Balbirnie Park Club Campsite

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Ideal

An ideal site for touring the Fife coast. As stated in other reviews there are a lot of trees that made it quite dark but as we used it as a base this was fine. Easy walk to the Village with a few shops & pubs also the Railway station. Great Country park next to the site for walking.

Betsy9

Campervanner

Reviewed on 26/09/2023 14:23

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Lovely and friendly

Located in a patch of pine trees, amazing smell from the trees when raining. Clean and tidy site. Staff very friendly. Part of Balbirnie Park, hotel, golf course and walks right next to the site.

ClubMember3E9FDB9EA6

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 19/08/2023 19:45

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Clean site with friendly staff

Helpful staff who was happy to help and assist with anything we asked, showers and toilets were absolutely spotless would use again, thank you

Paul Pring

Reviewed on 08/08/2023 18:52

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Good Stay

On arrival we were met by Clare who couldn't have been any more friendly or helpful. As we were travelling with another group she advised on the best pitches so we could be together. Yes there are a lot of pitches under or near trees so you have to accept some fall from them. The grass pitches looked more open so you may avoid this if it's an issue. The site is on different levels and is landscaped so you don't see rows of Caravans. The staff were helpful and friendly and the facilities were well kept and clean. Markinch is small but has a couple of small supermarkets, pubs and takeaways. Train station is around 10 minutes walk away with good links. Scottish Deer Centre is around 15 minute drive away and is well worth a visit.

ScreenName39E24B7896

Caravanner

Reviewed on 07/07/2023 08:45

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 2 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 1 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Very disappointing

On a positive note the wardens were very nice and the facilities clean, but oh what depressing pitches, dark , unlevel , weedy and from most pitches, views into houses which surround the site . No will not be returning or recommending to friends. But as usual the CMC will ignore this review or placate them selves. As with other CMC sites we were given a tiny pitch as the bigger pitches were required for the larger vans , who paid the same fees as us.

papa6

Reviewed on 05/06/2023 18:23

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Lovely site with good public transport links

This site is on the edge of Balbirnie Park, which is a very pleasant place for a stroll with well surfaced paths (with or without a dog). The site itself is well laid out and well maintained. As always the facilities are kept clean and tidy. The village of Markinch does not have a lot, but nevertheless is a pleasant place. It does however have a railway station from which you can take a train direct to Edinburgh. The service is very good and the trains are quite frequent, even in the evening. You can also get a bus from close to the site to Falkland Palace. This is well worth visiting, and access is free to NT members.

Geoffn1

Motorhomer from Cheshire

Reviewed on 29/05/2023 15:15

43 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Happy Campers

We visited this site in April and stayed for a couple of weeks. It rained for one day and windy for a day. Yes, it was noisy when it rained, causing twigs to drop which then rolled on the caravan roof in the wind. But we enjoyed our stay. There is the park just off site that has good grass and woodland walks ( I even saw deer one morning), also a park just over the road. Walking into the village takes just a few minutes and there are a couple of mini supermarkets, a butchers, Chinese as well as pubs. Just note that although deliveries are made to site, they can take a long time, so we ordered and picked ours up. The roadway on site is a bit narrow that can be an issue if not unhitching a caravan to site it. If you are planning to visit Falkland Palace they do not take dogs (even in the grounds) unless they are assistance dogs. The site managers were very friendly and helpful. The site and facilities are clean. The site is very central to fife and has great access to all areas, there are plenty of coastal places to visit with some hidden gems like Dysart. Glenrothes has a good shopping centre too My last word is after reading the reviews I wash apprehensive about visiting the site! I'm glad we did not cancel and urge anyone reviewing this to draw your own conclusions by booking your own visit. Ps. We did have a friendly robin visit on a number of occasions and saw squirrels. When we were packing up, the robin watched us and we found conkors that had been hidden in our awing, by squirrels we are assuming. 🙂

ScreenName0155173B33

Caravanner

Reviewed on 01/05/2023 12:47

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

A lovely site if you want to be near a town and explore

We needed to stay nearby for a family wedding and the site was perfect. Quiet, clean, friendly and part of a lovely family and dog friendly park. Loads of space to let the dogs run free. If you want to explore the beautiful county of Fife this site is ideal.

DonQwithWanda

Motorhomer from Hampshire

Reviewed on 17/04/2023 10:22

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

It has good points, but you must like trees

Having enjoyed wonderful sites at Onich, Brora and Stonehaven I then found myself at Balbirnie Park for three nights. To say that this site is in sharp contrast to those others would be an understatement. Being largely under trees, and we are talking big trees, it is extremely gloomy and damp and, with autumn leaves covering the ground, it is inclined to be grubby as well.

The wardens do their best to clear the leaves, but it is a losing battle; there is more than just leaves as well; trees shed a diversity of detritus in the form of a variety of nuts, seeds, fruits, needles, etc. This is not my ideal at all. I had been here before, a year previous, so you may wonder why I came again! I did too!

On the plus side, the village of Markinch is quite pretty and the locals very friendly. There is a lovely church on the hill-top, good walks, pleasant views and a few essential shops. It is a convenient stop off on the way north or south during a Scottish tour. I also like the proximity of the station for trips to Perth, Dundee, Edinburgh and other places. On my previous visit I also appreciated the 3 Bean coffee shop, just down the road, but, sadly, this time, it was closed. A message in the window suggested a temporary closure, but, looking inside, its closure had a decidedly terminal look to it.

I looked for a pitch in the lower tier section, but the only level one available was under two giant trees. Mind you, few pitches are not under trees. There was heavy rain and after only 48 hours on site my van was filthy with brown streaks and sticky deposits all over. The extra noise of the bigger droplets of water accumulated in the trees was also irritating after a day and night of solid rain. No one can change the weather, and no one can be blamed for it; it is what it is, but given the tree cover, and the consequent mess, it is one good reason not to come here.

I prefer the fully hard cored lower section, where most pitches are separated by borders of shrubbery. On the downside, however, the nearest service point is accessed by a slope that is only just on the right side of what is safely negotiable by ordinary humans; returning with a full aqua roll is a bit of a challenge especially in the wet and with wet leaves in abundance. I am negative about this site and, frankly, I probably won’t come here again. It is a personal choice – the surrounding area makes for a convenient place to stop, especially for a motorhome, but the site itself is gloomy beyond words and keeping equipment and clothing clean is a challenge.

I also wonder if I am the only person who worries a little about the massive trees when the wind gets up. During this trip in Scotland, I saw some huge, uprooted trees; I saw another at Abbey Wood early this year which was a massive eye-opener. I saw root systems in Scotland at least ten feet broad. I hate to think about the prospects if one of those fell on a caravan!

I hope the trees are regularly and expertly surveyed for safety.

Graydjames

from Leicestershire

Reviewed on 28/10/2022 15:14

56 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

A busy site, well located for the Scottish East coast and 45 mins from Edinburgh.

A very well kept site that is a credit to the hard working wardens. There are quite a few sloping pitches and some are quite tight to manoeuvre onto and out of. It seems to be quite busy and manyseem to use Balbirnie as a one night transit site enroute to other parts of Scotland. Being only 45 minutes from Edinburgh it's no wonder. The site facilities are kept spotless. The adjacent park is great for a walk with your dogs at any time of the day. Good local shops and pubs are only a few minutes walk away. Only a few miles drive to access the coastal path. Dysart Harbour is a hidden gem just outside Kirkaldy and well worth a look. St Andrews is not that far and again looks a nice place to visit. Just don't visit when there is an international golf tournament on though like we did! The biggest downside for us was the trees. The amount of leaves, twigs, nuts and seeds and bird muck on both the van and the car was unbelievable. For that eason alone this was our second and last visit to this site.

C1iv3

Caravanner from Northamptonshire

Reviewed on 12/10/2022 17:14

19 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer