Ashridge Farm Club Campsite

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Well situated site for a Spring break

We stayed two nights at Ashridge farm and really appreciated the warm welcome from Sally. The site is small but perfectly formed and situated a short walk from Ashwell village which had everything we needed, especially an award winning bakery and two good pubs. We were able to walk from the site on the Icknield Way in both directions. We didn't have our bikes with us but the roads around the site are quiet and we could imagine how good the cycling could be. No problems with the shower block at all. In fact, it struck us how warm they were on a very cold day. There was some early morning noise from the building work going on across the road but that couldn't be helped. Our only grievance would be with the male warden who was not at all pleasant or helpful. What a shame! It somewhat spoiled an otherwise lovely stay.

Rees1

Reviewed on 06/03/2024 15:06

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Facilities

Noting quite a few complaints about the toilet block, I would like to counter these. We don't use the facility blocks very often but I made a point of visiting at least the Gents. Maybe these have been refurbished since the last reviews posted, but I found them nothing like being descibed in previous reviews. They are perfectly acceptable, even my adjacent neighbour agreed this and remarked he had not had any problem with water flows either. I also noted, in preparation for charging for electricity usage, the pitch bollards had been equipped with electricity meters but these were not currently in use. The site is peaceful when building work is not being undertaken on a new house opposite the site.

peedee

Motorhomer from Bedfordshire

Reviewed on 25/02/2024 15:33

37 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

So lovely

This site is amazing as it’s in the middle of nowhere hardly heard a car. the WiFi is ok letting me type in this. The wardens Jill and Kevin are lovely did see the other wardens they were lovely too sorry don’t know their names. The shower block clean but dated and the only issue is the pressure of the hot water. It’s a very well kept site Some of the pitches could do with gravel but that’s the same at all the sites.

lady k pettitt

Caravanner

Reviewed on 09/10/2023 15:52

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 2 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Poor shower block

Have visited this lovely sites a few times previously. The shower / toilet block (gents side only visited) is in a desperate need of a deep clean / upgrade. As per previous reviews difficult to keep clean due to limescale around taps and fittings, damaged tiles / lining to showers. Please spend some money upgrading the facilities as a matter of urgency.

Chris Munsey

Reviewed on 31/08/2023 17:03

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 2 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Very Very Poor Washing and Toilet Facilities

We have stayed here several times. It’s a lovely little site with a great village nearby BUT these are by far the worst shower facilities I have used and frankly worse than those at any festival I have visited. The showers are very old and tired. The thermostats didn’t work so tepid showers. The fittings old and leaking. Cracked tiles and boards in the cubicles which makes it difficult to keep them clean. Extremely disappointing and these facilities need an urgent update.

MischaB

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 20/08/2023 15:23

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Nice site, but ...

... second C&MC site we have stayed at within a month which is not fulfilling any 'modern facilities' standards. The toilet and ablutions block is 'okay' but in dire need of an upgrade. But the standout problem is Wi-Fi. This site didn't even have the basic 'free' Wi-Fi facility installed meaning that modern life management ability was massively limited and the site seems to sit in a mobile phone black hole too, meaning that the usual fall-back option of phone hotspot wasn't available either. Whilst many may commentate that caravanning is all about 'getting away from all that nonsense' and it may be a fair comment, we have an elderly relative living with us and monitor her over the internet and need communications to her and her visiting carers to be available at all times. It was because of this, we left the site a day early and ventured back south. We were also denied access to local information and ideas to visit areas of interest. I cannot express enough how vital it is to get ALL sites upgraded as soon as possible and give caravanners the home-from-home options they expect from being members of such a prestigious club. C&MC should make every effort to give their customers at least the basic option as minimum standard, and the upgraded paid option before the end of the year, or at least inform caravanners clearly about shortcomings.

Vic Woods

Caravanner from Hampshire

Reviewed on 16/08/2023 17:18

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 2 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Let down by toilet block

Used this site for visiting family nearby. Its convenient and in a nice village. But it is let down by the toilet block. It is not up to Caravan Club standards. It is very dated and is beyond being kept properly clean. Fittings are worn out, rusty and damaged. This appears to lead to some people leaving litter, spitting on the floor and smoking in the cubicles. I was quite shocked to find this happening at a club site. Also on two occasions the toilet paper had run out. I had to ask for it to be refilled. I don't mind paying club prices, but expect the facilities to be up to scratch. On the plus side the wardens were helpful and sympathetic. But I would not go back until a new toilet block is built.

Harrymail

Caravanner from East Yorkshire

Reviewed on 16/08/2023 15:18

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Great little site!

We stayed here for 3 nights last week after collecting our new caravan from MG Caravans (who I also recommend as a great family run business!). Never been to this area before but it’s a little gem of a site with a lovely well looked after shower block. Marie & Paul are the best & friendliest wardens. Great area if like us you have a dog as footpaths right from the site. Unfortunately it was just too hot last week to explore the surrounding area but the village of Ashwell is delightful with all the amenities you need & the spring was a godsend! Yes you will hear a variety of birds especially early morning, from the small holding down the lane, but we have chickens ourselves so didn’t mind. It’s really everything we look for in a site, small, quiet (no kids), good for walks & a couple of pubs in walking distance. Perfect! We look forward to returning.

Clpr1

Caravanner

Reviewed on 21/06/2023 15:29

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Love staying here

We store our van here and now and again it's nice just to have a weekend here it's a lovely small site and Paul and Marie are fantastic wardens and keep it looking lovely.

reimers52

Caravanner from Hertfordshire

Reviewed on 14/06/2023 17:38

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Lovely SIte

Lovely quite site located within a sjhort walk of Ashwell village. Friendly and helpful site managers. Clean facilities. Would definately stay again if in the area. No idea if good for families but this site requires me to complete the rating - I'm sure it is fine.

carleton

Reviewed on 06/06/2023 12:12

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer