West Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A LONG WEEKEND IN OXFORDSHIRE

One of the best CL's we have stayed on, plenty of room as the pitches are well spread out. Handy for a visit to Oxford using the Park & Ride at Red Bridge, I suggest if you travel to Red Bridge go via Wootton rather that following the satnav which will take you via the A34 at Botley. Overall a brilliant site which I have no hesitation in recommending to other members.

dinkysteve

Caravanner

Reviewed on 29/06/2023 12:51

56 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Large Site & Peaceful Stay

Large level field with EHU's spaced out so plenty of room to pitch up as you please. There are no longer any toilet or shower facilities available, but don't let this put you off as this is a gem of a site, very peaceful and in a superb location. At the bottom of the farm lane is the Eight Bells, which is a lovely country pub selling local beers and offering a Thai takeaway service. We spent three nights here and will definitely be returning in the near future.

waite32

Caravanner

Reviewed on 16/05/2023 11:48

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

HUGE field with lovely views

We stayed here for 6 nights recently. The field is huge, with plenty of space to spread out. Easy access to water and electric. The chemical emptying is at the end of the next field. There is also access to a toilet and shower, which are adequate. We did not hear any road noise, very peaceful site. We did see the occasional aircraft, but they were lovely to see. Also red kites flying around! We would certainly return to this CL.

GrahamAndSueP

Caravanner

Reviewed on 12/10/2021 08:28

17 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peaceful and large site

Arrived following the instructions. I found it easy to find the site, but the last couple of miles down a narrow road needed care. Virtually no traffic along that road, so no trouble in reality. The site itself was very pleasant. A large site, with plenty of room to spread out without impinging on anyone else. Nice and level, and the grass was cut twice during my six day stay. Lovely view from the site. Close to Oxford and the Botley Road Park and Ride site. Also a pleasant drive to the Vale of the White Horse. I gather from the owner that it is hoped to provide water to each pitch by next year. Facilities were attached to the farmhouse, and were plenty good enough. All in all, a very lovely stay in the Oxfordshire countryside. For those who follow 'Morse', this site provides very easy access to Oxford, with all the 'Morse' settings to discover.

Coltheox

Caravanner

Reviewed on 17/08/2021 10:18

17 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fabulous site.

We have just returned from a week over half term stay at this site. Well what can we say... The owners were accommodating and friendly. The Field was huge and very well maintained. We went on a rather muddy bike ride and the owners went the extra mile and lent us a hose to wash down the bikes. There was a pub at the end on the drive which served excellent Thai Cuisine. There are some lovely walks nearby to this site and the river is close for a stroll. . This is only our second stay at a CL site and would definitely visit this site again.

CobbettJR

Caravanner

Reviewed on 06/06/2021 20:19

1 review

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely quiet very spacious site

I’ve never been on a CL with such a large flat area. I’ve been in similar fields with 20+ vans. Which means for a five van site you have the luxury of space. Owner happy to let you pitch up where you like as long as you can reach one of the 5 well spaced EHU points. Small loo and shower attached to the owners house if you like to use plumbed facilities. Bar in the village centre is close enough to stumble home from but far enough away to not hear, serving excellent Thai cuisine to eat in or take away. Two or three more pubs within a mile or so each way from the site meant we ate out somewhere new every day whilst never needing to drive home afterwards. Oxford an easy 20 minute drive away (probably more like 5 minutes without Oxford traffic) makes for a grand day out.

Rik CooperSmith

Reviewed on 30/05/2021 16:45

2 reviews

3 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Very enjoyable.

Stayed For a week, loved it grass nice and short, 16 amp electric 1 toilet shower which was nice and clean. People we meet on site were all very nice and chatty, I would return any time we are in the area, Elson was very untidy needs cleaning much more often, a shelter roof would keep all the dirt from the over hanging trees off it, not nice seeing black spots inside and out side of the toilet, a broom and brush would be helpful, easy to improve this one problem. Well worth a visit you won't regret it, very nice site and owners.

l7pob

Caravanner

Reviewed on 22/07/2019 18:19

25 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 3 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fairly tricky approach to a spacious level field

The site details point out that the access lane from A420 is narrow, and indeed it is. We had a couple of close encounters of the White Van kind, but managable. An alternative would be to go via Cumnor. We were recommended not to use the road via Appleton. Once safely on site, all is good! The field is flat and very spacious, so you are not breathiing down your neighbour's neck. It's difficult to say how well drained it would be in wet weather, but not a factor in the summer of 2018. The site is generally very quiet an secluded - definitely no road noise. However, there was occasional aircraft noise from low-flying military planes, presumably approaching Brize Norton. More of a novelty than a nuisance though. There is a shared use toilet and shower in the farmhouse - more than adequate, but not luxurious. It is a £15 CL afterall!

johnosh

Caravanner

Reviewed on 26/09/2018 14:43

10 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peacefulness personified

We had a lovely stay at west farm - it’s so peaceful, with the cows and sheep across the fence keeping our 2 year old occupied throughout our stay. The site and facilities are clean and there’s LOADS of space to pitch up and for our daughter and dog to run around. Really close to Oxford, the Cotswolds and some great local pubs/restaurants (don’t bother with the ones in the village though). Only one tiny complaint - might time arrival was a bit confusing as we couldn’t find the camping field behind the main farm in the dark as it’s not signposted. We’d definately stay again though - wonderful C.L.!

Philiptupman

Caravanner

Reviewed on 31/08/2018 10:35

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer