Woodmill Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Wonderful site with handy stores

Absolutely lovely adults only site, no dogs, just peaceful and quiet. Just off A515 north of Yoxhall and easy to find. Lovely, welcome by farmer. The site is fully grassed, slightly sloping requiring levelling blocks. EHU Spaced well around the field and watering waste, discreetly hidden behind small hedges in far corner. There are some lovely views from the top of the field and far side, (some hedge trimming to allow better views please), A few minutes walk to the on-site butchers, bakers, Deli, gift, shop, with wine, beer and spirits. Fresh fruit and vegetables are available daily, except Sunday and Mondays. We had some lovely meat from the butchers where there is an extensive range to choose from. The Deli has a wide selection of cheeses. The bakery has a tempting selection of goodies and also served hot drinks, pizza and sandwiches. We bought fish on the Friday also. No need to stock up on a lot of food before you arrive, it’s all on site and so fresh. 10 minutes walk to the Foresters arms and 1 1/2 mile over field into the village with a couple of pubs. The Deer farm is five minutes drive where there is a café/restaurant and shop plus pleasant walks. Litchfield is only half an hour away with a beautiful cathedral. There is a good McArthur Glen for shopping near Cannock. Shugborough Hall is a short distance by car and a great National Trust property. This is what a real CL is like, where you can enjoy views and you can pitch in any direction rather than a linear hardstanding strip, which is certainly our preference. Overall, a lovely tranquil, relaxing stay with tasty food locally. We definitely recommend it and we will be returning.

BlackandBrown

Caravanner

Reviewed on 24/09/2023 16:24

20 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A good base for exploring Staffordshire

We were unlucky that our stay coincided with a period of very heavy rain, making the ground very wet. Eric, who was a very helpful and friendly host, kindly towed us on to the field as there is a slight incline as you enter the field and we couldn't get up it! We enjoyed visits to Shugborough Hall and the National Memorial Arboretum and also sampled produce from the butchers and bakers- very handy. Hope to return in better weather!

ScreenName10FE1AA82B

Reviewed on 01/06/2023 11:46

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Brilliant CL

Like the previous reviewer, we have been caravanning for over 30 years and therefore have a lot of experience using CLs. I can only concur with them on just about everything they said in respect of this Woodmill Farm CL. It’s absolutely fantastic and made 5* by the owners Eric and Sue. Very welcoming, friendly and only too pleased to pass on their local knowledge regarding places to visit etc. The only thing I would challenge with the last review is the reference to the road noise. Don’t let this reference put you off, it is a personal thing, but we also don’t like noise, but it isn’t any sort of problem here.

PierredeVal

Reviewed on 16/10/2022 17:24

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

One of the Best

We have been caravanning 36 years and use mainly CL's. This CL is up there in our top 10. It is a large field, quite close to the A515 but there is little road noise (we are particularly sensitive to noise). The CL is in a lovely big field with plenty of EHU sockets so pitching away from others is very easy. There are no restrictions as to which way you site your van, which for us is important. The water, waste water etc.and rubbish disposal, facilities are clean, well looked after, and discreetly placed. The views are good. Sue and Eric are friendly and welcoming. The big plus for this CL is that, a couple of minutes walk from the site, within the farm complex, is a wonderful array of shops! Greengrocer, butcher, deli all with delicious goods on offer. In addition, there is the most wonderful bakery and patisserie. If you have been to France and on any given Sunday been in a village patisserie and swooned at the goods then you have an idea of what is on offer here. Not only do they sell delicious bread and cakes, they offer takeaway pizza and coffee! There is a small craft shop, offering artisan goods from the area as well as craft gin and Rum. The shops are open Tuesday to Saturday afternoon. My advice on the food front is only take with you food for your immediate needs and buy from the shops, on site you will not be disappointed. We spent a week at this lovely CL and visited Lichfield and the Cathedral - a must see, as well as the National Memorial Arboretum - a must, must see (what a wonderful place). There are also several stately homes and the brewery at Burton on Trent. There is a pub within walking distance, however, we can't comment on this as we didn't manage to fit a visit in. This is such a lovely, peaceful CL we wish we could give it more stars.

Avondale19

Reviewed on 27/04/2022 14:08

7 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent site, well maintained and convenient

We only booked for two nights so that we could visit the National Arboretum which was a pity because we would have liked to stay longer and explore the surrounding countryside. The shops in various barns are excellent and very tempting. All the facilities on the site are clean and tidy and the pitches large and only slightly sloping so no problems. Definitely a site to return to thanks to Mr & Mrs Holsey.

NorfolkWanderer

Caravanner

Reviewed on 06/10/2021 16:09

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A little gem

Really enjoyed our visit, it was so quiet and peaceful. A well kept grassed site with usual facilities for a CL site. Lovely walk into Yoxall completed by a visit to The Golden Cup which has an amazing beer garden. Good communication with site owners, well worth a visit and I’m sure we will return in the future.

ScreenNameB7CA4D3A47

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 20/08/2020 20:32

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Post lockdown trip

Back to our local site at last .Warm welcome as always .Beautiful Well kept countryside site very peaceful . Pre arrival call to go through new sanitising procedures . Easy access large pitches . Local butchers on site again very friendly staff excellent for bbq meat .

Spiker9

Caravanner

Reviewed on 18/07/2020 11:24

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Up with the Best

We stayed here in May 2019. Can only agree with previous reviewers, easy to find, easy access, friendly welcome and good facilities. A lovely countryside CL. The on site butchers shop was a great bonus. D&M Bray

shackmk2

Reviewed on 23/06/2019 18:52

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

First site after joining the club

Friendly welcome and lovely pitch in quiet countryside with beautiful views. Our first two nights spent here after getting our Motorhome and joining the club and certainly hope all our other trips can live up to this standard. Plenty to do/visit in surrounding area. Thanks for a great stay.

GAR CR1

Reviewed on 08/05/2018 10:10

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely Farm Site

As per other reviews this is an excellent CL with friendly owners (the folder of info was good). The site is easy to find although once through the farm gates it took us a moment or two to realise the route to the site by which time owner was out to welcome us.

GpaB

Reviewed on 07/07/2015 21:19

16 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer