drowned by the motorbikes engines screaming! I did try fishing (£7) but unfortunately the weather (and motorbikes) impacted my enjoyment and I only caught a few small roach. On a second attempt a couple of days later I was snapped by a leviathan of a barbel on two separate occasions! Overall, the site looked a bit tired, the signs for the animal farm were all torn and faded, the rubbish bins and chemical waste emptying point were very grubby, and the toilets need to be refurbished. We came away with the impression that the CL was the lowest priority of the owners business portfolio. This is also yet another site that is charging more than the advertised cost on the web site and book price at £16 a night.

MartynandKym

Reviewed on 17/06/2019 15:10

12 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

An enjoyable stay

I enjoyed my 4-night stay here last month. It's tranquil and rural. The field had just been mown before I arrived; it really is a nice and well-maintained little site. However, I had to ask directions to the field on arrival (basically, you drive past the farm shop on your left and the site is about 25 metres further on, on your right - past the farm sheds. I think signage could be enhanced a bit. Be aware that the site fencing is contoured on the LHS to allow a camper van / motorhome to park on hardstanding OUTSIDE the fenced field - you could end up with a rather close new neighbour on the other side of the fence, as I discovered, to my surprise. The farm has an excellent shop (you pay there on arrival), and a friendly café attached. I would have eaten breakfast there, but it doesn't open until 0930 - unfortunately too late for me, as I had events to attend. Lots of wildlife and birdsong, and attractive ponds and wooded areas for a short evening stroll. There are, as people have mentioned, wind generators within about 1/2 mile but the occasional sound was muted and not troubling at all. I'll look forward to returning next year.

PhilHart

Caravanner

Reviewed on 28/05/2019 21:07

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Easy Access to Eastbourne

We stayed at Sharnfold for 2 nights in early October. We have a dog that needs plenty of walking but found that the walks on site were forbidden to dogs, so we were obliged to use the public footpath bisecting the site which crosses the A27 Eastbourne bypass. Northbound the path was not marked and looked as if you had to cross a ploughed field if you followed the ordinance survey map. The shop on site and the nearby pubs were assets, as was the twice hourly bus (X1) which stops outside the entrance to the farm on request. Very convenient way of getting into town. We were aware of the traffic on the road nearby, but were not too inconvenienced by it. Facilities for children are good and we are thinking of returning with our grandchildren for another stay as this site has much to entertain them (nature walks, animals etc) and it is in easy reach of Knockhatch activity centre within a few miles. Recommend the delicious locally made ice-cream!

Themegas

Reviewed on 13/10/2018 19:43

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Pleasant weekend

We checked in for a very pleasant weekend at Sharnfold. The weather was fantastic and it was very peaceful. The lakes and the walks around the farm are lovely and lot of time has been put into them over the years - thank you and it is a pleasure to enjoy. The ground is still very soft and it was nice that Dennis has just marked out the entrances in the gate as pitches on hard standing. The caravan would have sunk into the grass leaving horrible divot tracks.

Mkubwa

Caravanner

Reviewed on 24/04/2018 11:33

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

best holiday ever

we have never stayed on cl site before great time best few days ever daughters loved the farm and its peacefulness will recommend to friends to stay and will be booking for longer next year

smudger69

Caravanner

Reviewed on 12/08/2016 17:27

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Good Site, value for money

Great little site. Excellent value for money at £12 a night. Owners friendly and helpful. Farm shop handy on site. The pub next door has lovely food at 2 for £10 Mon-Fri including carvery. Road noise from A22 but not so bad that you can't sleep and should not put anyone off this site. Lovely walk around the fishing lake and animals to see. One of the nicest CL's we have been on. Recommended

Brocton

Reviewed on 08/08/2015 22:44

11 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 3 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 2 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 2 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Not for us

Quite disappointed with site. Pictures on internet far better than what we sighted. Seemed to be a bit of a dumping ground near to allocated pitch. Needs tidying up and clearer information for arrival. Toilets are for all visitors to farm (and there are quite a lot). Lots of road noise all night.

The Brunts

Caravanner

Reviewed on 11/04/2015 15:56

17 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer