Tyddyn Pwrpas

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fantastic CL!

This CL is definitely the best one we have ever stayed on in recent years. The friendliness of the owners and their family was superb, extremely helpful and genial. The site was immaculate with excellent generous sized pitches. We wished we had our grandchildren with us to take advantage of the play area as it was excellent with a range of swings, slides and roundabouts. there was a large area of lawn ideal for football or tennis. The facilities (shower and toilet) were clean and awaiting an upgrade which has been delayed due to a supply issue The transport museum on site was interesting, well worth a couple of hours perusing around out of the rain. There was also a café on site which sold a range of freshly cooked very reasonably priced foods, an excellent range of home baked cakes including cream teas, but best of all was the ice-cream and gelato especially the honeycomb and chocolate flake varieties. Thank you for one of the loveliest weeks we've ever spent, your passion to provide excellence is outstanding.

suebattle

Reviewed on 11/07/2021 21:05

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely site

A very pleasant, spacious site with an open aspect. Friendly welcome from chatty lady shortly after arrival. Big skies, lovely views to Snowdonia, great sunsets, handy for Newborough Warren and a fantastic beach. Points to note: 1) Hardstandings are fairly narrow - perhaps 2.4m/8ft. Not a problem in dry weather, but when it's wet underfoot, muddy pretty quickly. 2) Only water tap I could see was behind the corner pitch. If someone is pitched here, motorhomes would be stumped to fill up. 3). Very clean toilet & shower (unheated!) behind the cafe, so if you are emptying your black waste, you have to walk the length of the cafe frontage. Hmm. 4) No motorhome emptying point. 5) There is a huge workshop behind the hedge. You might get occasional noise from a radio, spanners being dropped etc. However, on balance, the workshop shields you from a very fast road. Would we visit again. Certainly. Care required travelling over from A55.

RobPeel

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 07/12/2020 12:17

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fabulous CL in every way

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at Tyddyn Pwrpas. The hosts were very warm and welcoming. The site is very well maintained and the facilities exceptionally clean and COVID secure. There was an slight problem with the mains water having to be turned off for emergency work - this was not an issue as the hosts kindly brought bottled water over to us for the 2 hours water was unavailable . We will definitely return and recommend this site 100%

SallyAK

Caravanner

Reviewed on 13/11/2020 20:29

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A great return to Tyddyn Pwrpas & our 100 night celebration!!

We have just returned from Anglesey following a 15 night stay at the CL at Tyddyn Pwrpas. During the holiday we passed a landmark "one hundred nights" on the site (across nine visits) and had continued where we had left off previously. The warmth of our welcome was just great and, we were able to enjoy a stay which was really peaceful - and we also had to suffer fantastic weather too (truly out of the ordinary). Our two grandsons joined us for five nights during the weekends and made full use of the terrific play area whenever they were on site with us. The site is very easy to access; has fantastic scenery and places of interest abound on the island. Anglesey had it all in the crossover from June into July! In addition to this, we were joined by friends from the English west country on their second visit to the site and, they commented how they were very pleased to have taken the trouble to do a tour around the Motor Museum during this visit. They said that it should be on visitors to the island's "must do list." This little gem of a site and its owners deserve high praise for the improvements they have made year on year. We look forward to staying here again in 2020!! Thanks to Arfon, Sarah & Chris once again - keep up the good work!

YoungSpud

Caravanner from Avon

Reviewed on 20/07/2019 15:46

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A Fabulous Site - can definitely recommend!

We have just returned from our second stay on this site and as before have had a great time. The site is well maintained. The pitches have great views and are well spaced out. The toilet and shower are very clean and roomy. The staff and owners are cheerful and helpful. The Transport Museum is completely separate -the CL site being through a closed gate into the field at the back and, despite our being there during the busy school holidays, had absolutely no impact on the peaceful ambience of the CL site. Our daughter loved the playground, which is shared by the museum but is also far enough away from the caravans that any children visiting the museum and using it do not disturb the CL site. The site is easily accessed on good roads and well located for all the attractions on Anglesey, especially Newborough beach which is a cycle ride away. Pay absolutely no attention to the two (old) bad reviews below. We wholeheartedly recommend this site.

splatipus

Caravanner

Reviewed on 19/04/2019 10:59

10 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Worth more that 5 stars!!

Would love to give this place a 100 out of 5 but sadly it wont let me. Love the staff they are so polite, the owner ,arfon, is always about and a great laugh to chat to. Chris and sarah are amazing hosts. Your left to your own devices, beautiful veiws of Snowdonia. Plenty of space between each pitch! The cafe serves amazing home cooked meals and cakes. It is great watching the wild life roam around the fields, we have seen foxes, rabbit, squirrels and many more!! There is a big park for children to play on right at the back of the cafe which you afe able to oversee from your caravan/motorhome! The museum is a must see, amazingly restored cars and motorcycles. Loved the fact that they had david jasons motorcycle! There is a separate shower for campers and separate toilet which are cleaned every night. Would highly recommend coming here. Second time coming here this year and will definitely be coming again in the coming months!

ScreenName65F596874B

Caravanner

Reviewed on 13/04/2019 00:17

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Heaven on earth

What a gorgeous place to stop with your caravan. We have just had a wonderful week, peace and quiet, lovely weather and to top it all a fantastic show of classic cars turned up to the museum on the Sunday. Two mornings we had breakfast in the cafe and one afternoon we had coffee and some home made cake. Everything was excellent and a bonus as far as I was concerned was the coffee was hot! We are looking on the calendar to see when we can return. If you are into cars the museum is a must visit too, It was like walking back in time.

sirchatalott

Caravanner

Reviewed on 12/04/2019 18:48

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

“A Firm Favourite”

This site is a firm favourite with our family and we have returned year after year here. The campsite is situated within the grounds of Tacla Taid, The Anglesey Transport Museum (well worth a visit to see all the classic cars and military vehicles). There is a cafe on site which is open when the museum is in operation. Perfect for those days when you don’t want to cook or fancy a little treat. One of the highlights of this site for the kids is the playground. During the day this is shared with visitors to the museum but in the evenings it is totally theirs to play on. A great place for the younger campers to hang out and develop friendships. There is also plenty of space for them to run and play games. We like the fact that the campsite is secured and that the gate into the campsite is kept closed for the majority of the time. This is ideal for those camping with young kids as you don’t have to worry about them wandering off site. We don’t have a dog, but this site allows you to bring dogs as long as they are kept on a lead. We have never encountered any issues with dogs on site. There is a separate toilet and shower available on site which is handy for those of us who don’t have these in our caravans. You need to pay a pound to use the shower but this gives you a decent shower in the time allocated. This year all the pitches have been upgraded to hardstanding. We can testify to the fact that the pitches are levelled as we have a vintage folding caravan that requires this. The pitches are well spaced out and you don’t feel hemmed in. Each pitch has a name which brings a nice personalised touch to it. We have always found the owners of the site to be very friendly and willing to assist with any enquiries. They are a great source of information about places to visit locally. We tend to visit during school holidays and have found that the majority of campers who come at this time also have children with them. Socially this is a great site to visit and on occasion you may strike up some good friendships which may involve a bbq and a drink or two! The site is well located to access a number of places and attractions on Anglesey such as the South Stack (RSPB sanctuary), Plas Newydd (National Trust), Anglesey Sea Zoo And Newborough Beach (accessible via the forest for a small fee). From the site on a clear day there is a fantastic view across to Snowdonia. At night it’s fab to sit out and look up at the stars and to listen to the sounds of nature. If you have any family/friends who don’t have a caravan, there are a couple of glamping military vehicles onsite to stay in, so they can easily join you on your holidays too. This site is perfect for recharging your batteries in beautiful surroundings. You won’t regret a stay here.

Vintageep

Reviewed on 01/06/2018 23:23

5 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 3 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Aggressive, Unhelpful & Site Not As Described

We booked this site because of the great kids play area. When looking around for local things to do before we arrived we noticed the transport museum next door had the exact same play equipment. I called to ask if the two were indeed the same play areas. The owner was very gruff and unhelpful. She told me there was a fence to separate the public areas from the CL site. All I was doing was asking a polite question as I have young kids and I wanted them to have a safe place to play. She really was quite unpleasant and considered my questioning her an attack on her personally. Just to be clear this is a public tourist attraction with a CL site attached. They are separated by a very low fence and no gates. Anyone can walk anywhere with ease. Plus if a bus full of tourists with kids arrived don’t expect any peace and quiet. Don’t get me wrong there are good bits but be aware. You are likely to get noise and potentially unwanted visitors. I did not feel my kids were safe with strangers being around. If you don’t say boo to a goose and do exactly what the owners want then you are fine. Personally I would not recommend this site. If you do visit then I suggest you go out of the peak season and don’t take any pets which seems to be a common theme in many reviews. Shame really as if the owners improved their hospitality it could be a fantastic little gem.

Lhmotu

Caravanner

Reviewed on 23/08/2017 11:27

1 review

6 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 2 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 2 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Aggressive, Conflict and Contradictions

We arrived, booked in, parked our motorhome, erected the Vango Hogan Hub which we use as an awning alternative and set about enjoying our holiday. Two days later I was in the motorhome and one of our dogs was barking, I went outside to see what the matter was and there was a lady stood at the end of the wind break we had put up earlier, huffing and shaking her head. I asked if I could help her, straight away she began pointing at the hub and saying it was against the rules and shouldn’t be there. She insisted it was a tent despite my saying otherwise. This lady eventually identified herself Mrs Williams the site owner. Another lady (later identified as Mrs Williams-Davies Site manager and daughter of Mrs Williams) then appeared from the caravan next door and she immediately was very aggressive in her tone and manner, again said the tent had to come down as it was against the CC rules. I explained again it was not a tent but she would not listen and kept talking over me. I asked why they were being so aggressive and they denied they were. At this point my husband arrived back at the motorhome and I explained what was happening, he also stated straight away it was not a tent, there was no ground sheet and no one was sleeping in it. She just would not listen and then stated that the wind break should not be up and that it was an extra charge, she kept pacing the width of the motorhome and hub stating we were taking up far too much room and never had she seen anyone take up this much space, despite us being within our pitch. Mrs Williams-Davies was very clear that the hub had to come down and she would contact the CC first thing in the morning for clarification and come back to us.The next morning as soon as we saw her she began with her aggressive manner, she would not listen or make eye contact. Her husband intervened and we spoke with JUST him in the conservatory area. He explained although the hub was not allowed it could remain for an additional £2 per night, he stated we were welcome to stay. I clarified that although the hub broke CC rules it was allowed if we paid for it, he agreed. We also clarified if the windbreak was an additional charge and it was not. We asked why this could not have been suggested the evening before, he thought it had….Later in the day my husband went to pay the £18 for the hub, whilst in the café he asked if we could come over and leave our dogs in the motorhome. Mrs Williams-Davies stated we would have to bring the dogs and sit outside. It was a cloudy and windy day and not really suitable for sitting outside, he was then informed if we left the dogs in the motorhome she would report us to the RSPCA, this was a site rule. It is confusing have CC rules and site rules that contradict each other and yet you expected to know and abide by them both despite never seeing the site rules. Site is lovely but the customer service is appalling!

Neil Watterson

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 15/08/2017 19:55

1 review

6 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer