Thornleigh Park Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great friendly CL

Stayed at this site for 3 nights in May 23 and had a lovely stay. The site is well maintained and has a relaxed atmosphere. The shower block is a little dated but spotless. It has all the facilities needed for a good stay and well placed for bike rides and walks along the River Dee and into Chester. The owner provided useful maps for walking and cycling. We enjoyed our stay and would use this site again.

ScreenName9533DFF266

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 18/06/2023 20:17

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

peaceful and laid back

communication on booking via email with Pete was fine, Easy access from a main road into Chester via Ferry Lane then the long farm driveway. A large grassed paddock is the main area for pitches, just EHU and no pegs to line up to just loads of space, just pitch whichever way suits you. There is a paved area just outside that serves as a hardstanding but the ground was very firm, and the weather kind on our 3 day stay so we opted for sunny pitch 4. The site facilities are clean but dated, I used our own but husband said the toilets were clean. Shower tokens are available from the farmhouse, and 20p required to access the warm water for washing dishes. Lovely farm with stables, a few cows & many horses. You can access the River Dee from the farm, where you can walk into Chester, or cross over the river to walk into Saltney, also a walk back down to the main road gives you the bus stop into Chester, we chose to walk it as it was flat, took about 50 mins. The closest shops for supplies would be the Tesco along the main road or Morrisons across the river in Saltney, both a good 30 min walk, or 5 mins in a car. Just a heads up, if you dont like dogs, or your dogs dont like horses, then maybe give this one a miss as the friendly farm dogs roam free as do the visitors dogs, our old girls never move far from the van, and loved not being tethered. Llots of movement of horses, back & fore to the training paddock and surrounding fields, I loved listening to them neighing in the morning. A truly lovely, basic, laid back site which we would use again, great value for money.

lms0110

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 06/05/2023 07:24

24 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

One of our favourite CL's

We've had the pleasure of staying at Thornleigh Park Farm on a few occasions. It is a beautifully kept, peaceful, relaxing site with a nice toilet and shower block and organised recycling facilities. Close to Chester and not far from the Wirral which we also like to visit when we're in the area It is definitely one of our favourite places to stay with our dogs. Peter and Rowena are lovely hosts, there if you need anything but guests are left alone to enjoy their break. Highly recommended site.

SarahBell2907

Caravanner

Reviewed on 31/05/2022 08:55

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent site for exploring Chester

Very easy to find after precise directions sent in advance. Warm welcome and a further map of the area supplied on arrival. Site all grass, fairly flat all over, didn't need to do any levelling. Surrounded by trees, interesting to watch the horses coming and going on the farm. Toilet block ok, token needed for shower I think, but we didn't use them as we had our own. Very easy access into Chester city centre. Would recommend a walk around the City Walls, very interesting. A great little site for exploring the area. Would stay again.

ScreenName3BEEB52AC9

Caravanner

Reviewed on 07/09/2021 13:08

8 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

two night stay

Warm welcome. Almost level site. Excellent facilities. Easy access down a straight, level drive. The site is a spacious area, surrounded by trees, which affords some sunshine. Ideally sited for Chester. Approx 20 minutes walk to bus stop. Interesting architecture and historical buildings. Good shopping. Good opportunities for cycling on flat roads and lanes.

admiral halsey

Reviewed on 30/08/2021 14:05

17 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent site

Thornleigh Park is a lovely CL and Mr Siddorn could not be more helpful or better organised. We endorse all the (posative) comments that have been mde on other reviews. Highly recommended.

PRO

Caravanner

Reviewed on 12/07/2021 17:45

15 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

If cycling your game try this CL close to the River Dee

We stayed at this CL in the month of March and chose this site because the proximity to the cycle path along the river Dee flat at with a good tarmac surface its easy going if a bit windy We enjoyed our stay here and as the site is just off the flight path to Harwarden airfield its entertaining watching the Airbus Beluga wing transport aircraft come and go to the factory in France Friendly Owners and handy site payment by bank transfer

Green Gilbert

Caravanner

Reviewed on 07/05/2021 21:15

39 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Beautiful site

What a lovely site this is.Quiet and clean. We walked into Chester via the River Dee. We even caught a bus during our stay to Cheshire oaks.it was 4.40 Inc return each and this price would get you to Liverpool too. We will stay here again.

ScreenNameDDB2E83DC2

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 14/04/2021 17:45

1 review

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Restfull

Stayed here from Fri 31st Jan until Mon 3rd Feb. A lovely well-kept site with grass pitches on good solid ground (even with all the rain there has been recently). The woods behind the pitches although out of bounds seem to be a great home for birds and other wildlife. Toilet block basic but kept very clean. The site is quite near to the Runway for the Aircraft factory and there was some noise from the planes coming and going on the Friday afternoon, but with no aircraft over the weekend. If you keep an open mind about the plane noise its great to watch them come and go. The site is a great base for visiting Chester, The Wirral and North Wales. Will defiantly stay here again. Chris H

Chris Heywood

Reviewed on 03/02/2020 16:54

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Chester CL for Christmas Market and Shopping

Stayed 4 nights arrived Tuesday 19/11 and left Saturday 23/11. The owners weren't in when we arrived but I was told by someone in the house to pitch up and the owner would see me later. I tried every day to contact the owner but had no reply so I left an envelope on Saturday when we left with cash in it. It is a working farm I saw the "famous" great dane and the black lab, neither were any trouble at all. The drive to the site is I estimate about 400 yds tarmac for maybe 100 yards the remainder was a dirt track heavily compacted, several small potholes, nothing to worry about. There are several fields with horses and an exercise/training paddock and it was nice to see the horses. The pitch was grass with EHU. The facilities area comprises a sink with hot and cold water with doors leading to the gents and ladies. The facilities were kept clean and tidy, the showers were pay or token, plenty of information how to use the showers. One shower room seemed to need a token - difficult if you never see the owners. The waste water emptying point was about two foot high - difficult to lift a full wastemaster but ok for a bucket. The caravan area was well kept with short grass with EHU's. A big plus point is the proximity to the Park and Ride quite a short drive and for me about a twenty minute walk (no pavment) , the park and ride is £2 (no concessions) cheaper than a car park though. A short drive to Cheshire Oaks shopping outlet. We liked the site and the location and would return.

GeoffandMaureen

Caravanner

Reviewed on 23/11/2019 20:15

9 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer