Ashridge Farm Club Campsite

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

A brief stop

Just stayed here for one night, on our way to Kent. Welcome & booking in was pleasant & efficient. It benefits from being, for the Club, a smallish site. When we were there it was not busy. Some noise from aircraft, which stops overnight. Perennial Club problem of barking dogs. Have rated Good for Families as 3* - always find this difficult because it depends what you want as a family, and whether kids need playgrounds etc for occupying them! A pleasant stay; we visited the adjoining village of Ashwell which was quite interesting - download the tourist map before visiting. We have, and use, our own facilities, so didnt use shower blocks etc.

hja

Motorhomer from Lincolnshire

Reviewed on 25/05/2022 21:47

33 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Well Kept & Some lovely Walks

First time we visited and we really enjoyed it. Its a small site but the facilities are well kept and very clean. The position is very handy as the village of Ashwell is about a mile away and easily walked, there are 2 pubs in the village and a local shop so all very handy. There are some lovely walks around the area and the details are in the information hut which was very helpful, there are 4, 4 1/2 and a 5 mile walks which were great. I would have no problem coming back here, I would say it probably is not the best for young children as there is not a lot for them to do here.

ScreenNameAA45B103B6

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 19/05/2022 16:46

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Restful weekend

Our little haven in the counryside. The new wardens are lovely, as are their Relief wardens. They are very friendly and welcoming. Nothing is too much trouble. Look forward to returning.

DeniseAndy

Reviewed on 25/04/2022 16:30

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 2 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Unexpected Disappointment

On arriving 5mins after earliest check-in due to small site didn’t want to be disappointed with pitch. Drove onto motorhome service point to find a work van parked there as works going on. He refused to move saying he needed access to the van. Having to park close as possible had to then borrow a hose extension to fill motorhome. After filling a builder’s delivery turned up blocking us in and making another visitor move and wait to pitch up. By this time many others arrived leaving us with pitch 2 right by the entrance. The entrance is also the entrance to the storage unit. Being a Easter Bank Holiday it was in constant use with the barrier clanking and the storage unit gates crashing closed all day long. Due to some storage unit holders large caravans they had to turn right, drive around the site to get out making our pitch more like a dual carriageway! The cycling is great around this area but will probably chose a different site next time.

Mat2it

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 22/04/2022 15:31

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

A Tranquil Site

Our second time here, as we use it to visit family in Stevenage. The site wardens were very helpful and pleasant, allowing us to move pitch the following day if we wanted, as there were only a handful left by the time we arrived. Facilities on this intimate site are dated but always clean, however, don't expect to do much on your electronic devices as the Site Wifi is very poor and the 4G phone signal is not very good either. That being said the site was well kept and most of the pitches look fairly level. As other people have written, Ashwell village is only a 10m walk away and is a delight, with a nice bakery, a butcher and even a chemist. Spent some time enjoying the delights of the local pubs, although didn't eat in. Caught the train into Stevenage (£6.60 for two of us return!), the station being a 30m walk away of a 5m taxi ride. Once at Stevenage, connections can be made to go to London if wished. Have booked to go back later in the year, so cant be all bad!

Peaf1997

Motorhomer from Flintshire

Reviewed on 14/04/2022 16:46

25 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Small but perfectly formed.

Only a small Club site with less than 40 pitches,but it certainly has that relaxed get away from it feel about it.Walking distance from a 14th century village with a interesting church to visit.Village has a shop,butchers,and a bakery.There are 3 pubs in the village and we visited the first one you come to on the left,sorry cannot remember name now.The spring with its stepping stones does keep the kids happy especially if weather allows.We did walk the long way back passing the butchers and church to find interesting houses easily showing there past heritage. A very pleasant site,village and long weekend allround.

Fozzie

from Kent

Reviewed on 18/10/2021 22:12

42 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Small but lovely

Our 2nd visit to this small but well kept site. Usual high standards of facilities and the staff were very welcoming, as they should be, and what we pay our fees for. The facilities are clean but older in style, and the gents had only two showers, but as the site is bijou that is not a problem. The site is located just half a mile from the medieval village of Ashwell. In the village you will find a lovely 14th Century Church, coffee shop, bakers and 3 Pubs. Check the 14th Century graffiti in the Church. Just 1.5 miles away is Sarah’s Farm Shop which has most of what you might need. Great mostly quiet roads for cycling, the Village of Steeple Morden is just 3.5 miles away and en route you pass the memorial to the American Airforce stationed there in WW2. The local villages are quiet but pretty with many thatched cottages. Litlington Village is 4 miles from the site (via Sterple Morden) and has a lovely Pub. If you want a quiet location set in lovely countryside and enjoy cycling the lanes, this is a site worth considering.

Gusatron

Reviewed on 09/10/2021 19:26

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Lovely place to relax

We stayed at Ashridge Farm for a weekend and it was a lovely place to relax. When we arrived on the Friday evening, the site was very full and only a handful of pitches available. The friendly staff member told us that there would be a few people leaving the following morning, so we were more than welcome to change pitch then, if we wished. We spent the first night on the grass section near the main entrance, however we found it rather noisy. There was only a hedge between us and the gravel track outside the site and unfortunately we were disturbed by motorbikes riding up and down and people shouting in the early hours of the morning. Next morning we moved to the main site itself (inside the barrier) and set up on a large grass pitch. Although rather sloping, it was a lovely quiet position. We went on to enjoy a relaxing weekend with our family, walking the short distance into Ashwell and exploring the quaint little village. Thank you to the staff and wardens for their friendliness and efficient running of the site during our stay.

Hellyd

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 30/09/2021 22:55

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Excellent Site

This is an intimate site which is well maintained and cared for. The Club's high standards are maintained. Situated at the edged of a lovey village, adjacent to the country side with access to lovely walks. There are lovely local facilities in the village with three excellent Pub / Eating places. The position of the site with access to many small and large towns and cities within close proximity. In the last year we have stayed at the site on numerous occasions and have never been disappointed.

Tonybevgreen

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 28/09/2021 18:27

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Great site for a stopover

Stopped here for 2 nights on our way from Devon to Norfolk to break up the journey and really liked our stay. Lovely site on the edge of a delightful village that had 3 decent pubs and a local shop, bakery etc. Lots of lovely walks and a spring too. The site was small and had as much storage as it had pitches. A veg stall just outside the site too. The toilet block was small and would benefit from updating but was kept clean. Really enjoyed our stay. Would recommend & return

Steveissy

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 21/09/2021 21:35

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer