Tristrams Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely

The owner is very helpful, and it was lovely for a quick break. There is a footpath over the field and up the towpath to a nice pub . It was very peaceful, very rural area. And a quick drive to the beach at Ainsdale. There is a pay and display car park behind a closed hotel at top of beach road, the campervan next to all the horseboxes, and then watching the horses on the beach. Lovely

ScreenName02E3964C72

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 30/03/2024 17:15

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Very helpful owner, highly recommend.

We had planned to arrive after a long drive at about teatime, but due to medical issues, it was gone 8pm and dark when we eventually arrived. David kindly suggested we pitch up in the yard for the night and move into the field in the morning. With electric and water on hand we were sorted in no time, and with David's help, the move in the morning was super quick and easy. Great walks for the dogs from the site and fab beaches nearby. Antony Gormley's Another Place was a highlight. Thank you.

padge1

Reviewed on 27/10/2023 10:21

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

An excellent place to unwind

5 nights at this C.L., one that we've been promising to get to for quite some time and finally cracked it. First things first. The approach route: which is best to follow the advice from the owner, Mr.Swift. If coming from Ormskirk way then you'll travel down Cottage lane. Despite there being about 12 speed humps (full width) this will still be your best approach. Once out of the conurbation and into country try to remember to turn left just after the increase in speed limit sign from 40 to Maximum. The directions state turn left at sign for Halsall church, but this is only visible when coming from the other way. Don't worry that the C.L. is on "Narrow Lane". It eventually becomes narrow but after the C.L. Entrance is straightforward and found on a spacious area behind the owners house (and self contained cottages for hire). It is all nearly all grass but H/S is available on flags on 3 pitches and 1 other gravel pitch. There are 8 pitches in all, and usually allocated by the owner. There is bags of space between the units, really comfortable. Mostly flat with short mown grass, clippings collected. Facilities are easy to find. There is a tree lined hedge about 12' high around 3 parts of the C.L. with the house providing the other wind break. Please note that the owner has decided to stop allowing visitors. There is excellent walking for Fido straight from site. Turn left just outside the entrance and walk between crop fields to the Leeds-Liverpool canal. Turn right and there is a decent Pub, Saracens Head about 600 yards further along the canal. We had some noise until late into the evening for part of our trip as the local farmers were Barley cropping but this stopped by 11 p.m. Be aware if this bothers you and check at this time of year with the owner. Otherwise the area is quiet at night and the road outside lightly used. You can drive it to Ormskirk (market days Thursday and Saturday, well supported). Supermarkets there include Morrisons, Aldi and a M&S FoodHall amongst others. Southport, Ainsdale and Formby are within easy reach with trains to Liverpool. Martinmere Wetland trust and Marshside RSPB reserves nearby as well as N.T. Rufford House. Our aim was to unwind which we did admirably. It should be noted that the price for the C.L. has increased substantially from 1st.September from £15 to £20 and is probably a little high for the facilities provided. It fitted our needs this time and we have seen nothing to dissuade us from returning but the price increase does seem indicative of what lies in store for C.L. users in the next 12 months. Might have to get used to it.

Wherenext

Caravanner

Reviewed on 04/09/2022 20:46

93 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

An ideal CL

A peaceful and sheltered location with local walks to the Leeds & Liverpool Canal and to pubs. (Note there is a dodgy footbridge on the footpath going left from the site entrance). The site is very new local attractions - we love Martinmere WWT reserve but there is also the coast very near. We also visited the nearby Primrose Garden Centre for coffee and cakes - well recommended. The owner, Mr Swift was welcoming and helpful. This site is definitely on our list when we return to the area.

NeilKay

Reviewed on 29/10/2021 16:22

23 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Geocaching Trip

Now back home after a trip mainly out on our bikes looking for Geocaches and stayed at Tristrams farm for 5 nights a good 5 nights that is. Flat grassy area lots of space between the 5 of us that were here some of the nights. Good area for cycling with mainly very quiet country lanes a few hills but not many and with electric bikes no problems. Hope lots of new hides are added by the local Geocachers so we can come back here again. Friendly owner and nice people staying the same time as us. Good canals to walk or ride along so lots to do and not far from the coast that we got too on our bikes so with a car easy.

Cajun Duo

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 24/07/2021 16:44

60 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

One of the best

As others have said, this CL is very quiet. Good, well drained grass surface with hard standings if needed. No worries about wheels sinking in soft ground. Owner, Mr Swift, is friendly and helpful. Facilities are fine, and easy to use. It was very hot when we were there but, being only a few miles from the sea, an onshore breeze and the availability of onsite shade kept the temperature reasonable. 20 minute walk to Halsall where there is a good bus service to Southport and Liverpool (No 300) every 30 minutes. There is also a service to Ormskirk (No 315) but less frequent, also accessed from Halsall. Petrol station shop at the garage at the north end of Halsall. Good walks on the Leeds/Liverpool canal. Easy access to local attractions by car .

MikeJRB

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 23/07/2021 12:57

14 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Friendly quiet site,good for dogs

Lovely quiet site Flat ground with good access High hedge keeps wind out Warm welcome Booked for 7 nights stayed for 12 Will come again Dogs loved it with lovely canal walks straight from site. Lots of good pubs and cafes along canal Tastebuds cafe at Rufford very good, food is good and a bit different County Fish bar County Road excellent fish and chips Cherry House County Road excellent chinese, including takeaway, Halsall garage locally for fuel and small shops with Morrisons not far away or Booths if you want something a bit different.

Paul from Cumbria

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 17/06/2021 17:00

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely site

Just returned from our second visit here. We'd ruled out this site a couple of times when looking previously for some reason but decided to give it a chance after our favourite site down the road closed to tourers. I'm so pleased we booked, it has to be said this site really grows on you and is a perfect place to unwind. Mr Swift is very welcoming and accommodating. Levelling blocks handy on some of the pitches but generally reasonably flat. Grass is well cut and clippings removed so no nasty wet grass underfoot. Peaceful and quiet and the sunsets are stunning. You can just see the boats on the canal if you look carefully through the trees in the distance or with binoculars. Very well situated to visit lots of places. Ormskirk town is definitely worth a visit, very quaint and plenty of nice cafes. Can highly recommend Taylors farm shop nearby for a your meat, vegetables, cheese and treats, not the cheapest but definitely quality produce. Hope you like it as much as us.

Ian TL

Caravanner

Reviewed on 14/06/2021 19:19

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Perfect for our needs

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst collecting our daughter from Edge Hill Uni. The site is level and well kept with a couple of hardstandings surrounded by tall hedging. Our pitch number was written on a blackboard so we were able to go straight to it on arrival. This was a perfect location for us as we were doing a lot of walking in the area directly from the site. The water/chemical disposal was fairly basic but adequate. Roads leading up to the site were absolutely fine and we had no problems with the routing directions. Would we use this site again if we were in the area, definitely. The owner was very helpful and close by if required.

Sporadicus

Caravanner

Reviewed on 26/05/2021 20:37

36 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Quiet time

Just had 6 nights at Tristram farm. Unfortunately the weather was not the best but we still had a great time. Mr Swift was very welcoming when we arrived. He showed us where to pitch our caravan as the grass area was waterlogged. Great area to explore, not too far from to towns but far enough. Very quiet site, nice views. Site is well kept and clean, facilities basic but adequate for our needs. Would not hesitate in coming back again. Highly recommended

allhayes

Caravanner

Reviewed on 16/11/2019 21:13

6 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer