The Field

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Wonderful little CL.

Lovely little site, in a great location. Two great pubs nearby which serve food. Good walks straight from the site. Would recommend and would definitely return.

Musley

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 11/05/2022 14:26

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great CL and lovely host

We arrived later than planned but that was absolutely no problem. Melvyn was quick to reply to our messages and kindly gave lots of helpful information about visiting Canterbury and Whitstable. The site was easy to find and virtually level - we didn't need our blocks. It is down a narrow lane but perfectly accessible for most units. There was another caravan on site but apart from that we had the site to ourselves. We had a lovely stay and will definitely return if we are looking to visit the area again. We particularly enjoyed the tip about Whatsum Brewery and enjoyed a drink there one evening. Thoroughly recommend. Thank you :)

ScreenNameEB74A18C08

Campervanner

Reviewed on 03/04/2022 17:06

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great little spot

We stayed at this great little CL while visiting friends who live in the area. We were made to feel very welcome by Melvyn who explained about all the best places to visit locally. The site had everything we needed and even though there had been quite a lot of rain over the few days prior to our visit the ground was still firm and not excessively muddy. Many thanks - We will definitely return. Nicola & Stuart

ScreenName14819D904C

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 07/03/2022 16:04

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great cycling from CL

We initially booked for 4 nights but had to cancel our last night. The site is down a little lane - with very few passing places - especially if all the parking places down the lane are full. We were lucky on our arrival and drove straight in, but on our departure we had to find a suitable place to pull in for an oncoming car (it would have been easier for him to pull in to the little lane on his left - but hey ho - thank goodness we weren't towing a caravan). The CL itself is overlooked by a row of cottages - hence the 4* for beauty of surroundings. Melvyn came to meet us on our arrival and told us we could pitch up anywhere. He also provided us with a map of the local area and told us about the great cycling in the area - which we took advantage of. That afternoon we had a walk from the CL to a nearby windmill and back. On the first full day we picked up the Viking Coastal Trail cycle path in the village to Reculver and then headed towards Herne Bay on the Oyster Bay Trail (NCR15) - onwards to Whitstable - where of course we had to partake of oysters - before picking up the Crab and Winkle trail (NCR1) to Canterbury before heading back stopping at a lovely pub on the cycle route. Kent is great for pub stops! We didn't visit the Cathedral at £14 each - you couldn't even walk round the outside of the cathedral without paying the admission fee. We had been before in the early 90s so it wasn't as though we hadn't been. That evening we joined another couple staying at the CL for an evening's line dancing in the village hall. The dance teacher didn't think she would have a big attendance that night - then we all rocked up. It was a hoot. Trev and I were pretty rubbish. At £3 a person it was a real good night though - topped off with a drink in the Bell Inn. The following day we cycled the 32 mile Viking Coastal Trail into Ramsgate - on to Broadstairs, Margate and Reculver then back to the CL - which was great. We had done part of it before but cycling the whole loop had to be done. The CL is certainly in a great location for visiting the coastal towns mentioned and there's certainly plenty of things to do in the area.

Carolee

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 03/10/2021 19:44

61 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A little gem

We tried to book a place close to Herne bay as we were meeting friends. Everywhere was booked and I called Melvin from this site he said he was out but would get back to me. Which he did. He had a pitch. So the next day we left and arrived at the field. It is what it says on the tin a field but it has everything you need. Electric hook up, water and toilet waste unit. If you want peace and quiet and a place owned by such nice people you will not be disappointed. It’s in a stunning little village with two amazing little pubs all in walking distance. Can’t fault it here. I met there lovely daughter on Saturday who was so nice and we chatted for a bit. Nothing seems to much trouble for this place. So I really rate it here it’s a 10/10 for me because the tranquility of it was just what I needed. This is a little gem that we found by accident really but I’d love to return her. Definitely would book again with our a shadow of doubt. Julia and paul.

pm01jd02

Reviewed on 29/08/2021 12:27

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fab little place.

Great little place, easy to find, young lady of the family kindly bought my dog some treats. Make sure you eat at the Bell Inn, great food. Also a few hundred yards walk to a brilliant viewpoint.

bigboy

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 16/06/2021 16:54

28 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Good site, we would return

A nice little site. 100m on the right down the road from the church. 5 EHU hook ups Water and dump point on site Run by man over the road who is a builder, so typically available late afternoon Just beyond 'The Field' site is Huckleberries camp site and just beyond that is Gooseberry's camp site. Both closed at time of writing (Pandemic lock down currently applies) Village is pretty, old church, dutch gabled houses, antique shop and 2 pubs and a shop/post office At time of writing due to the Pandemic most are closed, but the Bell Pub is open (outside only) very friendly welcome. Lots to do on the Isle of Thanet, very good for cycling. The Viking Trail runs through the village and the Saxon Shore trail is very close

Andrew and Alison

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 30/04/2021 13:07

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great for Broadstairs and surrounding areas

Stayed over for 1 night in September. Owner managed to slip us in last minute which we were thankful for. Warm welcome to the place. This site is literally in the village with its pubs and lovely post office shop. Thank you.

GreenwichTravellers

Campervanner

Reviewed on 11/10/2020 16:25

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great new CL

Very helpful and friendly owners who are welcoming and knowledgeable about the area, there are 5 electric points and no extra charge for awnings currently. Added to favourite cl list.

tinternet

Caravanner

Reviewed on 12/08/2020 16:35

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Delightful CL

A new CL well located for the village which has 2 pubs and a small shop. An easy 20min walk to the bus route between Canterbury and Margate from where it is easy to travel to other interesting towns. Water, power and emptying facilities well located. Newly planted hedging surrounding the site will soon really enhance the location. Caution. Although well draining, after heavy rain the surface becomes slippery which can be a problem for a motorhome as there are no hardstandings.

dickb

Reviewed on 19/02/2020 21:13

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer