Warthill Grange

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great site - well kept

We enjoyed our weekend stay when we were looking after the grandkids while their parents attended a party in York. Well set out and good level pitches. It was a while since I had booked and probably forgot that they had given me a gate code but no problem as I just phoned the owners and was given it. Mobile phone signal was not very strong but not a major problem. Absolutely stunning sunsets.

ScreenName72B2A167E7

Caravanner

Reviewed on 18/12/2023 14:05

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Very peaceful site, friendly owners

Great little site, very handy for York city P&R, Vale of York, Yorkshire Wolds, etc. We made friends with the mallard which came to expect duck food (not bread!!) every morning, and a great view of a tawny owl sitting on a branch in the trees one evening. Just shows how you can have a lovely site, including electric, without charging ridiculous fees!

Another DaveB

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 11/09/2023 14:37

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great site

This is a lovely Secure CL… only spent a couple of nights here for a break and to meet up with a friend. It’s very well kept and you can choose where you park up. Owner very approachable and friendly. I will definitely return

JorEl24

Caravanner

Reviewed on 03/04/2022 15:16

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

moorhen heaven

We stayed at Warthill Grange for just under 3 weeks. It is a wonderful location made extra special by a pond complete with walk over bridge, and numerous moorhens. Each caravan has plenty of room to set up and use an awning if required. The site is looked after and maintained very well by the friendly owners. Warthill Grange provides everything a caravaner needs for a very enjoyable stay. We would not hesitate to recommend this site to club members, who are looking for a pleasant non stressful stay at an amazing CL.

bladesy17

Caravanner

Reviewed on 18/08/2021 10:00

11 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely Site

Good access to site, although we did check Google maps beforehand so we were aware of busy A64. Entrance to site easy. We were given gate code before arrival. Owners very helpful and friendly. Site immaculately kept and grass short. Beautiful gardens and small woodland area to stroll around. Good for visiting York. Local shop about 2 miles away in Stockton on the forest. Lots of pubs in the area. Had a great time, thank you to owners, will be back soon!

fastdes

Caravanner

Reviewed on 11/07/2021 22:37

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A little gem, near York

We’ve stayed here a few times in between lockdowns this year. A flat well kept lawned sheltered site, with a small pond in one corner. Pitches are very well spaced and electric points are available. The site is in a quiet area, with very secure access through electric gates. In my view the best approach is through Warthill village avoiding the busy A64 . Nearby is Stamford Bridge, and York is within easy reach. The owners are very welcoming and friendly, We will definitely be returning in the near future.

Mel

Caravanner

Reviewed on 17/06/2021 11:44

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Ideally location for visiting York and the Yorkshire coast

Clearly signposted with easy access (Go via Warthill – avoid A64 as very busy junction). Electronic security gates (Recommend obtain entry code prior to arrival). Large, flat lawned field with several 16 amp electric points. Water and Elsan Point by the older building (Used by the owner – Tim - as a garage). Established trees and shrubs plus a large lake. At the time of our visit we saw squirrels, rabbits, crows. Also heard cuckoos, woodpeckers and pheasants at various times of the day (and night). Several Park and Ride facilities are within a 15 / 20 minute drive from the CL giving access to York plus a MacArthur Glen outlet centre offering numerous discount stores. Asda and Sainsbury supermarkets are a 15 minute drive from the CL – a Tesco Extra is a 20 minute drive from the CL. For those who enjoy walking we can recommend a visit to Stamford Bridge (5 minute drive) which offers free parking adjacent to the River Derwent. A short 2-mile round trip walk along the river takes approximately 40 minutes but can be extended to an 8 mile round trip walk. For the cycling enthusiast, as well as the country lanes, a ride from York to Selby (20-mile round trip) is recommended – free parking available at Askham Park and Ride with direct access to The Planet cycle route. Recommend a visit to RSPB Bempton Cliffs where, subject to time of the year, you will have the opportunity to see puffins, gannets, razorbills, etc. The car park does get busy so advise arriving early. There are several National Trust places to visit – recommend Fountains Abbey and Studley Royal Water Gardens which is 1 hour from the CL.

TheCaravanMan

Caravanner

Reviewed on 18/06/2019 21:39

19 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great location for a visit to York and Northyorkshire Moor

Really nice and well maintained CL next to a modern house with almost royal driveway and electric gate. Big meadow surrounded by large trees and a pretty pond with scenic bridge next to it. Hook ups on three different spots available and everything for a pleasant stay. Good location to visit York and attractions like Castle Howard or Helmsley. Also not too far away from the coastline near Bridlington. Friendly and helpful owner.

chrizwomo

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 14/08/2018 21:57

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

10 Nights

A very efficient on-line booking system with no requirement for a deposit. We stayed for 10 nights. The site is easily accessed from the road through the expansive well-kept front garden of Warthill Grange – a modern house - and then through an electric side gate to the east of the house onto the CL. The CL is a large level oblong space with ample room for 5 vans. With a long enough cable, you can go anywhere there being no obvious pitch layout or orientation. The grass is good quality, nicely cut, drains well and takes awning pegs without difficulty. The northern part of the CL is shaded by tall trees. The southern part closer to the entrance and road has more sun. There is a pond with decking, solar lights, carp, ornaments, lilies, rushes and other planting in the southern corner and a real kingfisher spotted on one fleeting occasion! The CL is bounded with mature thick woodland to the north & east and a trimmed leylandii hedge and bank screening it from the front garden and road to the south. It is an attractive site let down only by the workshop buildings to the rear of the house that face onto the CL and the dozen or so vehicles that are parked around them, including some that are clearly out of use. The site is generally quiet but the speed of vehicles on the local road, which isn’t busy, causes some tolerable noise. It also rules out walking along the road for any distance but there is a short and worthwhile road walk to the nearby Breezy Knees gardens and café which is a gem. There are no footpaths from or close to the site which for us was its main downside. We didn’t cycle but there is potential to do so from the site as the roads are flat and York prides itself as being a bicycle friendly city. York with its P&Rs, free RW museum and large out of town shopping centres is easily accessible by car, as are Ripon, Knaresborough, Harrogate, 5 good National Trust properties and Castle Howard’s Yorkshire Arboretum (2 for the price of 1 with a C&MC great Savings Guide voucher). TV reception at the site was mostly good but it broke up on occasions.

Caraman123

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 24/07/2017 18:47

72 reviews

3 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A Very Pleasant Place to spend some down time

If you read the previous 4 reviews before mine then you get a good idea of what to expect. The lawned area (no hardstandings I'm afraid) is quite large, there are 3 (x2) electric points scattered at appropriate distances from each other so each member can breathe. The wooded area is at the bottom of the owners garden/CL area and provides lovely shade. The lawned area has a small pond in it that is well stocked with carp and a lovely little bridge leading to a dais in the middle, a nice touch and not many to be seen on other CLs. The owners are friendly but we didn't see a great deal of them. If you are only staying a night or two then put your cheque or money in an envelope and leave in their post box by the back door. As said before the security is very good being behind gates that have a coded entry device. The only two points that we would have any quibble at all with are 1) the directions state that if you are turning off the A64 Malton-York road then follow the signs for Holtby,Warthill and Stamford Bridge. Actually the sign doesn't mention Stamford Bridge but Stockton on the Forest. We drove past it and had the devils own job finding somewhere to turn around. The A64 is a blight on York. Fortunately the CL is far enough away from it so that noise is not a problem. 2) The elsan point is fine and is found behind latticed wooden double doors at the rear of a domestic works garage. The only problem is that the tap for cleaning is hidden in the ivy. It's on the left hand wall about shoulder high and the ivy could do with a trim. Some people may give up looking for it if in a rush and use the drinking only water tap. Other than these rather minor points the CL is perfectly placed for many visits to the north and eastern sides of York and the Park and Ride is less than 5 miles away.

Wherenext

Caravanner

Reviewed on 19/07/2017 19:06

93 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer