Windy Hill Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peaceful and relaxing holiday

I have stayed at windy hill farm cl many times as it is ideal for walks to nearby saundersfoot and the fact that it's central for days out to other areas of pembrokeshire. Every time that I have stayed I have always had the warmest of welcomes from John and Libby and the site itself is perfectly set up for a relaxing stay with the serviced pitches and dog walks.

Mark reeves

Reviewed on 08/07/2024 10:45

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

TRANQUIL

Windy Hill Farm..... wow! The pictures certainly do not do this place justice! a very very peaceful carefree gem, Upon arrival there were 3 pitches empty to choose from each one being a good as the other, very very large full service pitches, surrounded by numerous trees, greenery. & grass communal areas, children's wooden play area & fantastic views. 2 separate showers/wet rooms. which yes indeed there is a small charge of 10p (which does last a very long time) but this is understandable so there is no1 leaving the showers running with the hot water wasting away. 2 toilet blocks & a fresh water point , chemical toilet disposal, recycling bins etc, also there was a laundrette area and washing sink unit with a information stand too, John was a very pleasant charming chappie, unfortunately we didn't get the pleasure of meeting Libby. but was very helpful and pleasant on the phone when booking. we walked into Saundersfoot which was just a very short scenic route, very enjoyable with numerus benches to perch on if needed. We didn't want to leave Windy Hill Farm at the end of our four night stay & we will certainly be back, If you are looking to book a CL site this is highly recommended by us!!!! very tranquil total peace.

ClubMember1D25E1F271

Campervanner

Reviewed on 31/05/2023 19:16

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Nice but expensive

This is a very well laid out site, with plenty of room between pitches. Access to the site is quite tricky and you have to make sure you approach from the right direction. As we have a dog, we were charged £27 a night, which is expensive but there are showers and toilets. Having said that, the showers aren't brilliant as the flow is very slow and light and you have to pay 10p a minute. The first night we couldn't have showers, as we didn't have any change. It cost me 20p for a shower, which isn't much really but it felt a bit off after being charged £27 a night. The owner goes to great lengths, with his signs, to tell you where you can walk your dog. However, even during a dry July, the path was impossible to use, as a stream creates a mud bath before you've walked very far. This site owner takes the prize for the most signs I've ever seen on a site. It makes the place feel unwelcoming.

QFour

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 16/07/2022 20:08

32 reviews

3 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A fantastic find

I booked by phone then did not think to chase up any information. Luckily we met Mr Madox just driving out when we arrived. He said he had no knowledge of our booking but very kindly said he had space and let us park up. Very informative and kind gentleman. A lovely big site with well defined pitches. Within easy reach of the coast path and Wisemans bridge. Hill is steep but short. Even has a regular bus service. There are basic showers and toilet. Showers 10p for one minute. Lots of signs but then if people do wash their dogs in the showers it is no wonder. We parked on the pitch as you go in on the left, great views but only draw back is that there is a huge site next door that did get a bit noisy in the evenings.

robert titman

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 25/06/2021 15:56

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Windy wet wanderings

We stayed on this site for two nights last weekend. As the site name suggests it is on a hill with a lovely view. The CL field is large with outstanding pitches - power, water and grey water disposal on each pitch. The pitches are hardstanding, level and very generous in space. We received a very friendly welcome on arrival. The weather was very wet and windy but we had a wonderful, if soggy walk down to Sandersfoot and back via Wisemans Bridge. The facilities were open and very clean though we did not use them. We would certainly stay here again if in the area.

Meandering Maisie

Reviewed on 27/05/2021 20:29

14 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent post-lockdown stay!

We stayed here last week, and whilst the facilities were not open this wasn't a problem for us. We loved the views driving up to the site, as well as the views from the site itself. Mr and Mrs Maddox were lovely - very helpful and welcoming. The site is immaculate, with serviced pitches, and well labelled recycling and disposal areas. We loved the wildlife - we saw so many birds including bullfinches (great excitement!!), long tailed tits and a jay, as well as having visits from rabbits and squirrels. We were lucky enough to be the only ones on site for most of the week, so it was very peaceful, but even when another few vans arrived, it was so quiet and restful. Excellent stay - one to come back to again when we visit parents in Tenby! Thank you!

SussexStorm

Caravanner

Reviewed on 05/05/2021 16:52

42 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Tricky get in!

As per other reviews, this is a very spacious site. Sloping, but you you can pitch any way you like. Owners very helpful. A good hot shower in the block for 10p a go, lasting a good minute! Frustratingly, 6 units were on the site during our stay. Worth noting that the last half mile run in to the site is a single track road with a few passing places. The turn into the site is VERY sharp (nearly 180 degrees) and up a slope. With a long twin axle unit this was a worry and you can see in the hedge where folk have caught their nearside back ends turning. We discovered during our stay a little further past the site and just beyond the local chapel is an ample turning space... we used this on exiting the site to avoid the tight left hand blind turn. But would have certainly used it on arrival if we knew in advance. Local facilities are good. A steep but rewarding walk down to the beach and Saundersfoot and Tenby are delightful.

aalg425

Caravanner

Reviewed on 10/08/2019 20:29

33 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Huge CL

We arrived at this relatively featureless field, which is located next to their larger, more commercial site. We pitched up furthest away from the toilet and shower block on a slight slope. Pitching required some blocks as we were also lopsided. Site is within easy reach of Wisemans Bridge, Saundersfoot and Tenby. The toilets were rough and ready, open slightly to the elements and full of spiders and insects. 10p for hot water in the sink and 10p for around 1 minute in the shower. We came with our 2 dogs which incurred an additional cost but there was a decent dog walk next to the site. Recycling bins were located near the toilet block which was handy. Pretty chilled out site and location however, the signage everywhere made us feel like we had committed some heinous crimes! (turn off lights! dont use heaters in awnings! etc). Totally unecessary tone in my opinion and not welcoming at all and not something we have experienced elsewhere.

mistermarcus72

Caravanner

Reviewed on 17/09/2018 16:17

6 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

So Spacious

This has to be one of the most spacious CL’s we’ve been on. Yes, there is a commercial site attached to this farm but it doesn’t affect the CL. Slightly sloping but levelling not too bad. 2 showers and separate toilets for male and female that are a little tired but functional when you're paying £15/night. It was a pity that soap wasn’t provided even though paper was replaced every day. Washing machine and tumble dryer good value. Approach is OK with plenty of passing places but suggest you don’t arrive before 11am. TV reception OK as was 3G on Three and O2. The nearby Indian, Seven Spice, is a 20 minute walk and was very good.

sadlybroke

Caravanner

Reviewed on 02/09/2018 06:46

57 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Delightful CL

Just returned from a wonderful week at Windy Hill Farm. This is a beautiful CL, so much space and we were lucky enough to see some spectacular skies and sunsets. We were welcomed and shown the usual bits and bobs but then left to our own devices though we knew where to find the owners should we have any problems. There were two male and two female toilets, always plenty of loo paper and soap to wash your hands. The showers were excellent, plenty of space though you need 10 pence to use them. You can walk to Wiseman Bridge from the site which is an easy walk there but it is up hill most of the way back. From Wiseman's Bridge you can walk through three tunnels to Saundersfoot. Saundersfoot is a lovely seaside town. It has a wonderful beach, ice cream shops, cafes, pubs but has a lovely feel to it. Tenby is about five miles from the CL, an easy pretty drive. Lots to do and see and once again a wonderful beach. One thing we did find was that most of the beaches were dog friendly and there were life guards positioned on the bigger beaches. Caldey Island is a must, you can get the boat from Tenby and then need at least two hours on the Island, if not longer. Over all we had a wonderful weeks holiday with fantastic weather. Thank you to everyone at Windy Hill farm. We will definitely be back should we come back to this area again.

gerrycallaghan

Caravanner

Reviewed on 01/07/2018 22:10

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer