Tafarn Y Waen

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent newly taken over CL site Helpful friendly hosts, very reasonable, easy access & superb location all-round views of the Clwydian hills

This is a gem of a CL site. Just a few minutes from the A55 expressway not far from St Asaph. The road to the site is plenty wide enough for any size caravan and the site itself is easy to get onto. No dangerous narrow lanes to negotiate at all! Wonderful views from every window of the beautiful Clwydian range and plenty of room between pitches. Electric available and works perfectly. The pitches are set around a gravelled track and each has a handy picnic bench and plenty of grassed area around your around the pitch giving you your own space to relax in. Robert and Ann-Marie are very welcoming and helpful with excellent recommendations for local restaurants and pubs, nearby places of interest etc. I stayed in mid-April and thoroughly enjoyed my stay, and the price was very reasonable. Handy quiet dog-walks nearby and just a few minutes to drive back to the expressway if you want to head off west or east to explore North Wales.

ClubMember31CAF35734

Campervanner

Reviewed on 17/04/2024 13:51

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Nice site but expensive and write up is out of date

This is a nice, peaceful and pleasant site in a lovely area overlooking the Clywdian Hills and only 1 mile from the A55. The owners have recently taken over the site, and there are some things listed here that are not now available. The pub is no more, the property is a private residence, and there was no sign (or mention) of being able to use the facilities in the property. There is also no sign of wifi. The price was £29/night. Personally I think that is high for a CL with no facilities, and I don't feel it's good value at that price. The pitches are hardstanding (gravel), but the hardstanding only covers the front half of the caravan. If you have a motorhome then the back wheels will be on the grass. The grass was extremely boggy and was very long as a result of not being able to be cut yet - no doubt as a result of the incessant winter/spring rain, but our awning was pretty much unusable given how muddy and boggy the ground was. Your towing vehicle can't be parked with your unit, but is parked in the car park area at the top of the site. This wasn't a problem but is worth mentioning. The site wasn't full for our visit, but it's as well. I didn't think the pitch sizes were generous - if all five were occupied I'd feel a little overlooked. There is also an unfenced pond at the bottom of the site area - we don't have kids but if you did, they'd need to be careful around the pond. There are several lovely pubs and eateries in the area - we went to the Dinorben Arms for food (very nice meal), and the Salusbury Arms for a drink (lovely community owned pub in Tremierchion). The beaches of Prestayn, Rhyl and Conwy are all within 20-30 mins and easy to access. Robert greeted us on arrival and was extremely friendly and personable, and gave us lots of recommendations of places to eat and visit.

anewall

Reviewed on 06/04/2024 18:16

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely little site

Beautiful little site only 5 minutes off the A55 J28. Perfect for exploring North Wales. Pitch sizes are very generous and the whole site was very peaceful. Elaine and Pete, the owners, were very friendly and helpful. I will definitely use this site again and recommend to my friends visiting North Wales.

ScreenName63AAB95127

Caravanner

Reviewed on 15/04/2023 13:50

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A super CL site

We visited this CL site for a week over Easter 2023 with our granddaughters aged 16 & 12, in our touring caravan. The pitches are large and easily accessed, fresh water and sanitation points are also easily accessible. The site makes a good base for holiday attractions in North Wales, just off the A55. We enjoyed a super evening meal at the on site restaurant for my birthday. The owners Elaine and Pete, are very friendly and helpful, thank you for a great holiday!

Tintenter

Caravanner

Reviewed on 11/04/2023 20:17

8 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Good location and lovely surroundings

We stayed here in mid February. The site is very easy to find and close to all the attractions that North Wales has to offer and has a nice dog walk from the site. The site is pretty and peaceful although we were the only people on site. The down side is that it is slightly expensive. We could have a cup of tea from the restaurant but nothing else and we were disappointed at not being able to have a meal despite the fact that I had said on the phone that I wanted to book a meal. Information on the website states it is open all the year. A nice restaurant was nearby. There was no Wi-Fi reception in the actual campsite and we feel that this should be made clear in the information or on the phone. The wash and toilet facilities are only open when the owners are available which might leave some campers who are in campervans in some difficulty for anyone who needs a sink or shower or toilet. We think it is important that site owners should make it clear what facilities are available prior to booking. Mr and Mrs Lee, Shropshire

stew120561

Reviewed on 22/02/2023 19:39

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

steve

Stayed here for five nights. Nice site and surroundings, owners were nice and helpful but we thought it a bit expensive for what it has and our electric kept tripping out even though it was 16 amp.

aliehs

Reviewed on 13/08/2022 17:48

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely stay

We stayed with our young daughter recently. The site was very easy to find and nicely laid out. The owners checked up regularly that everything was ok. Very peaceful surroundings and a great base for visiting North Wales and across to Chester. Our daughter enjoyed looking at tadpoles in the pond. We also took up the offer of breakfast at the inn one morning and it was delicious. Would definitely stay here again.

mackaycaravaning

Caravanner

Reviewed on 01/05/2022 18:43

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely place to stay

We really enjoyed our stay here. It was beautifully landscaped. Access was easy, pitches were spacious and views of the pond and surrounding countryside were great. All trouble-free and relaxing. Thank you,

Autograph 794I

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 22/04/2022 22:31

16 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A great new CL

Visited over the Easter BH weekend whilst visiting family near by. Approx half mile from the A55 with easy access through double gates on to a large car park. I was greeted by both the owners, Elaine and Pete, who were doing some maintenance on the CL site. Both were very welcoming and easy to get on with. All the pitches are easily accessed via a gravel track around the site. 16A EHU to each pitch with a single fresh water tap near the entrance with grey water and black waste points. Due to being preoccupied with family, I didn't utilize the on site facilities thus unable to comment although others staying on site did recommend them as very good. This CL is very new but Elaine and Pete have created a lovely site close to all the tourist attractions whilst being nicely separate and much quieter for it. I highly recommend this site and fully intend to return when next in the area.

Crop

Reviewed on 19/04/2022 22:10

21 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent Cl

We spent 4 peaceful nights at Tafarn Y Waen with our caravan .It is a new Cl but is already looking well established with its landscaping and duck pond .The owners Elaine and Pete who were very pleasant and helpful also keep the guest house on the site which was formerly the Farmers Arms .The toilets which are in the guest house are immaculate and are open when the guest house is open .Breakfast and evening meals are available and we enjoyed a very nice and reasonably priced evening meal during our stay We will certainly make a return visit to the Cl . Many thanks for making our stay so enjoyable Ann & Ray

annray

Reviewed on 19/04/2022 11:09

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer